Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 4, 2012, 01:45 PM   #1
c073186
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
How much surge protection do I really need?

I'm thinking of upgrading my TV to a new, Samsung 46-inch LED TV and am wondering how big of a deal surge protection is. Right now I have a fairly standard surge protector (APC brand), nothing fancy but it's more than just a power strip. But do I really need to spend $100-200 on one of those Monster (or similar) surge protectors?

Secondly, I am going to be buying this at Best Buy and probably will buy their extended warranty, which I believe covers power surges... so in that case, should I just use what I currently have since its covered under warranty?

The full set up would include something like this:
- 46 inch LED TV
- Sound bar
- Blu ray player
- DVR
- Might also have various other items such as Time Capsule, printer, radio, etc.
c073186 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 02:30 PM   #2
Rodimus Prime
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Screw Monster they are just over price crapped. Anything that offers a warrenty is generally good.

Btw lighting pretty much will go right threw any surge protector you can buy but that what their warranty is for (like 20k for many).

Personally I would get a APC with a battery back up. We are not talking a very big one. Really you only need enough back up power to last threw a power blip. Nothing is more annoying that having everything turn off on you in the middle of a TV show or a game as a major point. It is not the power blip that sucks but waiting for everything to boot back up which can take a few minutes plus if you are gaming you lose all the work you did since your last save.
Rodimus Prime is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 05:28 PM   #3
tech4all
macrumors 68040
 
tech4all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: NorCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodimus Prime View Post
Screw Monster they are just over price crapped.
Funny saying this on a forum that loves the iPad mini...
__________________
I use OS X because of Windows. And I use Android because of iOS.
tech4all is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 05:35 PM   #4
*Batman*
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Gotham City
You should check the total wattage you plan to use on the surge protector and buy a quality one that meets those needs. You can do better then Monster Cable in price with other brands such as APC. Monster is good, but they are pricey.
__________________
I wear a mask. And that mask, it's not to hide who I am, but to create what I am.
*Batman* is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 05:46 PM   #5
Poonz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Tecumseh, ON, CA
I have a monster that came with one tv and nothing on the other. Never had a problem with either.
__________________
2011 11" MacBook Air 1.7 Ghz 4 GB RAM
16 GB iPhone 5, 64 GB iPad, Airport Extreme, Apple TV 3
Poonz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 08:32 PM   #6
c073186
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by *Batman* View Post
You should check the total wattage you plan to use on the surge protector and buy a quality one that meets those needs. You can do better then Monster Cable in price with other brands such as APC. Monster is good, but they are pricey.
This might be a stupid question but how do I find out much wattage or other rating I would need based on what I am plugging into it?

Also, I know most surges say not to plug in another power strip into a surge ... is that really important to not do? Most surge protectors are 8 outlets and I have more than that, so in the past, for my cheaper devices I have a separate, less protective power strip that goes into the surge protector to give me more outlets. Is that a potential problem?
c073186 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 10:29 AM   #7
Tomorrow
macrumors 603
 
Tomorrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Always a day away
I've been watching TV for four decades and I've never used a surge protector on one. I've also never had a TV (or anything else, for that matter) damaged from a power surge.

So, do you "need" one? It's up to you, of course, but in my opinion you don't.
__________________
I would scream just to be heard, as if yelling at the stars - I was bleeding just to feel.
You would never say a word, kept me reaching in the dark - always something to conceal.
Tomorrow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 10:48 AM   #8
wgnoyes
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
APC has a line of surge protectors specifically for AV now. http://www.apc.com/products/apcav/index.cfm

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomorrow View Post
I've been watching TV for four decades and I've never used a surge protector on one. I've also never had a TV (or anything else, for that matter) damaged from a power surge.

So, do you "need" one? It's up to you, of course, but in my opinion you don't.
You've been lucky! I've had one fried before, and it was an old CRT TV. Just not worth taking the chance.
wgnoyes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2012, 06:12 PM   #9
lewis82
macrumors 68000
 
lewis82's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Totalitarian Republic of Northlandia
I have previously gone trough the same ordeal and here's the advice I found while searching:

The surge protector will be useless in case of any major power surge (I.E., thunderbolt hits the house), and your electronics will unevitably fry (altough that isn't true of smaller surges). What you really want is a power bar that offers a warranty greater than or equal to the price of all the equipment you plug on it. This way, if anything breaks, you get a free one.

In the end I settled for a 3600J model of something like that, with a $25K warranty IIRC.
__________________
Master Procrastinator. If you see me posting, I should be doing homework.
Downvoting is for sissies.
lewis82 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 04:19 PM   #10
MikeFromTexas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I use Brick Wall.

www. brickwall.com

Very expensive, but in my experience of using these for over 10 years now, will totally protect your equipment. My computers and audio/video gear (and the surge equipment itself!) survived a direct lightning strike on my house. The lightning blew off the brick chimney, fried the refigerators, etc. But all the equipment protected by the brick wall stuff, was unaffected.

Just my $.02 worth.
MikeFromTexas is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2012, 09:25 AM   #11
3lite
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
IMO better safe than sorry, but it also depends on the brand. Samsung is top quality so you may not need one but say a Vizio or something similar than definitely.
3lite is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 04:59 PM   #12
Scepticalscribe
macrumors 603
 
Scepticalscribe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kite flying
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeFromTexas View Post
I use Brick Wall.

www. brickwall.com

Very expensive, but in my experience of using these for over 10 years now, will totally protect your equipment. My computers and audio/video gear (and the surge equipment itself!) survived a direct lightning strike on my house. The lightning blew off the brick chimney, fried the refigerators, etc. But all the equipment protected by the brick wall stuff, was unaffected.

Just my $.02 worth.
Great post. And what a terrific image......a lightning strike directly hitting your house yet all of the protected electronic equipment remain.....protected. Simply wonderful.
Scepticalscribe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:17 PM   #13
*Batman*
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Gotham City
Quote:
Originally Posted by c073186 View Post
This might be a stupid question but how do I find out much wattage or other rating I would need based on what I am plugging into it?

Also, I know most surges say not to plug in another power strip into a surge ... is that really important to not do? Most surge protectors are 8 outlets and I have more than that, so in the past, for my cheaper devices I have a separate, less protective power strip that goes into the surge protector to give me more outlets. Is that a potential problem?
Most electronics will have the wattage consumed printed on the box or in the manual and most times on the website of the manufacturer for said product. Look up all the specs on what you want to plug into the surge protector and then add the wattage up and seek out the appropriate surge protector.

Plugging in power strips to power strips or surge protectors is generally not good practice.
__________________
I wear a mask. And that mask, it's not to hide who I am, but to create what I am.
*Batman* is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Surge and under-voltage protection iMacLeaner iMac 6 Jan 10, 2014 08:01 AM
Surge protectors kenglade iMac 23 Nov 25, 2013 10:52 PM
Surge protectors. aPple nErd iMac 45 Jun 12, 2013 12:54 PM
Yet another surge by the US military. Happybunny Politics, Religion, Social Issues 116 Feb 12, 2013 08:02 AM
Surge protection power strips/UPS purchasing for Mac Pro macstatic Mac Pro 2 Jan 3, 2013 06:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC