Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 1, 2012, 04:16 AM   #1
Washac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Need Help to EFI Flash a Radeon HD 6870

Just in case I decide to EFI flash my new video card can anybody point me in the direction of a guide for complete noobs, I have a rough idea of what is required ?

I have Cindoris Zeus app.
The card to flash would be a - XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Last edited by Washac; Nov 1, 2012 at 03:42 PM.
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 04:21 AM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Maybe also post the model of your card, in order for others to help you.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2012, 04:50 AM   #3
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
Maybe also post the model of your card, in order for others to help you.
Card details added, sorry about that.
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:14 AM   #4
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Very surprised nobody can help out with this so far
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:20 AM   #5
Concorde Rules
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Look on netkas' forums, the way I did it involved doing it using terminal, none of the apps worked for me.

Also you need to flash in windows, mainly because OS X flashes didn't work either. This was 6+ months ago tho, so things might have changed.
Concorde Rules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 10:08 AM   #6
darkcoupon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Netkas has an XFX 6870 EFI ROM here: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/to...7.html#msg6517

Download that and follow instructions here to create your new ROM: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/to...7.html#msg6487

Or download romcreator and have it do it for you: http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/to...8.html#msg6648

Flash with Zeus.
darkcoupon is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 11:39 AM   #7
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Thanks, I knew somebody would come up with the goods, I hope this is not too complicated.

So after installing the 6870 I can use Romecreator and then flash Zeus and jobs done, I assume that is correct ?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Last edited by Washac; Nov 8, 2012 at 11:45 AM.
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:20 PM   #8
darkcoupon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
Thanks, I knew somebody would come up with the goods, I hope this is not too complicated.

So after installing the 6870 I can use Romecreator and then flash Zeus and jobs done, I assume that is correct ?
Theoretically, yes. Also, once flashed, the XFX 6870 only shows the apple boot screen in the lower DVI port, I believe, so if you're only using one of the other ports it might not be worth it.
darkcoupon is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:01 PM   #9
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkcoupon View Post
Theoretically, yes. Also, once flashed, the XFX 6870 only shows the apple boot screen in the lower DVI port, I believe, so if you're only using one of the other ports it might not be worth it.
OK, thanks for that bit of information
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:05 PM   #10
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
i believe zeus is outdated and you should use freya instead... found at groths.org

but frankly... there is no reason to flash a 6870... if you go to grorths you will also find a fix for the few issues that remain with the 6870 (steam and dvd player fixes etc). All you will get is a boot screen... and who needs a boot screen really? In there very few instances i do need a boot screen... i throw my old card back in... which has yet to happen since upgrading.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:36 PM   #11
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
I think Zeus 2.3 was only one to flash SOME 6870s.

Flashing only helps cards used in 3,1 and later Mac Pros.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:42 PM   #12
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
I think Zeus 2.3 was only one to flash SOME 6870s.

Flashing only helps cards used in 3,1 and later Mac Pros.
you would most certainly know better than I.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 04:35 PM   #13
Washac
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacVidCards View Post
I think Zeus 2.3 was only one to flash SOME 6870s.

Flashing only helps cards used in 3,1 and later Mac Pros.
Helps in what way, my Mac Pro is a 2009 4,1
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 05:38 PM   #14
bax2003
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
Helps in what way, my Mac Pro is a 2009 4,1
Flashing 6870 with 64-bit EFI does not mean anything for 32-bit EFI machines like MP 2006/2007. MP 3.1+ (Early 2008) have 64-bit EFI and they colud read 64-bit EFI from Radeon.
__________________
Mac mini i7 2.3 Quad (Late 2012), MacBook Pro 13" R/2.6/8/256 (Mid 2014), iMac 20" (Early 2008)
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5 16GB, iPad mini Retina WiFi + Cell
bax2003 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 11:03 AM   #15
slughead
macrumors 68030
 
slughead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Here is what you're looking for. I flashed the same card a few months ago.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1323613
slughead is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: ATI Radeon HD 6870 Help Required. Washac Mac Pro 15 May 11, 2013 11:55 AM
ATI Radeon HD NI40 (6870) 92jlee Mac Pro 1 Dec 25, 2012 06:24 PM
Resolved: Mac Pro 1,1 Radeon 6870 Crossfire - IT WORKS (and well!) slughead Mac Pro 0 Oct 6, 2012 08:07 AM
2008 Mac Pro and Radeon 6870... violst Mac Pro 21 Sep 21, 2012 04:11 PM
Which Radeon 6870? FreakIndeed Mac Pro 14 Jun 29, 2012 05:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC