Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 3, 2012, 07:12 AM   #1
patent10021
macrumors 68000
 
patent10021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Give Japanese iP4 to friend in Canada with iP3GS (Still have iP4 Gevey SIM)

Since I'm getting an iP5 I thought I'd give my iPhone 4 to a friend who is still rockin' the iP3GS. Problem is my iP4 is Japanese and they're in Canada.

I still have the Gevey SIM for my iP4. Actually never used it. Might turn out to be quite useful for my friend.

The iP4 uses the Micro SIM and not the new Nano SIM right? My friend's iP3GS is also using the Micro SIM on Fido right? So this should be a done deal? Is the iP3GS using CDMA or GSM on Fido?

#2) If this all works out what about the Hot Spot tethering option in the settings? It was removed by SoftBank here in Japan. I had to JB it to get that setting back. I have since restored to factory iOS5 settings though.
If my friend updates to iOS6 via iTunes Canada will the tethering come back as a factory setting?
__________________
I love the smell of 1080p in the morning.
patent10021 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 07:27 AM   #2
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by patent10021 View Post
Since I'm getting an iP5 I thought I'd give my iPhone 4 to a friend who is still rockin' the iP3GS. Problem is my iP4 is Japanese and they're in Canada.

I still have the Gevey SIM for my iP4. Actually never used it. Might turn out to be quite useful for my friend.

The iP4 uses the Micro SIM and not the new Nano SIM right? My friend's iP3GS is also using the Micro SIM on Fido right? So this should be a done deal? Is the iP3GS using CDMA or GSM on Fido?

#2) If this all works out what about the Hot Spot tethering option in the settings? It was removed by SoftBank here in Japan. I had to JB it to get that setting back. I have since restored to factory iOS5 settings though.
If my friend updates to iOS6 via iTunes Canada will the tethering come back as a factory setting?
iPhone 3gs only supports GSM.
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 07:32 AM   #3
Beeplance
macrumors 65816
 
Beeplance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by patent10021 View Post
Since I'm getting an iP5 I thought I'd give my iPhone 4 to a friend who is still rockin' the iP3GS. Problem is my iP4 is Japanese and they're in Canada.

I still have the Gevey SIM for my iP4. Actually never used it. Might turn out to be quite useful for my friend.

The iP4 uses the Micro SIM and not the new Nano SIM right? My friend's iP3GS is also using the Micro SIM on Fido right? So this should be a done deal? Is the iP3GS using CDMA or GSM on Fido?

#2) If this all works out what about the Hot Spot tethering option in the settings? It was removed by SoftBank here in Japan. I had to JB it to get that setting back. I have since restored to factory iOS5 settings though.
If my friend updates to iOS6 via iTunes Canada will the tethering come back as a factory setting?
*Ahem* the 3GS uses a normal SIM. Only the iPhone 4 uses a micro SIM.
Beeplance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 09:13 AM   #4
patent10021
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
patent10021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beeplance View Post
*Ahem* the 3GS uses a normal SIM. Only the iPhone 4 uses a micro SIM.
So now way to do this? Can my friend at least buy a micro SIM separately?
__________________
I love the smell of 1080p in the morning.
patent10021 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 10:08 AM   #5
Beeplance
macrumors 65816
 
Beeplance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by patent10021 View Post
So now way to do this? Can my friend at least buy a micro SIM separately?
Like what tymaster50 said, the 3GS only supports GSM networks, so I do not know if it'll work on Canadian ones, you'll have to check with them.

If it does, take your friends normal SIM card & cut it to micro-SIM size. There are plenty of tutorials online that teaches you how to do this, & it's easier than going to the telco to exchange for a micro-SIM.
Beeplance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 05:47 AM   #6
patent10021
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
patent10021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beeplance View Post
Like what tymaster50 said, the 3GS only supports GSM networks, so I do not know if it'll work on Canadian ones, you'll have to check with them.

If it does, take your friends normal SIM card & cut it to micro-SIM size. There are plenty of tutorials online that teaches you how to do this, & it's easier than going to the telco to exchange for a micro-SIM.
What do you mean? If my friend is using the 3GS then that means she's on a GSM network. iPhones support GSM. I've used my Japanese iPhone 4 on the Canadian GSM network. So there's no reason why this shouldn't work if my friend cuts the SIM to size right?
__________________
I love the smell of 1080p in the morning.
patent10021 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 06:10 AM   #7
Beeplance
macrumors 65816
 
Beeplance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by patent10021 View Post
What do you mean? If my friend is using the 3GS then that means she's on a GSM network. iPhones support GSM. I've used my Japanese iPhone 4 on the Canadian GSM network. So there's no reason why this shouldn't work if my friend cuts the SIM to size right?
Oh sorry, I got mixed up who was in Japan & who was in Canada. So in that case, yes, it will work. Just cut the SIM & it should be fine.
Beeplance is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 09:21 AM   #8
SnowDX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: The Great White North
I'm not with Rogers but with Telus in Canada you can buy a sim for $10 and swap to that sim online in your account. I'd hope Rogers would just sell your friend a micro-sim.
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB White iPad 64GB, WiFi + 3G
SnowDX is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC