Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 19, 2014, 02:27 AM   #1
vista980622
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
How to increase vRAM for HD3000 graphics

Terminal command to increase vRAM for HD3000 graphics (Mac mini 2011 or MacBook Pro 2011)

From *MB - The amount of vRAM you currently have. You can find it in System Profiler.

From 256MB to 384MB
Quote:
cd /S*/L*/Ext*/AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext/C*/M*

sudo cp AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.backup

sudo perl -pi -e 's|\xC7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x12|\xc7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x18|g' AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB

sudo touch /S*/L*/Extensions
From 256MB to 512MB
Quote:
cd /S*/L*/Ext*/AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext/C*/M*

sudo cp AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.backup

sudo perl -pi -e 's|\xC7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x12|\xc7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x20|g' AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB

sudo touch /S*/L*/Extensions
From 384MB to 1GB
Quote:
cd /S*/L*/Ext*/AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext/C*/M*

sudo cp AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.backup

sudo perl -pi -e 's|\xC7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x18|\xc7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x40|g' AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB

sudo touch /S*/L*/Extensions
From 384MB to 512MB
Quote:
cd /S*/L*/Ext*/AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext/C*/M*

sudo cp AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.backup

sudo perl -pi -e 's|\xC7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x18|\xc7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x20|g' AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB

sudo touch /S*/L*/Extensions
From 512MB to 1GB
Quote:
cd /S*/L*/Ext*/AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext/C*/M*

sudo cp AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.backup

sudo perl -pi -e 's|\xC7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x20|\xc7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x40|g' AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB

sudo touch /S*/L*/Extensions
vista980622 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2014, 12:17 PM   #2
miretogo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Thanks for your post. I have wondered before if changing the memory allocation was possible :-)

Do these commands also work for Intel HD Graphics 4000?

Also, have you tried allocating 2 GB of memory to the integrated graphics card (using "80" instead of "40" in the command)?

Finally, did you run any benchmarks and did you experience any unwanted side effects (e.g. reduced OS stability or increased heat or noise)?
miretogo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2014, 06:54 AM   #3
fhall1
macrumors 68020
 
fhall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY State of mind
Have a look here: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1573528
__________________
2012 2.3GHz i7 Mini, 16GB RAM; 2009 2.93 GHz C2D iMac, 8GB RAM, GT120 GPU
1.83 GHz CD Mini, 2GB RAM, 200GB HD; 1.25 GHz 17" G4 iMac, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
64GB Silver iPhone 5s, 64GB White iPad Air
fhall1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2014, 09:25 PM   #4
vista980622
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by miretogo View Post
Thanks for your post. I have wondered before if changing the memory allocation was possible :-)

Do these commands also work for Intel HD Graphics 4000?

Also, have you tried allocating 2 GB of memory to the integrated graphics card (using "80" instead of "40" in the command)?

Finally, did you run any benchmarks and did you experience any unwanted side effects (e.g. reduced OS stability or increased heat or noise)?
As fhall1 indicated, Have a look here for changing VRAM on Intel HD4000: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1573528

Theoretically it would work, but please make a backup before modifying the kept.
vista980622 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2014, 11:51 AM   #5
dvdchance
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Has anyone actually tried this on a 2011 Mini?

How is it working out for you? Any freezes or other issues?
dvdchance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:57 PM   #6
videotects
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Successfully upgraded! Now 1 GB to 2 GB VRAM possible?

Hi there,

thanks first of all for the terminal lines. I followed them and it worked flawlessly. I upgraded from 512MB to 1024 MB VRAM. See the picture:



Now do I understand it Correctly that when I want to upgrade from 1GB to 2 GB VRAM now, that I have to type in these lines:


Quote:
cd /S*/L*/Ext*/AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB.kext/C*/M*

sudo perl -pi -e 's|\xC7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x40|\xc7\x45\xBC\x00\x00\x00\x80|g' AppleIntelSNBGraphicsFB

sudo touch /S*/L*/Extensions
Also does anyone has tried this fix already? Has anyone tried 2GB with the HD3000 is there any weird graphic glitches or other issues that could happen?

Thanks for the help.

Best Regards,
Nicolas
videotects is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac mini

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Increase in VRAM since Mavericks upgrade? cfurlin Mac mini 15 Oct 30, 2013 04:14 PM
Increase VRAM Mac mini 2012 Marvin16 Mac mini 5 Aug 31, 2013 11:40 AM
Wondering if I can also hack HD3000 to have a custom VRam size vista980622 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 May 4, 2013 04:25 PM
VRAM increase on RAM increase? jannikn MacBook Pro 11 Nov 28, 2012 09:02 AM
VRAM Increase in Bootcamp? jannikn MacBook Pro 2 Nov 28, 2012 08:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC