Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

eclipse

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 18, 2005
Sydney
Hi all,
If I was to dive in as an amateur developer interested in designing and manipulating CMS's like Joomla and Wordpress, how long would it take to learn:

HTML5

CSS

PHP

JS?

Or would I just mainly be doing HTML and CSS and relying on forum support for the occasional PHP tweak? I'm mainly interested in being able to design websites in CMS, not completely reprogram the php I guess. Any estimates out there as to how long it takes to get a 'good' understanding of these languages?

Cheers

NathanCH

macrumors 65816
Oct 5, 2007
Vancouver, BC
If you want to get into front-end then you're right that you will want to start with just HTML and CSS. When designing Wordpress themes, you will run into PHP but the Wordpress codex is good plus you may only end up editing one or two words.

I am still learning HTML and CSS after even doing it as my job for several years now. I am finding new ways to be more efficient. At the same time my design style is always changing putting me in new situations. So how long it takes to learn, depends how well you want to learn it. You could have a simple website going by the end of the day if you spend a few hours reading up first.

I should say, ideally for Front-end it would be more beneficial for you to learn JS before PHP if you want a job in front-end dev.

fig

macrumors 6502a
Jun 13, 2012
Austin, TX
Agreed, I do a lot of modifications to Wordpress themes, including starting with a blank theme and designing it out to something custom, and I know next to nothing about PHP but am pretty proficient in HTML and CSS.

That's definitely where you'll get the most return on your time investment, then once you've got those pretty nailed down you can start looking at what else it'll benefit you to learn depending what direction you're moving in.