Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 28, 2012, 09:10 AM   #1
lucasfunkt
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Installing existing software to new iMac without disk drive.

Quick question about software on the iMac.

I have Adobe Lightroom 3 on my macbook pro and it is my understanding that I am allowed to use it's licence on 2 computers, so I want to use it on the new iMac when I eventually get it. How will I go about installing it, will I have to purchase an external DVD reader or is there another way.


Also I have Quicktime Player 7 on my macbook pro which I had to pay 20 for, am I going to have to do this again for the iMac or can I just copy it over?
lucasfunkt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 09:13 AM   #2
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Just download the LightRoom demo from adobe and then plug in your serial #. The demo is the same product on the CD
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 09:15 AM   #3
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
You could use the MBPs optical disk drive (ODD) and insert any CD or DVD into it and copy off the contents off that CD or DVD via Finder or Disk Utility*
Then you can use the copied contents to copy them onto another external HDD or via network to the iMac.

Or you can use Remote Disc Sharing: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5287


* How To Make Copies of DVDs - the first steps to create a CD or DMG are the ones useful for this, I did so with many of my software CDs and DVDs to store the optical media somewhere else and have the CDRs and DMGs easily available via an external HDD

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by maflynn View Post
Just download the LightRoom demo from adobe and then plug in your serial #. The demo is the same product on the CD
Thought about that too, but Adobe does not offer trials of older versions of their applications that easily.

Adobe trials for CS3 to CS 5.5
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 09:16 AM   #4
maflynn
Moderator
 
maflynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Thought about that too, but Adobe does not offer trials of older versions of their applications that easily.

Adobe trials for CS3 to CS 5.5
You're right - I forgot about that LR is on version 4.
maflynn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 12:37 PM   #5
lucasfunkt
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
You could use the MBPs optical disk drive (ODD) and insert any CD or DVD into it and copy off the contents off that CD or DVD via Finder or Disk Utility*
Then you can use the copied contents to copy them onto another external HDD or via network to the iMac.

Or you can use Remote Disc Sharing: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5287


* How To Make Copies of DVDs - the first steps to create a CD or DMG are the ones useful for this, I did so with many of my software CDs and DVDs to store the optical media somewhere else and have the CDRs and DMGs easily available via an external HDD

----------



Thought about that too, but Adobe does not offer trials of older versions of their applications that easily.

Adobe trials for CS3 to CS 5.5
Thanks guys, very useful.


How about Quicktime 7, am I going to have to pay for it twice?
lucasfunkt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 12:55 PM   #6
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasfunkt View Post
Thanks guys, very useful.


How about Quicktime 7, am I going to have to pay for it twice?
I do not know about QuickTime, you can probably use the serial again on your new iMac.
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 01:11 PM   #7
cooky560
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Around
Send a message via ICQ to cooky560 Send a message via AIM to cooky560 Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560
As soon as I get anything on DVD, I make a DMG image and restore it onto a new partition on my USB HDD. It has about 50 partitions so far :P Means I will be ready for when this mac dies and there is no ODD
__________________
My Site 21.5" iMac
cooky560 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 01:14 PM   #8
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooky560 View Post
As soon as I get anything on DVD, I make a DMG image and restore it onto a new partition on my USB HDD. It has about 50 partitions so far :P Means I will be ready for when this mac dies and there is no ODD
Why the need for partitions? Wouldn't it simply suffice for you to store the DMG onto an external HDD and mount that?
__________________
living on the moderately profane edge
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 01:17 PM   #9
Weaselboy
macrumors G4
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lucasfunkt View Post
How about Quicktime 7, am I going to have to pay for it twice?
I'm still using my QT7 Pro auth code from three machines ago with Mountain Lion on a 2012 MBA, no problem.
Weaselboy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 01:21 PM   #10
scruby
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Netherlands
Do you actually pay for your software?

Making a DMG. from your disc seems the best option tho
__________________
13' MPB 2,4 8GB / iPhone 4 16GB / iMac 27inch i7 3.4 - 32GB - 1TB Fusion Drive - NVIDIA GTX 680MX
scruby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 01:43 PM   #11
lucasfunkt
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by scruby View Post
Do you actually pay for your software?

Making a DMG. from your disc seems the best option tho
I wonder about using the fusion drive, it automatically puts your applications on the SSD, if I were apple I'd check for authentic purchasing when doing that.

But I guess those of us who pirate have nothing to fear there?
lucasfunkt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 04:13 PM   #12
cooky560
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Around
Send a message via ICQ to cooky560 Send a message via AIM to cooky560 Send a message via MSN to cooky560 Send a message via Yahoo to cooky560
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Why the need for partitions? Wouldn't it simply suffice for you to store the DMG onto an external HDD and mount that?
Some of the partitions contain installers for various OSX versions

The rest are partitioned based on type of application
__________________
My Site 21.5" iMac
cooky560 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC