Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:47 PM   #26
jdavtz
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chester, UK
I have the beta for 6 (I think) on my iMac, and 2.8.0.866 on my Macbook Air, and the UI for 2.8 is much much better (sits nicely in the corner of the screen).

Using 42MB here and it's been open for three days.
__________________
iMac 27" i7 ('12), MBA 11" ('10), iMac 24" C2D ('08), BlackBook ('07), iMac G5 ('05)
Fuji X100, X-Pro1, 14, 35, 60
Hablo espaņol
jdavtz is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:47 PM   #27
DivineEvil
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by wikus View Post
THIS.

Holy hell, the UI designer for Skype 5 should be FIRED.
I'm also sticking to v2.8, because v5.x was using too much CPU and the fan was constantly spinning on my MBP 13" mid 2009!
__________________
13.3" UMBP (mid 2009), 2.26GHz C2D P7550, 8GB DDR3, 640GB+500GB
iPhone 4 32 GB
DivineEvil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:52 PM   #28
pubjoe
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Can it 'startup in background' yet?

I never use skype as it pops up with a huge window every time my computer starts - really annoying for an occasional use application that requires being constantly logged in to be useful whatsoever. Apps like this should be as minimal and discreet as possible. If you have to turn it off then it becomes useless for calling people. I also notice that my friends list is nearly always offline, because they've had to come to the same solution - turn it off.

...It's a real shame as chat/cam software is really divided. Everyone uses something different. We could really do with a popular program that everybody uses. Skype was nearly it.
pubjoe is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 04:03 PM   #29
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by pubjoe View Post
Can it 'startup in background' yet?
The new Windows 8 version works in the background, just like FaceTime. Hopefully they'll bring the feature to OS X too.
Cougarcat is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 04:06 PM   #30
50548
Guest
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Currently in Switzerland
Quote:
Originally Posted by wikus View Post
THIS.

Holy hell, the UI designer for Skype 5 should be FIRED.
Had forgotten that MS bought them a while ago - so no, he won't be fired anytime soon
50548 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 04:57 PM   #31
Silmarien
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Cant find the notifications menu eirther. Only the built in and Growl ones. Also the dealbreaker for me is that sharing a screen requires a premium account now(just like in windows). So can anyone tell me where to find a 2.8.x version?
Silmarien is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 05:03 PM   #32
bsforever
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I just updated and then downgraded to the last stable version as it kept crashing on my rMBP. Despite a clean reboot and fresh reinstall twice. Pathetic.
bsforever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 06:07 PM   #33
Amazing Iceman
macrumors 68030
 
Amazing Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, U.S.A.
Microsoft and Facebook Account Integration not yet for the iOS version

I wonder if there will be an update to the iOS Skype App that would support Microsoft and Facebook Account Integration.
At this point the desktop and mobile versions are out of sync feature-wise.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (2007) iPad Air WiFi+Cell 128 GB iPhone 5s 64 GB T-Mobile AppleTV 2
Follow @AmazingIceman for useful tech info and more (mention MacRumors).
Amazing Iceman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 09:48 PM   #34
kayloh20
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazing Iceman View Post
I wonder if there will be an update to the iOS Skype App that would support Microsoft and Facebook Account Integration.
At this point the desktop and mobile versions are out of sync feature-wise.
I've never been able to join a call (answer a call, yes, but not join a call) on Skype for iOS, so it's been out of sync for a while

I'm sure it will at least support Facebook, given that the API is very easy to use (even before iOS 6).
kayloh20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 10:33 PM   #35
ArtOfWarfare
macrumors 603
 
ArtOfWarfare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Send a message via Skype™ to ArtOfWarfare
Microsoft?

Did a miss something? How long as Microsoft had anything to do with Skype, besides the app running on their OS's?

Could explain why I haven't felt compelled to upgrade in a few years...
__________________
Don't tell me Macs don't last: 2007 iMac, 2007 Mac Mini, 2008 MacBook Air, all Vintage.
(iMac obsoletion: April 28, 2015, MBA: October 14, 2015, Mac Mini: March 9, 2016)
ArtOfWarfare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2012, 10:40 PM   #36
jw2002
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I'm using v5.3.0.1093. It's okay. One time I let it upgrade to a version beyond that, and discovered that it was infested with banner ads! So Time Machine to the rescue, and I'm not ever going to upgrade it again. And seriously, integrated facebook/skype logins? Yawn, no value added.
jw2002 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 02:22 AM   #37
moxxey
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Although I do like the new Skype 6 (minor) retina improvements, I'll admit it's an annoying and poorly designed application.

If, like me, you have Skype running during the day, at work, on your retina MBP, it forces you to use discrete graphics, which is incredibly annoying. Do you really need to use the discrete GPU just to keep an application running? I can understand it might be needed for the video calls, but why does it need discrete for keeping the app open in your dock?!

This would be the first priority for me - sort out the forced use of discrete graphics.
moxxey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 04:10 AM   #38
moxxey
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Scrap the above. How embarrassing. It appears they've FIXED the discrete graphics issue with Skype 6. Only uses the integrated graphics when it's idle.

This was my number one concern. Sorted.
moxxey is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 04:31 AM   #39
ThomasJL
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
1080p?

My parents and I use Skype to communicate. We both have 2012 Macs. We both use the Logitech c920 webcam which is capable of 1080p on Windows, but only 720p on Macs. Do any of you know if Skype 6 finally brings 1080p to Macs?
ThomasJL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 04:32 AM   #40
baryon
macrumors 68030
 
baryon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
As much as Skype sucks, we don't have any competition or any other choice for instant messaging and video chat. Apple's Messages only works on Macs and Apple products, so you can't talk with anyone on Windows (99% of my contacts are on Windows). MSN Messenger doesn't have video chat for Mac. Google + Hangouts require you to install a plugin, and you can't be always online unless you keep the browser window open all the time… accidentally closed the browser? Well no one can reach you now!

How come no one other than Skype ever made a decent video/chat client? I'm sure it's not that difficult, there's a bunch of stupid useless apps out there, devs should instead be focusing on something that the world needs: to allow people to communicate, which is still not always possible in freaking 2012.
__________________
Sent from my iPod Shuffle

Last edited by baryon; Oct 25, 2012 at 04:37 AM.
baryon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 05:09 AM   #41
JGRE
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Dutch Mountains
And is it still 32-bit? When are they going to upgrade this app to 64-bit?
__________________
iPhone 5s, 2008 iMac 20", 2011 MBP 13", ATV3, iPad Mini.
JGRE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 05:20 AM   #42
Jeaz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by byke View Post
Does it still have that pig ugly, and oversized GUI ?
I am still on 2.something because of it.
The main UI is still there, but a few versions ago they did re-add the old smaller GUI as an option as well, so you can choose. Personally, I find the old smaller UI to be the pig ugly one, but I guess that's just down to taste isn't it :-)
Jeaz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 07:31 AM   #43
Amazing Iceman
macrumors 68030
 
Amazing Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, U.S.A.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayloh20 View Post
I've never been able to join a call (answer a call, yes, but not join a call) on Skype for iOS, so it's been out of sync for a while

I'm sure it will at least support Facebook, given that the API is very easy to use (even before iOS 6).
I use Skype all the time and have barely any issues with both my Mac and iOS and the people using Windows at the other end.
I wonder if your problems are caused by your ISP instead.
That is, unless you are referring to Joining an audio or video chat already in progress, which I haven't tried; actually I did try want to do it once but it was unsupported.

I heard that the Oovoo app would let you do it, but then that's another app and messenger to have, sort of a pain.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (2007) iPad Air WiFi+Cell 128 GB iPhone 5s 64 GB T-Mobile AppleTV 2
Follow @AmazingIceman for useful tech info and more (mention MacRumors).
Amazing Iceman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 07:38 AM   #44
joemod
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Athens, Greece
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArtOfWarfare View Post
Microsoft?

Did a miss something? How long as Microsoft had anything to do with Skype, besides the app running on their OS's?

Could explain why I haven't felt compelled to upgrade in a few years...
Microsoft bought Skype for 8 billion dollars if I recall correctly. I don't know who does the development now though
joemod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 08:09 AM   #45
kayloh20
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazing Iceman View Post
I use Skype all the time and have barely any issues with both my Mac and iOS and the people using Windows at the other end.
I wonder if your problems are caused by your ISP instead.
That is, unless you are referring to Joining an audio or video chat already in progress, which I haven't tried; actually I did try want to do it once but it was unsupported.

I heard that the Oovoo app would let you do it, but then that's another app and messenger to have, sort of a pain.
Oh yes, I do mean joining an active call, sorry. It always puzzles me because at least conceptually it's the same as answering a call, only there's no popup window, right?
kayloh20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 08:21 AM   #46
Amazing Iceman
macrumors 68030
 
Amazing Iceman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Florida, U.S.A.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kayloh20 View Post
Oh yes, I do mean joining an active call, sorry. It always puzzles me because at least conceptually it's the same as answering a call, only there's no popup window, right?
Yeah. Well, maybe in a newer update...
The Messenger integration is worthless if it doesn't work on my iOS devices, so I really hope for an update.
__________________
17" MacBook Pro (2007) iPad Air WiFi+Cell 128 GB iPhone 5s 64 GB T-Mobile AppleTV 2
Follow @AmazingIceman for useful tech info and more (mention MacRumors).
Amazing Iceman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 08:52 AM   #47
Andy-V
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I see a couple of people mention notification center but like others I don't see anything for it. Has someone actually seen Skype do a notification center notification?
Andy-V is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 08:52 AM   #48
zapnyc
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
OK so you don't like the interface?
I've never had a real problem with it. It gets the job done fine.

I travel the world, and only ONE video chat program works EVERY time...even in bizarrely firewalled hotels in Asia and low-bandwidth small-town hotels in Germany. In every hotel in the USA I stay.

Skype.
zapnyc is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 08:56 AM   #49
needfx
macrumors 68020
 
needfx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: macrumors apparently
hey babe, you look horrible on the retina display
__________________
flickr
needfx is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2012, 10:49 AM   #50
gumblecosby
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by zapnyc View Post
OK so you don't like the interface?
I've never had a real problem with it. It gets the job done fine.

I travel the world, and only ONE video chat program works EVERY time...even in bizarrely firewalled hotels in Asia and low-bandwidth small-town hotels in Germany. In every hotel in the USA I stay.

Skype.
You are correct. It works better than FaceTime for me and traverses firewalls well. The complaints are that it has regressed since version 2.8. I have used this version (2.8) in every place I have travelled and it works well. The newer versions offer no improvements in my scenario, use more resources and have a less useful UI.

If 2.8 disappeared tomorrow, I would use version 6 without hesitation though.
gumblecosby is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > Mac Blog Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Skype keeps signing me out of Facebook -BigMac- Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Mar 12, 2014 06:00 AM
AutoCAD for Mac 2013 and Retina display dspsbl Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 2, 2013 09:35 AM
External display for Retina Display Mac Book Pro himoundary Mac Peripherals 4 Mar 1, 2013 12:59 AM
Facebook Messenger Now Supports Voice Calling for U.S. Accounts MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 137 Jan 22, 2013 01:11 AM
How many displays the Non-retina supports? maxfischersweet MacBook Pro 0 Jun 22, 2012 12:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC