Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 28, 2012, 05:52 PM   #1
hackerwayne
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Somethings burning, smoke coming out from MP 2008 3,1 What to do?!

Hey guys, this morning when i powered my Mac Pro 2008 (3,1) lots of smoke coming out from the DVD drive area, i was in total shock, and quickly unplugged the power cable from the MP. I removed all HDDs, optical drive, GPU and can't find where the problem came from, so i assembled everything back and tried to power it on, then again, turns on and smoke comes out from the drive area, I removed the DVD drive and tried to power it on again but it never shows sign of life anymore. I tested the DVD drive and its in working order. What can be toast here? When i press the Diagnostic LED, it shows STBY on but in yellow color. Nothing else lights up, press power button nothing happens. Possibly power supply?
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819

Last edited by hackerwayne; Oct 28, 2012 at 06:21 PM.
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 05:58 PM   #2
Wardenski
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
The power supply is at the top so it would make sense that it is the power supply that is dead. Open it up and have a peak.
Wardenski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 06:08 PM   #3
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wardenski View Post
The power supply is at the top so it would make sense that it is the power supply that is dead. Open it up and have a peak.
I took the PSU out, how to physically test whether the PSU is faulty? From the outside it looks good.
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 06:15 PM   #4
rantingrich
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Smoke

Well what do you expect from a SMOKING HOT MAC!
rantingrich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 06:19 PM   #5
shoulin333
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: California
Might want to check out this older thread on how to test the PSU.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1082046
__________________
15" rMBP - Late 2013
27" iMac - Mid 2011 (Custom Fusion Drive - 256GB SSD/1TB HDD)
iPhone 5[S] - 16gb Space Grey(Verizon)
shoulin333 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 06:20 PM   #6
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Warranty is obviously over, don't bother asking Apple Care. Will this be sort of covered under some type of custom warranty? Considering that it obviously smells like something is burning inside.

Most important thing is, I have RAID on it, some 8TB of data in the RAID. Damn Mac Pro T.T, don't tell me the logic board is fried. How to retrieve my RAID now, without the Mac Pro. If its the PSU, i could just buy one off eBay which is fairly cheap now 100+/-

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoulin333 View Post
Might want to check out this older thread on how to test the PSU.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1082046
I can't check the voltages without the Mac Pro being powered on right?
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 06:55 PM   #7
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
If there was lots of smoke, I'm sure the PSU (if it really was the PSU) still smells pretty strong. Open the PSU-case, maybe you see some melted cables inside?
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 07:01 PM   #8
Spacedust
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Remove the optical drive bay with all stuff in it. Then power on and you will see what's going on.
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+4x120 GB SSD RAID3/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 07:09 PM   #9
notjustjay
macrumors 603
 
notjustjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Smoking (especially lots of it) often comes from failed capacitors. The largest of which would be in your PSU, so I agree that's the first place to look.

It's also the cheapest and easiest part to replace to start your diagnostic.

Remove your optical drive and HDDs before you continue testing, that way you reduce the risk of any damage to your data in case it wasn't the PSU.

Here is what a smoking capacitor looks like:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=03J1yWwM5zg

Does that resemble what you see?
__________________
.
notjustjay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 07:15 PM   #10
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacedust View Post
Remove the optical drive bay with all stuff in it. Then power on and you will see what's going on.
Tried that, almost NOTHING is inside. All HDD were removed, riser B was removed, optical drive bay & graphics card all removed.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by notjustjay View Post
Smoking (especially lots of it) often comes from failed capacitors. The largest of which would be in your PSU, so I agree that's the first place to look.

It's also the cheapest and easiest part to replace to start your diagnostic.

Remove your optical drive and HDDs before you continue testing, that way you reduce the risk of any damage to your data in case it wasn't the PSU.

Here is what a smoking capacitor looks like:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=03J1yWwM5zg

Does that resemble what you see?
OMG.. THATS exactly how the smoke comes out from the optical drive bay, only difference is i don't here any poping sounds.! Im buying a PSU off eBay to test but before that any chance i could some how change the capacitors without replacing the entire PSU? Ill be taking pictures n upload them here.
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2012, 07:16 PM   #11
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The New World
Take a look at all the capacitors on any and all PCB's for evidence of burning, or breaking open.
__________________
"Gee, I've been on this diet only ten minutes and I've already lost something, my sense of humor."
SandboxGeneral is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 03:47 AM   #12
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Keep us informed about if the replacement PSU was the culprit.

Have you asked your local Apple Store if they would mind giving the machine a good-will inspection and test after you have replaced the PSU? It sounds like you are a committed user of your Mac Pro and if you impress them with your professionalism, they may agree to give it an inspection to restore your confidence that the machine is now in full working order.
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 01:35 PM   #13
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandboxGeneral View Post
Take a look at all the capacitors on any and all PCB's for evidence of burning, or breaking open.
Still trying to pry open the PSU, not as easy as i expect. As for the logic board, no sign of any blown/swollen capacitors. I really hope its not the logic board, i wanted to keep the system until 2013/201x Mac Pro comes out & don't wish to pay too much for the repair cost. Maximum $200 is what i can afford/willing to pay. PSU cost $150 from eBay. Unfortunately, in the country im living, theres no Apple Store, only authorized Apple Service Provider which is charging roughly $30 just for diagnostic.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by DanielCoffey View Post
Keep us informed about if the replacement PSU was the culprit.

Have you asked your local Apple Store if they would mind giving the machine a good-will inspection and test after you have replaced the PSU? It sounds like you are a committed user of your Mac Pro and if you impress them with your professionalism, they may agree to give it an inspection to restore your confidence that the machine is now in full working order.
Unfortunately, the country im living in does not have an Apple Store. Only AASP which is charging $30 just for diagnostic & it takes 1 week to diagnose Can't afford to wait that long, data in there is important.. Anyone has any idea how i could possibly extract the data in the RAID without the Mac Pro? I have 3 x 1.5TB drives in RAID 0.
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 04:01 PM   #14
notjustjay
macrumors 603
 
notjustjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Is it possible to power up the PSU on its own?

If so, disconnect PSU from computer, plug it in, see what happens. If you get smoke again, then you know for sure it was the PSU
__________________
.
notjustjay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 04:11 PM   #15
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by notjustjay View Post
Is it possible to power up the PSU on its own?

If so, disconnect PSU from computer, plug it in, see what happens. If you get smoke again, then you know for sure it was the PSU
Tried that, don't how how to power on the PSU without the Mac Pro. For a generic PC PSU, i know how to short it to power on. on the Mac Pro PSU, no idea whats the pin out.
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 04:29 PM   #16
TWEO
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Might not be your healthiest option, but have you tried using your nose to check if the PSU is smelling oddly ?
TWEO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 04:30 PM   #17
ytk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Five gets you ten that when you finally manage to pry open the power supply, there's some sort of cooked insect in there.
ytk is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 04:50 PM   #18
MacinJosh
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Finland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ytk View Post
Five gets you ten that when you finally manage to pry open the power supply, there's some sort of cooked insect in there.
Years ago when I was using my Atari ST computer here in the tropics, a huge puff of smoke came up from where the PSU was. Computer was still on. I turned it off fearing the worst. I opened it up and there was a gecko all fried up on top of the PSU. Computer was fine.

Just recently my photocopier (new) failed. No idea what was wrong. After a few days a dead stinky smell started coming out of it and millions of ants pouring in and out of it. A gecko had fried inside to power board but this time it had damaged it.

I love the cute little buggers but hate it when they get into the electronics.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 Quad 2.8Ghz - 5770 - 12GB - 120GB SSD - 6TB
iPhone 6+ 64GB Gold
Apple TV3 / iPhone 4S - 16GB / iPhone 4 - 16GB
iPad Mini Retina - 32GB / iPad 3 - 16GB - Black
MacinJosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2012, 10:42 PM   #19
notjustjay
macrumors 603
 
notjustjay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Canada, eh?
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
Tried that, don't how how to power on the PSU without the Mac Pro. For a generic PC PSU, i know how to short it to power on. on the Mac Pro PSU, no idea whats the pin out.
Does this help?

http://aquamac.proboards.com/index.c...ay&thread=1032

I have not seen a real Mac Pro PSU up close so I have no idea if that's useful info for you.

Good luck!
__________________
.
notjustjay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 08:27 AM   #20
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWEO View Post
Might not be your healthiest option, but have you tried using your nose to check if the PSU is smelling oddly ?
Nope. Not at all..

EDIT: Finally manage to crack the PSU open (took so long cuz one of the + screws stripped). From what i can see no caps were blown etc
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819

Last edited by hackerwayne; Oct 31, 2012 at 08:44 AM.
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:14 AM   #21
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Sent to Apple Service Provider, as it turns out, its not the power supply but the logic board. What do you guys recommend?
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 07:29 AM   #22
JesterJJZ
macrumors 68000
 
JesterJJZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
Sent to Apple Service Provider, as it turns out, its not the power supply but the logic board. What do you guys recommend?
Well you don't really have many options. Fix it or get a new machine.
__________________
jesterpictures.com theoryiseverything.com jarek.com
Shoot for the Impossible...Then do it
MacPro 12core, 64GB, GTX680, 30" ACD, 23" ACD -- 15" MBP 2.6 i7, Anti-Glare, 16GB, 240GB SSD + 1TB
JesterJJZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:29 AM   #23
Spacedust
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Get a new board: http://www.ebay.pl/itm/GENUINE-APPLE...item2576baa1dd

This one seems to be for 3,1 despite description.
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+4x120 GB SSD RAID3/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 09:58 AM   #24
flatfoot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
...

Most important thing is, I have RAID on it, some 8TB of data in the RAID. Damn Mac Pro T.T, don't tell me the logic board is fried. How to retrieve my RAID now, without the Mac Pro. If its the PSU, i could just buy one off eBay which is fairly cheap now 100+/-[COLOR="#808080"]

...
If it's a Disk Utility software RAID, you can attach the drives whichever way you want (USB, FireWire, SATA) to any other Mac running the OS you had on your Mac Pro or later. The RAID set will work like on your Mac Pro – provided it hasn't been damaged by the logicboard dying.
__________________
Power Mac G5-i7 i7-870@3.52GHz, 8GB CL8 1600MHz RAM, GeForce 9600GT, 360GB internal SSD, 13TB storage + 12.25TB backup via HighPoint RR2314
MBA 2013 1.3 Ci5, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
iPod touch 4G 32GB
flatfoot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 01:43 PM   #25
CaptainChunk
macrumors 68020
 
CaptainChunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacedust View Post
Get a new board: http://www.ebay.pl/itm/GENUINE-APPLE...item2576baa1dd

This one seems to be for 3,1 despite description.
That seems to be correct (given the "flipped" orientations of the RAM riser slots, which is the biggest visual difference between 2006/07 and 2008 boards). The part number also (661-4449) also matches the 2.8/3.0 3,1 board, but I'd ask the seller just be sure.
__________________
MP 8x2.8GHz, 16GB RAM, flashed 8800GT; Early '08
15" MBP 2.6GHz, 4GB RAM; Early '08 (RIP)
13" MBP 2.3GHz, 8GB RAM; Early '11
CaptainChunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
somethings up with my battery? g.t. rags MacBook Air 8 May 11, 2014 05:37 PM
Its somethings about wallpaper... piuloc OS X 1 May 5, 2013 01:15 AM
Disc Burning, when Book Burning isn't enough. MorphingDragon Politics, Religion, Social Issues 35 Jan 9, 2013 10:00 PM
SIRI - somethings gone wrong UK whitedragon101 iOS 6 2 Oct 30, 2012 10:29 PM
Help with Burning Leopard Single Layer Disc, Problems With Burning it On RW DVD-Help Atmosphere1001 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Jul 21, 2012 11:41 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC