Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 25, 2012, 09:58 PM   #126
trancinchino
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Successfully installed!

Now I just gotta figure out how to install Mountain Lion on the SSD
trancinchino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 01:58 PM   #127
That-Guy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
OWC have updated their Hard Drive guide for the Mac Mini 2012



May help a few peeps!
__________________
Mac Mini Late 2012 - 2.5GHz Core i5 - 16gb RAM - 120gb SSD + 500gb HDD
iPhone 5S | iPad Air | Apple TV 3rd Gen | Airport Express 3rd Gen
Website | Twitter | Google+ | Instagram
That-Guy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 03:27 PM   #128
sc25893
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by That-Guy View Post
I would try the same setup as me, which shouldn't be that expensive:

- Upgrade Memory to 16gb - Crucial
- Buy kit to allow you to install second Hard Drive - Other World Computing
- Purchase a 120gb SSD as Boot Drive - Ebuyer
- Use original HDD as Data Drive.

Just my opinion, im sure people will have others too
I have just ordered the OWC kit ($42.50) from the US with $8 international delivery. Who knows how long that's gonna take! 14-30 days and with Christmas coming up, I'm not holding my breath!

Anyway, do I have to pay extra when the item reaches the UK? And if you do, how?

I still don't understand how this works even after reading about it on another forum. Any help is always appreciated. Thanks.

Sam.
sc25893 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 03:30 PM   #129
That-Guy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by sc25893 View Post
I have just ordered the OWC kit ($42.50) from the US with $8 international delivery. Who knows how long that's gonna take! 14-30 days and with Christmas coming up, I'm not holding my breath!

Anyway, do I have to pay extra when the item reaches the UK? And if you do, how?

I still don't understand how this works even after reading about it on another forum. Any help is always appreciated. Thanks.

Sam.
It only took 8 days to get to the UK for me! Also didn't have to pay any fees
That-Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 03:32 PM   #130
sc25893
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by That-Guy View Post
It only took 8 days to get to the UK for me! Also didn't have to pay any fees
Would be a stroke of luck if that happens. Sadly, I'm not getting much of that at the moment! Lol.

Sam.
sc25893 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 03:38 PM   #131
trancinchino
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by trancinchino View Post
Successfully installed!

Now I just gotta figure out how to install Mountain Lion on the SSD
To follow up on this, I did the "Command + R" during bootup to do recovery. Selected to re-install mountain lion on the new SSD. It took about an hour to download the file. So it's not too long a wait if you aren't in a rush.

After installing and setting it up, I re-partitioned my HDD to have a clean harddrive.

In total, it is literally taking my system about 8-10 seconds to bootup. SSD's are amazing.
trancinchino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 04:36 PM   #132
thelasersailor
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
I decided to try and install an SSD in my mini alongside the 1TB drive the other day and fortunately it all went well, apart from the fact that I can't for the life of me get the airport antenna back in properly. No amount of wiggling will get both of the tabs into their slots at the same time Has anyone else had this problem or got any tips?
thelasersailor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 07:38 PM   #133
kdoug
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Iowa City, IA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by That-Guy View Post
OWC have updated their Hard Drive guide for the Mac Mini 2012

YouTube: video

May help a few peeps!
Very helpful, thanks!
__________________
Dual, Late 2012 Mac Mini's 2.6GHz quad-core i7 16GB with Samsung 840 250GB SSD's, Dell 23" s2340l and 27" s2740l Monitors, iPad Air 64GB Wi-Fi, Verizon
iPhone 5 64GB Black
kdoug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 07:45 PM   #134
Bill6840
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelasersailor View Post
I decided to try and install an SSD in my mini alongside the 1TB drive the other day and fortunately it all went well, apart from the fact that I can't for the life of me get the airport antenna back in properly. No amount of wiggling will get both of the tabs into their slots at the same time Has anyone else had this problem or got any tips?
Yes, I had the same problem, but found my answer on ifixit from a gent named Kevin. Here's a link: http://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/8...plate+properly

I used a straightened fish hook to gently pull upwards on the antenna plate while pushing it back (towards the curved edge of the plate) into place. I started on one edge and worked my way around and it slipped neatly back into place. Good luck!
Bill6840 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 03:16 AM   #135
That-Guy
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by thelasersailor View Post
I decided to try and install an SSD in my mini alongside the 1TB drive the other day and fortunately it all went well, apart from the fact that I can't for the life of me get the airport antenna back in properly. No amount of wiggling will get both of the tabs into their slots at the same time Has anyone else had this problem or got any tips?
I seated one side correctly then used a screw driver in the opposite whole to gently leaver forward and it popped into place
That-Guy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 07:49 AM   #136
MM123
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: CE
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill6840 View Post
Yes, I had the same problem, but found my answer on ifixit from a gent named Kevin. Here's a link: http://www.ifixit.com/Answers/View/8...plate+properly

I used a straightened fish hook to gently pull upwards on the antenna plate while pushing it back (towards the curved edge of the plate) into place. I started on one edge and worked my way around and it slipped neatly back into place. Good luck!
I have the same problem, spend an hour with it and it was still no-go for me, I will try to do it your way hope it will fit this time
__________________
MM 2012 i7 2,6GHz,16GB RAM, Sams 840 250GB SSD + 1,5 TB Toshiba HDD, i7 3770 Hackintosh (build as my own MM), HK SoundStick II; iP 4S 32GB, iPad 4, and G4 DP 1,25 GHz - using as noise check
MM123 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 08:55 AM   #137
boriscolombia
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
hey guys will this work to connect a second drive?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/GENUINE-Appl...-/221126959149
the reason I ask is because I have that part from a broken computer and was hoping that I can just use it to save on some costs. thanks
boriscolombia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 01:15 PM   #138
kdoug
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Iowa City, IA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MM123 View Post
I have the same problem, spend an hour with it and it was still no-go for me, I will try to do it your way hope it will fit this time
Same problem here. Everything went great except the antenna grate. I spent more time trying to get it back in place then it took to do the complete dissasembly reassembly. The key is not to force it. The top edges of the grate have to fit in the grooved edge of the housing. I used a paper clip and bent one end into a small hook which helped to align it up. I'm not sure what I did but it finally popped into place and the screws magically aligned. Elation!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	2.32 MB
ID:	380477  
kdoug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 01:33 PM   #139
kdoug
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Iowa City, IA USA
Samsung 840 250GB SSD running in Fusion.
One down and one more to go.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	112
Size:	2.28 MB
ID:	380485   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-11-29 at 2.16.48 PM.png
Views:	68
Size:	891.3 KB
ID:	380497  

Last edited by kdoug; Nov 29, 2012 at 02:19 PM.
kdoug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:31 PM   #140
spammerhamster
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdoug View Post
Samsung 840 250GB SSD running in Fusion.
One down and one more to go.
Ewww, a sticker on a Mac!!!
spammerhamster is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:01 PM   #141
calvol
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Folks who already have the tools, can avoid the extra costs of the kits, by sourcing the cable from Amazon for $28 (mac flex cable 821-1347), comes from a 3rd party supplier.
http://tinyurl.com/d26d62j
calvol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 06:07 PM   #142
kdoug
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Iowa City, IA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by calvol View Post
Folks who already have the tools, can avoid the extra costs of the kits, by sourcing the cable from Amazon for $28 (mac flex cable 821-1347), comes from a 3rd party supplier.
http://tinyurl.com/d26d62j
I think you meant a 922-9560.
__________________
Dual, Late 2012 Mac Mini's 2.6GHz quad-core i7 16GB with Samsung 840 250GB SSD's, Dell 23" s2340l and 27" s2740l Monitors, iPad Air 64GB Wi-Fi, Verizon
iPhone 5 64GB Black
kdoug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 09:02 PM   #143
nifmus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
So, you didn't make it into a fusion drive? I'm curious why you didn't.
No reason, just didn't. It works, it does the job.
nifmus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 04:37 AM   #144
macmin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
So, you didn't make it into a fusion drive? I'm curious why you didn't.
I didn't fusion my sammy 840p ssd either. With fusion if either disk fails (more likely to be the hdd) I would need to open the mini up, or in the least break the fusion, reinstall the os. As separate drives, if the hdd fails, i will just leave it in the mini, add a thunderbolt ext drive and restore from TM backups. I sym linked my media folders to the hdd to get hdd capacity and ssd speed for everything else.
macmin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 10:16 AM   #145
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
Quote:
Originally Posted by macmin View Post
I didn't fusion my sammy 840p ssd either. With fusion if either disk fails (more likely to be the hdd) I would need to open the mini up, or in the least break the fusion, reinstall the os. As separate drives, if the hdd fails, i will just leave it in the mini, add a thunderbolt ext drive and restore from TM backups. I sym linked my media folders to the hdd to get hdd capacity and ssd speed for everything else.
Personally, I think the odds of this is so low that it shouldn't be a consideration given the dramatic performance increase. But if it works for you, that's great.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 12:34 PM   #146
uncleMonty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
All the videos I've seen are for installing one new drive alongside the one already there. Are the extra steps any more difficult if you need to remove the stock HD and add TWO 3rd-party SSDs? This is my plan, for a mid-level MM with upgraded RAM to be used for audio--samples, synthesis and recorded audio.

Is there any reason (apart from price) that having two SSDs would be a dumb choice? I imagine having the OS and the audio host on one, and serving samples etc. from the other, or running plug-ins... I can quickly imagine that it would be a benefit to have both drives be very snappy.

I would probably get two 3rd-party ~250 GB SSDs, and remove the stock HD, put it in an enclosure and use it to back everything up.
uncleMonty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 12:48 PM   #147
trancinchino
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by uncleMonty View Post
All the videos I've seen are for installing one new drive alongside the one already there. Are the extra steps any more difficult if you need to remove the stock HD and add TWO 3rd-party SSDs? This is my plan, for a mid-level MM with upgraded RAM to be used for audio--samples, synthesis and recorded audio.

Is there any reason (apart from price) that having two SSDs would be a dumb choice? I imagine having the OS and the audio host on one, and serving samples etc. from the other, or running plug-ins... I can quickly imagine that it would be a benefit to have both drives be very snappy.

I would probably get two 3rd-party ~250 GB SSDs, and remove the stock HD, put it in an enclosure and use it to back everything up.
Monty, that's exactly how I'm using my setup too. One SSD for OS/Software, and the other for samples/audio etc.

Anyway to answer you question, there are less steps to replace the stock HHD than to install a secondary SSD because in order to install the secondary drive you need to remove all the internal parts completely whereas that isn't necessary when replacing the original HHD.

Personally I installed both separately instead of in the same go just for personal assurance that it worked. First I installed the secondary SSD, re-installed Mac OSX on it, then opened it up again to replace the original HHD.
trancinchino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:01 PM   #148
uncleMonty
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Awesome, thanks for your reply Trancinchino. That's a good idea about doing it in two gos so you can transfer the OS and be sure it's there on one SSD, before taking out the HD. I am all thumbs so I'll want to do it very slowly.

Can I ask what sort of sessions you are running on your Mini, which model it is and how well it performs under the load? My sessions are Logic or ProTools, some large sample libraries (Vienna symphonic, several NI Kontakt libraries) and some synthesis (more NI stuff etc.), and the sampleModelling wind instruments which are quite processor-heavy. Some recorded audio but not that much.
uncleMonty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 01:24 PM   #149
trancinchino
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Monty, I'm running Logic 9 on the 2012 Mac Mini Quad 2.6 i7 w/ 16 gb ram & 2 Samsung SSDs.

Since this is a new computer/setup I just started my first session (on this computer) a couple days ago so I'm not really at the point where I'm truly testing the processing power. I don't plan on transferring old sessions over to this new computer either.

I will say this though. I did some research on the processor prior to purchase and it is the same processor used in the new 15 in. Macbook Pro retinas. The processor benchmarks far surpass every single 2011-2012 iMac in terms of speed & power. My friend uses the Late 2011 iMac and his computer easily ran 80-90 tracks (very plugin heavy) with little to no issues. He was also using an HHD instead of SSD.

Personally I'm not expecting any crashes, overloads, etc. w/ this beefed up setup. (crossing fingers)
trancinchino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 08:23 PM   #150
macmin
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cave Man View Post
Personally, I think the odds of this is so low that it shouldn't be a consideration given the dramatic performance increase. But if it works for you, that's great.
It indeed does work for me...different strokes for different folks. One way to look at this would be that I already have all my stuff on the ssd, with the exception of my media files.

My media storage requirements are in the multi TBs, so I obviously have an external TBolt raid. The internal hdd is just for 'play' stuff. Given how easy it is (with good backups) to go back and forth with fusion, I may try it at some point, I am just not religious about it.
macmin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Mac Mini and hard drive enclosure to make bootable drive for Mac Pro sssssshhhhhh OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 12 May 27, 2014 11:55 AM
Mac Mini hard Drive Configuration mikegml Mac mini 25 Oct 19, 2013 10:09 AM
Mac mini hard drive help Dannyjames80 Mac mini 3 Jun 14, 2013 04:31 PM
Adding internal hard drive space / SSD to the new Mac Pro musio Mac Pro 1 Jun 10, 2013 04:31 PM
Mini Mac Hard Drive Damaged KC2LLW Mac mini 3 Aug 29, 2012 03:25 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC