Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 21, 2012, 10:19 PM   #1
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Adding extra Internal PSU in optical bay for graphics cards (Support 2 GTX Titans)

Figured I'd start my own thread. Will be updating with progress as I go along but I haven't had much time lately so it will probably be a while before I finish. The complete finish will be able to provide 4x 6pin and 2x 6+2pin PCI-e power cables, 2 of the 6pin are from the motherboard.

Added a E-Power EP-450CD 450w auxiliary power supply that mounts in the optical bay. This provides 2x 6pin PCI-e and 2x 6+2pin PCI-e. You will need a female PCIe power > female molex adapter which are cheap on ebay. I will be cutting mine down to save room for all the cables. To get the 115v power the PSU needs, I'm going to tap in the main plug the MP cable plugs into. This way I won't need to run the main power cable though the MP and out the PCI bay since it came with it's own PCI cover plate. I'm possibly going to be upgrade the internal PSU fans with more quieter ones. They are small so they are a little louder.

I will routing custom-made sleeved cables. I believe there's enough room to route them through the front of the motherboard and down in front of the PCI fan.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5666.JPG
Views:	167
Size:	1.92 MB
ID:	371222   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5665.JPG
Views:	197
Size:	1.88 MB
ID:	371223   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5669.JPG
Views:	167
Size:	2.22 MB
ID:	371224  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5670.JPG
Views:	244
Size:	1.68 MB
ID:	371233   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5671.JPG
Views:	219
Size:	1.48 MB
ID:	371234  

Last edited by OrangeSVTguy; Nov 23, 2013 at 12:35 PM.
OrangeSVTguy is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 10:05 PM   #2
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Had some spare time(taking a break off the house tonight) and did one of the 6 pins and routed it.

As mentioned, there isn't much room so I think I'll only be able to route 1 more cable unless I cut some of that top tray out. I had to label and route 1 wire at a time since space is limited and the connector won't fit through that small hole. That means I'll have to remove it to cut it. When I do, I need to remove the PSU anyways so I can route the main power cable and tap off the main power plug that plugs into the back of the MP.

There is a cover plate in the back that will needs to be removed. This is held on with 2 philips screws.

I will cut out quite a bit of the top plate so I can eventually route all 4 cables. Here's some pictures of the progress so far. I also cut my molex adapter since it was a 3 way and also to shorten it and soldered the ends and shrink tubed it. All my connections are soldered for reliability and better connections.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5692.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	2.24 MB
ID:	372320   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5693.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	2.05 MB
ID:	372321   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5694.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	2.37 MB
ID:	372322  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5697.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	1.67 MB
ID:	372323   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5700.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	1.56 MB
ID:	372324  
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 03:52 PM   #3
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Here it is completed. I was able to run 24 wires through the slot near the front, which is 4x 6pins. There was not enough room to route sleeved cables which I initially tried to route. Everything works great. Running 2 670s of the aux PSU.

Click thumbnails to enlarge.
Thumb resize.
Thumb resize.
Thumb resize.
Thumb resize.

Here is the hole I drilled to run the power for the power supply. I plan to install a mini plug here so I can unplug the Mac if I ever need to move it.
Thumb resize.
Thumb resize.

I can convert 2 of the 6pins to 8 as soon as I figure out how these propritery cables work.
Thumb resize.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4

Last edited by OrangeSVTguy; Dec 25, 2012 at 04:04 PM.
OrangeSVTguy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:09 PM   #4
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Reserved~
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 04:12 PM   #5
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Very nice write up dude, looking to do the same to run a 690. Trying to find that model or any 5.25" Power supply in the UK is impossible though.
All Taken is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2012, 07:31 PM   #6
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by All Taken View Post
Very nice write up dude, looking to do the same to run a 690. Trying to find that model or any 5.25" Power supply in the UK is impossible though.
Thanks!
A 690 would be incredible on a Mac pro, especially under windows. Look it up tho but I remember hearing people couldn't get the second GPU working under windows but show up as 2 in OSX? Unless a newer driver came out since then? They are $1100 here in the States but this GPU would handle it with no problem.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 09:01 AM   #7
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Thumb resize.

How did you get the cable plugs through there? did you take off the back cover or something?
slughead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:04 AM   #8
Inconsequential
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Yes, the back cover comes off.
Inconsequential is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2012, 11:44 AM   #9
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by slughead View Post
Thumb resize.

How did you get the cable plugs through there? did you take off the back cover or something?
Yes that back shield is removed, I have pictures above. It's held on with 2 screws. I just removed mine all together but I'm sure it could be put back in.

You do have to remove the pins from the pci connectors and route them one-by-one since there isn't enough room.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 12:33 PM   #10
Dr. Stealth
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: SoCal
Thank You !

Excellent write up..... You inspired me. $$$

I've been wanting to add another 4GB 680 to my MP and this was just the poke I needed to make the move.

I don't do any gaming, this is for cadd & rendering....

Just ordered a 450 Watt PSU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104054

And a second EVGA GTX 680 FTW+ 4GB:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130794
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12 Core @ 3.33GHz - 64GB RAM - Dual 500 GB SSD - Dual EVGA FTW+ GTX 680 4GB
7 TB 7200 HDs - Aux 450 watt PSU - 27" Cinema Display - SpacePilot Pro - GeekBench 30,883
Dr. Stealth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2012, 09:04 PM   #11
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr. Stealth View Post
Excellent write up..... You inspired me. $$$

I've been wanting to add another 4GB 680 to my MP and this was just the poke I needed to make the move.

I don't do any gaming, this is for cadd & rendering....

Just ordered a 450 Watt PSU:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104054

And a second EVGA GTX 680 FTW+ 4GB:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130794
Awesome.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2013, 12:40 PM   #12
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
I modified 2 of the mini 6pin connectors off the motherboard into a single 8pin connector and used a dual 6pin to 8pin adapter and now I can power 2 GTX Titans all internally. Used the remaining 2 6pin PCIe connectors for other 2 slots. A Titan uses 2x 6pin and 2x 8pin. I'm sure that 2 780 Ti's will also be able to work no problem.

Temps have definitely gone up a notch now so I will be keeping my eye on that. Testing out folding and they both have been 100% stable the last 12+ hours.
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2013, 04:57 PM   #13
HappyMac314
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Thank you!

Hello! Thanks for the build log, just posted my own write-up with lots of pics and details inspired by yours and Dr. Stealth's builds. Ordered the same ePower PSU as you to power a 7970, and everything is working great. Take a look if you'd like:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1684482

I did have one question, though. I feel like this PSU is quite noisy, especially under load when it's really loud. You mentioned in your Newegg review (it's still the most recent one there!) that you'd try to replace the fans with something quieter, did you ever get to? Or find another way to decrease noise?
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 @6x3.33GHz - 12GB RAM - 512GB + 1TB Fusion - AMD 7970 3GB - Dell U2713HM
MacBook Pro 6,2 i5 @2.40GHz - 8GB RAM - 256GB SSD - Nvidia 330M 256MB
iPad (4th Gen) | iPhone 5 | iPhone 3GS
HappyMac314 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2013, 06:55 PM   #14
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Here's the ebay member and the orders I placed through him so you can gauge a price. I believe I had him make me 24" wires which are 16ga, 18ga is the minimum that is recommended I would have ran. I am in no way affiliated with him.

http://stores.ebay.com/Ensourced-Custom-Sleeved-Cables

QtyItemOptionsPrice2Black Custom Unsleeved 6 pin ATX PCI-E Extension Cable
Item # 271095684655 $10.56 USDAmount $10.56 USD

QtyItemOptionsPrice2Black Custom Unsleeved 8 pin ATX PCI-E Extension Cable
Item # 271095686203 $15.32 USDAmount $15.32 USD
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2013, 07:00 PM   #15
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
They both work great even when overclocked to 1200mhz. The fans run fast though
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	201
Size:	722.9 KB
ID:	451773  
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2013, 07:32 PM   #16
HappyMac314
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
Here's the ebay member and the orders I placed through him so you can gauge a price. I believe I had him make me 24" wires which are 16ga, 18ga is the minimum that is recommended I would have ran. I am in no way affiliated with him.

http://stores.ebay.com/Ensourced-Custom-Sleeved-Cables

QtyItemOptionsPrice2Black Custom Unsleeved 6 pin ATX PCI-E Extension Cable
Item # 271095684655 $10.56 USDAmount $10.56 USD

QtyItemOptionsPrice2Black Custom Unsleeved 8 pin ATX PCI-E Extension Cable
Item # 271095686203 $15.32 USDAmount $15.32 USD
Thank you for your replies and comments! So if I understand correctly, you earlier had your ePower PSU the same direction as mine (fan pointing towards the front of the Mac Pro) and it was loud. However, when you got the long cables and were able to orient the ePower PSU pointing the fan towards the back of the Mac Pro (same direction as main fan), the noise got better?

Also, nice setup in your pic! Dual SLI Titans must really fly!
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 @6x3.33GHz - 12GB RAM - 512GB + 1TB Fusion - AMD 7970 3GB - Dell U2713HM
MacBook Pro 6,2 i5 @2.40GHz - 8GB RAM - 256GB SSD - Nvidia 330M 256MB
iPad (4th Gen) | iPhone 5 | iPhone 3GS
HappyMac314 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2013, 02:27 AM   #17
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyMac314 View Post
Thank you for your replies and comments! So if I understand correctly, you earlier had your ePower PSU the same direction as mine (fan pointing towards the front of the Mac Pro) and it was loud. However, when you got the long cables and were able to orient the ePower PSU pointing the fan towards the back of the Mac Pro (same direction as main fan), the noise got better?

Also, nice setup in your pic! Dual SLI Titans must really fly!
I always had the orientation from front to back. I never had to reverse the fans. It's quiet enough for me where I didn't have to replace the fans for something quieter.
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2014, 10:19 AM   #18
riggles
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Is there a reason why you chose to go custom length PCI-e cables instead of getting extension cables? It looks like you had to take that sleeving off anyway?
__________________
2010 Mac Pro: 2 x 2.93 GHz 6-core, 32GB RAM, GTX TITAN Black → 27" LED Cinema Display
Software: OSX 10.9.5, MODO 801, Octane Render, Adobe CC
riggles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2014, 10:52 AM   #19
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by riggles View Post
Is there a reason why you chose to go custom length PCI-e cables instead of getting extension cables? It looks like you had to take that sleeving off anyway?
I couldn't sleeve them as there wasn't enough room in that back corner to fish through 24 individual sleeved wires. I went with 24" or longer wires(can't remember exact length) since I didn't want to reverse the fans in the aux PSU to keep the airflow going front to back.

I bought my own roll of Sleeving and shrink tubing as I was going to do that myself and had some extra wire and connectors to make a couple sleeved cables, I'll keep them if I ever do a PC build. I just had a guy send me all 24 of the cut wire, connectors and pins and did it all myself.
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2014, 12:31 PM   #20
riggles
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
I couldn't sleeve them as there wasn't enough room in that back corner to fish through 24 individual sleeved wires. I went with 24" or longer wires(can't remember exact length) since I didn't want to reverse the fans in the aux PSU to keep the airflow going front to back.

I bought my own roll of Sleeving and shrink tubing as I was going to do that myself and had some extra wire and connectors to make a couple sleeved cables, I'll keep them if I ever do a PC build. I just had a guy send me all 24 of the cut wire, connectors and pins and did it all myself.
Right, I want to keep the PSU oriented its intended way as well. Just having a hard time knowing whether it would be better to buy those custom length power cables or just thread the included cables thru and buy extension cables as needed to connect to the card(s).
__________________
2010 Mac Pro: 2 x 2.93 GHz 6-core, 32GB RAM, GTX TITAN Black → 27" LED Cinema Display
Software: OSX 10.9.5, MODO 801, Octane Render, Adobe CC
riggles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2014, 02:19 PM   #21
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by riggles View Post
Right, I want to keep the PSU oriented its intended way as well. Just having a hard time knowing whether it would be better to buy those custom length power cables or just thread the included cables thru and buy extension cables as needed to connect to the card(s).
Those stock cables are huge! I doubt you'd get one cable fished through.
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2014, 04:31 PM   #22
riggles
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
Those stock cables are huge! I doubt you'd get one cable fished through.
Oh. Err, bummer. Well, I'll just wait until the FSP Booster arrives and see what's what. I don't need it to be up and running right away. Take my time and do it right, once. Plus I only need two 8-pin cables to go thru.
riggles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2014, 07:55 PM   #23
superdx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
If you follow Dr. Stealth's thread, he has a pic on page 2 that shows how he routed the 6pin/8pin cable in the front, just below the DVD drive bay cover.

There's a piece of soft aluminium that can be bent/twisted out of the way with just a pair of pliers. Once you do that, you can push the cables through one at a time. It's a little bit of work but doable. I also thought about routing through the back panel as OrangeSVTguy but I was even less sure about removing the pins from the connector.
superdx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 11, 2014, 05:01 PM   #24
GraniteTheWolf
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Out of curiosity how does the aux power supply know when to turn on with the system? Perhaps a stupid question I guess, but is that what the sata to molex adapter is for?

Its told to turn on when the hard drive sleds get power?
I still have the standard ide optical drive in mine, I could probably just use a y cable off my optical drive's molex power to feed the on signal to the aux psu.

Just wondering because I just bought one of these as they are currently on sale, 50% off!

I plan to upgrade my gpu to a GTX 770 and I was originally going to run one with a 1, 6pin and 1, 8 pin. Of course I would need 1 6 to 8 pin cable but I was always weary of that method of power. It also limited me on card options when the ideal 770 I want is the MSI twin frozer one but that requires 2 8-pin connectors.... which now I can safely use
__________________
2012 Mac Pro 3.33ghz 6-core. 8GB ram, 10k velociraptor hdds, Nvidia GTX 570SCC.
Mid-2010 15" MacbookPro: 2.4 i5, 500gb, 8GB RAM.
iMac G4 1.25Ghz 17"
Self-Built 2008 Mac Pro(sold)

Last edited by GraniteTheWolf; Jan 11, 2014 at 07:22 PM.
GraniteTheWolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2014, 05:01 PM   #25
OrangeSVTguy
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
If anyone's interested, The ePower PSU is for sale on newegg.com for $24.99 and $3.99 shipping!

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...D=4549763&SID=

This is a great deal and I highly recommend it. I've put it through some extreme rigorous testing and running probably maxed out for days on end and still works great.
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I Sleep ONLY my 2nd SSD in the Optical Bay, not Main Bay imorton MacBook Pro 1 Jan 29, 2014 01:42 PM
Internal PSU wattage on MacPro4,1? 5050 Mac Pro 2 May 8, 2013 05:11 PM
DUAL SSD SETUP = any issues or info re main bay SSD and optical bay SSD? imorton MacBook Pro 13 Feb 17, 2013 12:31 PM
Optical bay ssd adapter and optical drive enclosure? tyler.frost92 MacBook Pro 4 Sep 1, 2012 11:22 PM
Graphics card or PSU or Mother board? ColdCase Mac Pro 6 Aug 10, 2012 01:37 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC