Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 22, 2010, 05:39 PM   #1
Cindori
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
SLI for Mac Pro under windows

Anyone wanna give it a try?

http://xdevs.com/e107_plugins/conten...php?content.30
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 07:07 PM   #2
macest
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
2 x GTX 480 in SLI sounds mighty tempting
macest is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 07:18 PM   #3
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
oh god, now the children will come and paste their photoshopped "Fermi on Fire" pix in earnest again.

I may try this soon, but probably with 8800GTs.

My Windows install is currently set up for ATI cards (only place to enjoy the 5870 ) so I hate to switch it over to Nvidia. All that driver removing/reinstalling, could take hours...gotta love windows !!!
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 07:26 PM   #4
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
I thought SLI was hardware dependent and that's why Mac Pros couldn't have it, even at Windows level.

Quote:
Originally Posted by macest View Post
2 x GTX 480 in SLI sounds mighty tempting
No it doesn't. Sounds like a jet engine is running, feels like a giant heat furnance is pushing 2000W of dissipated heat and you can see the lights dimming through out the neighborhood.

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Rominator View Post
oh god, now the children will come and paste their photoshopped "Fermi on Fire" pix in earnest again.

I may try this soon, but probably with 8800GTs.

My Windows install is currently set up for ATI cards (only place to enjoy the 5870 ) so I hate to switch it over to Nvidia. All that driver removing/reinstalling, could take hours...gotta love windows !!!

I wasn't going to say it but you... well forced me to. New pics fresh of /g/.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1266686628501.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	244.7 KB
ID:	240677   Click image for larger version

Name:	1278297257310.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	516.6 KB
ID:	240678   Click image for larger version

Name:	1277146895156.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	481.5 KB
ID:	240679  

Click image for larger version

Name:	1262869154132.png
Views:	29
Size:	300.9 KB
ID:	240680   Click image for larger version

Name:	1278445311730.jpg
Views:	45
Size:	58.5 KB
ID:	240681  
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 07:52 PM   #5
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
....yawn.....

when does school start again in the fall?

The yellow buses are a nuisance but i'm looking forward to some quiet.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 07:56 PM   #6
Cindori
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
I thought SLI was hardware dependent and that's why Mac Pros couldn't have it, even at Windows level.
no its not, neither is xfire
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 10:08 PM   #7
Roman23
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Sli..

IS HARDWARE DEPENDENT.. Mac pro doesn't support it.. I stand firm on this one.. so, yes.. its not supported and never will be because Apple doesn't see the need for it on the mac pro.. want a gaming machine. go with a PC!


Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
I thought SLI was hardware dependent and that's why Mac Pros couldn't have it, even at Windows level.



No it doesn't. Sounds like a jet engine is running, feels like a giant heat furnance is pushing 2000W of dissipated heat and you can see the lights dimming through out the neighborhood.




I wasn't going to say it but you... well forced me to. New pics fresh of /g/.
Roman23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 10:11 PM   #8
Roman23
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Absolutely no mention of mac in that article..

Again, pure PC.. no mac at all and I would be hard pressed to get no answer from them as they are using PC's to get SLI working.. the mac pro simply doesn't have the imbedded hardware to make use of this.. Windows will only support crossfire with unlocked pc flashed cards.. Apple's OEM cards like the Radeon 4870 HD have crossfire disabled and I take it with the 285 its the same thing..

Apple doesn't want us to have this.. Windows, does allow this as you already know.. See? I used the multi-quote this time.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
I thought SLI was hardware dependent and that's why Mac Pros couldn't have it, even at Windows level.



No it doesn't. Sounds like a jet engine is running, feels like a giant heat furnance is pushing 2000W of dissipated heat and you can see the lights dimming through out the neighborhood.




I wasn't going to say it but you... well forced me to. New pics fresh of /g/.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
Roman23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 11:15 PM   #9
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Rominator View Post
....yawn.....

when does school start again in the fall?

The yellow buses are a nuisance but i'm looking forward to some quiet.
Yeah, fall, but guess, what I'll still be here.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 11:30 PM   #10
Roman23
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
do you goto school?

You do sound kind of young though.. I was wondering..


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Rominator View Post
....yawn.....

when does school start again in the fall?

The yellow buses are a nuisance but i'm looking forward to some quiet.
Roman23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 12:36 AM   #11
Mackilroy
macrumors 68040
 
Mackilroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Send a message via AIM to Mackilroy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roman23 View Post
You do sound kind of young though.. I was wondering..
Rominator is an adult male.

I wouldn't mind trying SLI, but I don't use my Mac Pro anymore.
__________________
Can a mortal ask questions which God finds unanswerable? Quite easily, I should think. All nonsense questions are unanswerable.
Mackilroy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 12:45 AM   #12
MacVidCards
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hollywood, CA
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mackilroy View Post
Rominator is an adult male.
Curious how you know that.

I may very well be some young punk.

I never explained my Avatar.
MacVidCards is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 03:51 AM   #13
Velin
macrumors 65816
 
Velin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hearst Castle
Gonna throw my two cents in:

SLI sucked on PCs. Problems galore with SLI machines. Heat and power consumption problems were ridiculous with SLI rigs. Don't get me started on the clipping and interleaving issues that plagued SLI rigs trying to run pro apps and games, since the two cards couldn't properly sync (this happened a LOT).

We had to return so many SLI rigs due to failure. We swore off SLI in our offices, and instead upgraded single video cards to the latest release when necessary. (Didn't help when Nvidia released those garbage 76XX+ through the 79XX model series video cards that failed at an unbelievably hight rate a few years back, but there was no good alternative because ATI was sucking bad too.)

Then we got smart, ditched Vista, and moved to Macs. Never looked back.
Velin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 04:36 AM   #14
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roman23 View Post
IS HARDWARE DEPENDENT.. Mac pro doesn't support it.. I stand firm on this one.. so, yes.. its not supported and never will be because Apple doesn't see the need for it on the mac pro.. want a gaming machine. go with a PC!
How do you know? Have you tried this? SLI is not hardware dependent but NVIDIA limited the software for only their chipsets. Now it looks like that it can be hacked to work in any motherboard. OS X does not support this but Windows does and thus we need someone to be our guinea pig to test this. I wouldn't be surprised if it worked as Mac Pro is just a computer among others.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 06:14 AM   #15
Cindori
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
SLI is most certainly not hardware dependant as it was done back in 2006 with two Nvidia 7600's in Mac Pro under windows.

As the link states this could enable SLI for any motherboard, even AMD boards.

I did not mean for anyone to go this route of performance perspective, more like showing that it could be done
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 10:05 AM   #16
Pressure
macrumors 68040
 
Pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
SLI is most certainly not hardware dependant as it was done back in 2006 with two Nvidia 7600's in Mac Pro under windows.

As the link states this could enable SLI for any motherboard, even AMD boards.

I did not mean for anyone to go this route of performance perspective, more like showing that it could be done
Good luck cracking the authentication process in the drivers to enable SLI in Windows on a Mac Pro.
__________________
Never Argue With An idiot. They'll Lower You To Their Level And Then Beat You With Experience!
Pressure is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 01:11 PM   #17
cooljoe349
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas
Send a message via AIM to cooljoe349
Quote:
Originally Posted by jav6454 View Post
I thought SLI was hardware dependent and that's why Mac Pros couldn't have it, even at Windows level.



No it doesn't. Sounds like a jet engine is running, feels like a giant heat furnance is pushing 2000W of dissipated heat and you can see the lights dimming through out the neighborhood.




I wasn't going to say it but you... well forced me to. New pics fresh of /g/.
I gotta admit the graphics card taking off like a rocket ship made me lol.
__________________
iPod 4GB, 32GB iPhone 4, 32 GB iPhone 5
15" Retina MacBook Pro, 2.5 i5 Mac Mini.
cooljoe349 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 01:13 PM   #18
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pressure View Post
Good luck cracking the authentication process in the drivers to enable SLI in Windows on a Mac Pro.
Don't forget the firmware is EFI, using BIOS emulation in order to boot Windows or Linux. This will add a further level of difficulty in cracking SLI authentication on the MP.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 01:22 PM   #19
EGOvoruhk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pressure View Post
Good luck cracking the authentication process in the drivers to enable SLI in Windows on a Mac Pro.
http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=60844
EGOvoruhk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 05:16 PM   #20
Roman23
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Not windows.. I am sure it can be hacked in windows.. but the mac pro doesn't support the imbedded hardware to do this.. but you all think it will work.. I am game on it as I am a gamer myself..

So, how would I enable SLI should I decide to get the 285 or pc flashed 460 nvidia?

Also, I am not spending any money on extra power supplies or what not.. just want it plug and play.


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Rominator View Post
....yawn.....

when does school start again in the fall?

The yellow buses are a nuisance but i'm looking forward to some quiet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
How do you know? Have you tried this? SLI is not hardware dependent but NVIDIA limited the software for only their chipsets. Now it looks like that it can be hacked to work in any motherboard. OS X does not support this but Windows does and thus we need someone to be our guinea pig to test this. I wouldn't be surprised if it worked as Mac Pro is just a computer among others.
SLI for all intent and purposes is useless on a mac pro as the bios or EFI doesn't support it.. and probably never will.. as for the 2006 mac pro? I am shocked that the same procedure can't be duplicated on the 2009.


Quote:
Originally Posted by nanofrog View Post
Don't forget the firmware is EFI, using BIOS emulation in order to boot Windows or Linux. This will add a further level of difficulty in cracking SLI authentication on the MP.

Last edited by kainjow; Jul 23, 2010 at 07:47 PM. Reason: merged posts
Roman23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2010, 05:19 PM   #21
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roman23 View Post
Not windows.. I am sure it can be hacked in windows.. but the mac pro doesn't support the imbedded hardware to do this.. but you all think it will work.. I am game on it as I am a gamer myself..

So, how would I enable SLI should I decide to get the 285 or pc flashed 460 nvidia?

Also, I am not spending any money on extra power supplies or what not.. just want it plug and play.
You would need two of those cards. Read the article in the first post. You're better off with dual ATIs because CrossFire requires no hacking and is proven to work in Mac Pro
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 08:39 AM   #22
Cindori
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
Cindori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sweden
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pressure View Post
Good luck cracking the authentication process in the drivers to enable SLI in Windows on a Mac Pro.

it's already been done, read first post...
__________________
Cindori .org - unique Mac software!
New release: Control Center for Mac!
Home of Trim Enabler, Zeus Flashing Tool and Kext Drop!
Cindori is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 10:15 AM   #23
Roman23
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
It hasn't BEEN DONE on a 2009

I think this discussion is not worth it.. nano says it won't.. and many websites say it won't.. so I am going to believe those over anyone else.. sorry, but SLI won't work.

Plus, that is a PURE PC WEBSITE you listed.. and they HATE macs... so, until a true mac website shows it working, at this point it doesn't work.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cindori View Post
it's already been done, read first post...

Last edited by Roman23; Jul 24, 2010 at 10:17 AM. Reason: Add more info
Roman23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 10:56 AM   #24
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roman23 View Post
I think this discussion is not worth it.. nano says it won't.. and many websites say it won't.. so I am going to believe those over anyone else.. sorry, but SLI won't work.

Plus, that is a PURE PC WEBSITE you listed.. and they HATE macs... so, until a true mac website shows it working, at this point it doesn't work.
Nano didn't say it won't work and he doesn't know everything. He just said the EFI might be a problem. Until someone actually tries it, we don't know. Macs aren't that different from PCs, they share the same hardware. it won't work under OS X, that we know but it may work under Windows. Lets just wait for some facts before killing the idea
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 12:59 PM   #25
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellhammer View Post
Nano didn't say it won't work and he doesn't know everything. He just said the EFI might be a problem. Until someone actually tries it, we don't know. Macs aren't that different from PCs, they share the same hardware. it won't work under OS X, that we know but it may work under Windows. Lets just wait for some facts before killing the idea
Exactly. BIOS and Windows have lots of resources available to assist such hacking. MP's, and particularly EFI firmware, have fewer resources (far fewer for EFI compared to BIOS).

But if someone with the necessary skills puts in the time, it may actually happen for an MP under Windows or even Linux.

I just wouldn't bet on it is all...
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Late 2013 Mac Pro or Titan Black SLI 4930k Hackintosh? Onmybikedrunk Mac Pro 20 May 2, 2014 12:02 PM
Crossfire / sli setup with 2 radeon 7970 cards to mac pro Jani81 Mac Pro 1 Sep 22, 2013 08:14 AM
SLI GTX660 in a Mac Pro Review tB0nE Mac Pro 2 Feb 16, 2013 10:38 AM
GTX 460 SLI in Mac OS X? Or only in Bootcamp Windows ORTOX Mac Pro 7 Jun 20, 2012 08:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC