Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Geckotek

macrumors G3
Original poster
Jul 22, 2008
NYC
Ok, I'm new to the Mac world so please bear with my ignorance. I just got my 15" rMBP and plan to dual boot via Bootcamp between Windows 8 and OSX for the time being. For the short term (while I determine which OS I prefer working in) I will load Lightroom (and eventually Photoshop) in both OSes just to see how it works in both.

I've purchased a WD 2TB USB 3.0 drive. I plan to keep my photos and Lightroom catalogs on this drive and use it back and forth between the 2 OSes. It came formatted as NTFS. I understand OSX cannot write to NTFS. I was considering formatting it as exFAT, but I've just read that iPhoto only works with HFS+.

My question boils down to....do I care if iPhoto can't read the external drive? Does any of this matter? If I'm using LR, is there any need for iPhoto? Will I prefer iPhoto for lighter browsing of photos? If so, maybe I'll just keep a small batch of my favorite photos on the local SSD for that? Any thoughts or feedback is appreciated.

FYI, I have a 2TB NAS that I'll use for Time Machine backups and backing up the WD drive (until I run out of space and need to add another). I also have Crashplan for offsite backups.

Krevnik

macrumors 601
Sep 8, 2003
iPhoto isn't really meant to replace an app like Lightroom. Aperture is the real Lightroom competitor in that sense. The only thing you lose access to is grabbing stuff straight from Photo Stream if you have an iOS device. Which may not be something you care about. Plus iPhoto will not play all that nicely with whatever app you use in Windows.

I'd probably format the drive as exFAT for the time being. It's the best option for sharing the drive between OSes.

westonm

macrumors member
Jun 19, 2007
Drivers exist that allow OS X to read/write NTFS as well. Paragon, MacFuse, some other ones I can't recall...