Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

djohnsonbp13

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 28, 2012
I'll be going to college next fall and I'm trying to decide what computer to buy. Right now I have a Macbook from 2008 that is slowly dying. My parents are going to buy me the new computer so money is still important but it isn't a deciding factor. I am just a typical computer user and I plan on studying statistics, economics, international relations, or public health, so nothing super computer heavy. I was really excited for Apple to release the 13" Retina Macbook Pro but after reading through the forums here, I'm not sure if that's the computer I want to get. I'm debating between a maxed out 13" Macbook Air, maxed out 13" Macbook Pro, or a mildly upgraded 13" Retina Macbook Pro. I want the computer to be functional and last me at least six years like my current computer has, but I'm not tech savvy enough to know what sorts of specs that means. I am taking weight into consideration because I will be carrying my computer around a lot. Any sort of advice would be wonderful. Thanks!

toothache

macrumors member
Dec 18, 2011