Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 4, 2012, 11:42 AM   #1
blanket86
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Is a MBA enough to power the TBD?

Hi all.

Now that the 13" RMPB is announced I am doubting about a new macbook. I find the 13RMP to expensive and not relevant for what I want

The 13" white macbook 2.1 core2duo, 4 gb ram I have now is showing its age. Since I have got a Apple laptop (my current one is my first one) never used a external display

The MPB 13" has got a 2.9 Ghz cpu while the 13" MBA has got a 2.0 cpu. ( as it max) So gpu is on paper about 1/3 faster.

I want to buy a new macbook now ant within the year the display/
I will upgrade the RAM to 8 GB no matter what model I buy. So the laptop for on the road, the TBD for at home

I wil use the laptop for Aperture, internet and word.

So my questions

1. Does the cpu matter when connecting it to the Apple thunderbolt display?
2. When choosing the MBA am I going to notice a speed bump in aperture or is it then smarter to go for the MBP 13" compared to my current macbook?
3. For the TBD is the Air enough in combination with my other uses and powering it?

Thanks
blanket86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 11:43 AM   #2
MacDawg
macrumors P6
 
MacDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: "Between the Hedges"
I use a 2011 MBA with a Thunderbolt with no issues whatsoever
MacDawg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 05:24 PM   #3
pgiguere1
macrumors 68000
 
pgiguere1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by blanket86 View Post
Hi all.

Now that the 13" RMPB is announced I am doubting about a new macbook. I find the 13RMP to expensive and not relevant for what I want

The 13" white macbook 2.1 core2duo, 4 gb ram I have now is showing its age. Since I have got a Apple laptop (my current one is my first one) never used a external display

The MPB 13" has got a 2.9 Ghz cpu while the 13" MBA has got a 2.0 cpu. ( as it max) So gpu is on paper about 1/3 faster.

I want to buy a new macbook now ant within the year the display/
I will upgrade the RAM to 8 GB no matter what model I buy. So the laptop for on the road, the TBD for at home

I wil use the laptop for Aperture, internet and word.

So my questions

1. Does the cpu matter when connecting it to the Apple thunderbolt display?
2. When choosing the MBA am I going to notice a speed bump in aperture or is it then smarter to go for the MBP 13" compared to my current macbook?
3. For the TBD is the Air enough in combination with my other uses and powering it?

Thanks
1. Yes, CPU load will be slightly higher with a higher resolution since you will have to fill a bigger frame buffer and a lot of animations and effects in OS X are CPU driven. Some stuff is starting to get GPU accelerated using Core Animation for stuff like scrolling in Safari but most stuff is still mainly CPU-dependant. However, even if the TBD's resolution is quite high it isn't as hard do drive a rMBP screen since it doesn't need to use the HiDPI scaling algorithm which seems to be poorly optimized and cause problems.

2. Both will be considerably more powerful than your current MacBook. You will notice a speed difference for sure. As for MBA vs MBP 13", difference is negligible though. The clock frequency is higher on the MBP but if you go for a MBA with i7, it will have a higher TurboBoost clock and more L3 cache than an i5 in a 13" MBP. Geekbench results for an i7 MBA are actually better than for an i5 13" MBP. Go for the one you think has the best form factor/screen/price, but performance shouldn't be a deciding factor IMO since they're almost identical.

3. Yes, just don't expect to game at native resolution.

Oh and one more tip: If you buy a Mac and TDB at the same time, you can buy a single AppleCare and it will cover both.

Last edited by pgiguere1; Nov 4, 2012 at 05:29 PM.
pgiguere1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 10:05 PM   #4
A Hebrew
macrumors 6502a
 
A Hebrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Minnesota
You might get a few OS hiccups with HD 4000 when running a few graphic intensive programs at that high of a resolution, it will not be very noticeable though.
A Hebrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 03:59 AM   #5
blanket86
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I am not planning to do any gaming. I have got a gaming console for that.

is it worth the extra money to get the I7 CPU instead of the I5 CPU for the TBD?
blanket86 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 10:43 AM   #6
jmoore5196
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
I've had both a 2011 i5 and a 2012 i7 connected to my TBD. The i7 does seem to make a small difference ... the machine is snappier, response time is probably a tiny bit faster. IMO, the i7 is worth the extra $$$.
jmoore5196 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 11:18 AM   #7
TheRealDamager
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I use a TBD with a 2011 Air (which has a poorer integrated graphics chip than the 2012 models) and its works just fine with the TBD.
TheRealDamager is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2013 MBA+ Apple TBD - Add second monitor oester MacBook Air 10 Jul 30, 2013 04:57 PM
Does your 11" MBA heat up when closed and connected to you a TBD? DisplacedMic MacBook Air 3 Mar 16, 2013 02:07 PM
MBA 2012 Performance using Adobe CS and TBD Jacobi MacBook Air 11 Aug 8, 2012 01:11 PM
Advice needed : TBD to use with MBA 11 or 13? walterr Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 21, 2012 07:29 AM
Best Mouse to pair with MBA & TBD? onthecouchagain Mac Peripherals 2 Jun 19, 2012 07:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC