Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 22, 2002, 09:01 AM   #1
AngusB
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Washington DC
AMD and Jaguar

Check out As the Apple Turns... www.appleturns.com

They found a page on the Apple Web site the shows AMD compatibility as a Jaguar feature...


http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/compare.html

Hmm....
AngusB is offline   0
Old Nov 22, 2002, 09:27 AM   #2
Den-Chan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bay Area
It says AMD but it doesn't say if its the chip maker. What else could the AMD letters stand for? Probably some feature in Jaguar.
Den-Chan is offline   0
Old Nov 22, 2002, 09:28 AM   #3
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
Re: AMD and Jaguar

Quote:
Originally posted by AngusB
Check out As the Apple Turns... www.appleturns.com

They found a page on the Apple Web site the shows AMD compatibility as a Jaguar feature...


http://www.apple.com/macosx/features/compare.html

Hmm....

Szark pointed out in another thread this is most likely the automount daemon (/usr/sbin/amd).

arn
arn is offline   0
Old Nov 22, 2002, 09:48 AM   #4
sparkleytone
macrumors 68020
 
sparkleytone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC
Send a message via AIM to sparkleytone
man amd:

Quote:
AMD(8)

NAME
amd - automatically mount file systems

SYNOPSIS
amd -H
amd [ -F conf_file ]
amd [ -nprvHS ] [ -a mount_point ] [ -c duration ] [ -d
domain ] [ -k kernel-arch ] [ -l logfile ] [ -o op_sys_ver
] [ -t interval.interval ] [ -w interval ] [ -x log-option
] [ -y YP-domain ] [ -C cluster-name ] [ -D option ] [ -F
conf_file ] [ -O op_sys_name ] [ -T tag ] [ directory map-
name [ -map-options ] ] ...
sparkleytone is offline   0
Old Nov 22, 2002, 10:22 AM   #5
AngusB
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Washington DC
Other Feature?

But then why would it be listed under the Other Features listing and not the Networking feature? Like NFS or Windows File Server Support, etc...

Or under developed and application support as a standard BSD 4.4 command?


Angus
AngusB is offline   0
Old Nov 22, 2002, 11:21 AM   #6
gbojim
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Re: Other Feature?

Quote:
Originally posted by AngusB
But then why would it be listed under the Other Features listing and not the Networking feature? Like NFS or Windows File Server Support, etc...

Or under developed and application support as a standard BSD 4.4 command?


Angus
Probably because amd is used to mount local file systems as well as remote.
gbojim is offline   0
Old Nov 22, 2002, 11:24 AM   #7
Kid Red
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Nothing to see here move on...http://www.am-utils.org/
Kid Red is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Mac mini with AMD graphics HDMI scaling wrong with Windows 7 64 Bits DSpawnZ Mac mini 10 Dec 30, 2012 03:08 AM
Intel Sandy Bridge 4 Core i7 vs. AMD Phenom II X6 1090T deepak.selvaraj Community Discussion 6 Jan 4, 2011 01:04 PM
Apple and the AMD Fusion Eidorian Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 35 Nov 15, 2010 11:37 PM
AMD and Apple Rumors Part II MacRumors MacRumors News Discussion (archive) 139 Nov 25, 2002 08:10 PM
GREAT Link about AMD and Apple.... MacAztec Macintosh Computers 27 Nov 20, 2002 03:50 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC