Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 31, 2012, 09:41 PM   #1
r00tb33r
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
List of correctly identified LGA 771 CPUs for Mac Pro 3,1 (2008)?

Greetings all,
I'm in the process of upgrading my 3,1 machine, and as it so happens I've got an extra heatsink laying around that will fit.
I want to buy a matched pair of quad core Xeons to convert my formerly quad core 3,1 machine into an 8-core. I would prefer to buy CPUs that would be correctly recognized by Mac OS X, and now show "unknown processor".
Is there a list I can find of CPU IDs that can aid me in shopping? Perhaps inside some kext?

Help is appreciated, thanks.
r00tb33r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 10:39 PM   #2
Omnius
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
why would you need a third heat sink? Or are you saying you have a double socketed mac pro that only came with 1 cpu in it?
__________________
Mac Mini 5,1, 2.3 ghz, 8GB RAM, 1.5TB (HTPC)
Mac Mini 5,2, 2.5 ghz, 16GB RAM, 500 GB HD, 256 GB SSD
iPhone 4S
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 11:00 PM   #3
r00tb33r
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnius View Post
are you saying you have a double socketed mac pro that only came with 1 cpu in it?
That's exactly what I mean. I guess I wasn't clear when I said "formerly quad core".
r00tb33r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 12:31 AM   #4
Omnius
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by r00tb33r View Post
That's exactly what I mean. I guess I wasn't clear when I said "formerly quad core".
It's my understanding that a quad core mac pro 3,1 is a single socket machine. A double socket 3,1 machine would have begun life as an 8 core machine. and would never have had 2 dual core cpus.

you're saying your formerly quad core machine is really a formerly 8 core, currently quad core and soon to be 8 core again machine?

Is it perhaps a 2,1 or 1,1 mac pro?
__________________
Mac Mini 5,1, 2.3 ghz, 8GB RAM, 1.5TB (HTPC)
Mac Mini 5,2, 2.5 ghz, 16GB RAM, 500 GB HD, 256 GB SSD
iPhone 4S
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 12:38 AM   #5
r00tb33r
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnius View Post
It's my understanding that a quad core mac pro 3,1 is a single socket machine. A double socket 3,1 machine would have begun life as an 8 core machine. and would never have had 2 dual core cpus.

you're saying your formerly quad core machine is really a formerly 8 core, currently quad core and soon to be 8 core again machine?

Is it perhaps a 2,1 or 1,1 mac pro?
I think you are confusing yourself too much by incorrectly trying to fact check me. It's a 3,1 machine with a single quad core 2.8GHz Xeon E5462. I have taken apart this machine and I am looking at two LGA 771 sockets, one socket previously covered with a "dummy" heatsink. I also have an EXTRA heatsink laying around, which I intend to use for the 8-core setup.

Can we move on now?
r00tb33r is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 12:50 AM   #6
Omnius
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Sorry if you took offense to my curiosity.

http://www.osx86.net/view/1330-about_this_mac_fix.html

I believe this is a utility that accomplishes what you're looking for.

This next part may not apply to you but upgrading to cpus that other mac pros use may also get properly identified by just upgrading OSX to a more recent version.
__________________
Mac Mini 5,1, 2.3 ghz, 8GB RAM, 1.5TB (HTPC)
Mac Mini 5,2, 2.5 ghz, 16GB RAM, 500 GB HD, 256 GB SSD
iPhone 4S
Omnius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 02:07 AM   #7
r00tb33r
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omnius View Post
Sorry if you took offense to my curiosity.

http://www.osx86.net/view/1330-about_this_mac_fix.html

I believe this is a utility that accomplishes what you're looking for.

This next part may not apply to you but upgrading to cpus that other mac pros use may also get properly identified by just upgrading OSX to a more recent version.
So does that mean I can use L5420 which is lower TDP and with 1333MHz bus? AFAIK there is no Mac that uses this CPU. So would it still be identified in Mountain Lion?
r00tb33r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 09:59 PM   #8
r00tb33r
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Seems first few replies went off topic, but I still need help picking out a pair of quad core CPUs for my 3,1 machine. I would really prefer models with lower TDP, but I'm not sure if the system will correctly identify them, and in my case that's important.
r00tb33r is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 10:06 PM   #9
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by r00tb33r View Post
Seems first few replies went off topic, but I still need help picking out a pair of quad core CPUs for my 3,1 machine. I would really prefer models with lower TDP, but I'm not sure if the system will correctly identify them, and in my case that's important.
AFAIK there aren't any CPU upgrades available for the 3,1 unless you have a 2.8 and want to go to 3.2GHz, I believe those are the only options, 2.8, 3.0 and 3.2GHz, there are no other CPU's that will work with the logic board.

http://forums.macrumors.com/archive/...t-1409111.html
__________________
Iphone 6 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
2013 iMac 27" 16GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, Nvidia 780M, 2xDell 23" monitors, 4x3TB Thunderbay IV enclosure.
MacBook Air 13" mid 2014, 128GB, 4GB RAM.
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 02:37 AM   #10
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
OP, you're looking for this:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...9&postcount=92

IDK why would you want to use anything below 5462, though
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 5,1 - E5620 to W5590 CPUs flowrider Mac Pro 9 Sep 26, 2014 11:57 AM
LGA 771 to LGA 755 on a Late-2009 iMac (21.5") Kek iMac 1 Mar 2, 2014 04:15 PM
Mac Pro 09 8x2.26GHz 5870 to GTX680/7950 worth it with stock CPUs? Mattww Mac Pro 10 Nov 18, 2013 03:04 PM
So what are the benchmarks of the cpus in the mac pro vs the imacs i5 and i7 haswell? Zellio Mac Pro 3 Oct 22, 2013 09:48 PM
Mac Pro 1,1 Update CPUs. mwhities Mac Pro 8 May 24, 2013 12:39 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC