Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

XJ-Tim

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 17, 2012
Ok so im still a bit new to macs. I've worked on PCs quite a bit (dont hate :D) but the MBP is too different for me to solve this on my own. A friend bought a broken MBP 13" with 10.7 Loin off craigslist for a good price. She asked me to repair it. The glass screen cover was cracked and the spacebar was missing :confused:. She also wanted me to wipe the HD and start with a fresh copy of Lion.

So the first thing i did was format "Erase" the Macintosh HD drive. (Journaled). Then i tried to reinstall Lion and it kept asking me for the AppleID and password, which i do have my own, but it said i didn't purchase 10.7 Lion and cant proceed. So then i tried to plug an ethernet cable into and and start it up while holding the "option" key. I chose the internet recovery option. It did its thing and took me to the recover HD partition screen (where you can choose between time machine, reinstall OSX, get help, and disk utility.) Instead of having an option to reinstall Lion, it now displayed Mountain Lion. I clicked it, then "Find My Mac" window appeared and the laptop started beeping, then shut down. I rebooted and all I get is a picture of a lock and a field to type a password.

So i called her and asked if she could call the guy who sold it to her and ask questions. He never picked up or replied.

Im assuming that this laptop was stolen. took it to apple and they weren't much help, it was not reported as stolen.

So, my question is, how do I get around this password. Shouldn't a HD format have deleted any security features? With no way to find the previous owner, im at a loss... She is willing to buy a new Hard drive to fix this problem as it would still be worth it. (im assuming that this security feature cannot be removed from the hard drive). will replacing the hard drive completely remove this feature?