Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 4, 2012, 08:09 PM   #1
nec207
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Question Why does the MacBook pro have better CPU and ports than iMac?

The MacBook pro has much better CPU i7 quad-core and better ports like HDMI , firewire ,Thunderbolt , Audio in , Audio line out.

It even has better GPU !!
nec207 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 08:14 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
I think you got your MacBook Pros confused.
The MacBook Pros use a mobile i7, the iMac uses a desktop i7, the desktop i7 is faster.
The classic MBP does not have an HDMI interface, the MacBook Pro with Retina Display does have HDMI.
The MacBook Pro with Retina Display does not have Firewire nor does it have Audio In. The classic MBP has those two.
Firewire is looked upon as dying port by Apple, it will disappear once the classic MBPs get discontinued in one or three years.

Why the Mac mini has those ports though is another matter and for audio recording there are much better external DACs out there than the one Apple offers inside their Macs, even at reasonable prices.

And only the base iMac has worse GPU than the MBPs, the higher iMac versions have the same and better GPUs.
simsaladimbamba is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 08:36 PM   #3
nec207
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Why does Apple not stream line it ? But make it so confusing?

Why do this its like oh that put this in or take this out.
nec207 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 08:40 PM   #4
A Hebrew
macrumors 6502a
 
A Hebrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Minnesota
Quote:
Originally Posted by nec207 View Post
Why does Apple not stream line it ? But make it so confusing?

Why do this its like oh that put this in or take this out.
Money: meet pocket.
A Hebrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2012, 10:36 PM   #5
LachlanH
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nec207 View Post
Why does Apple not stream line it ? But make it so confusing?

Why do this its like oh that put this in or take this out.

What in the hell are you even talking about?
LachlanH is offline   6 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 12:43 AM   #6
12dylan34
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
The top GPU in the old iMacs is even slightly better than the best the MacBook Pro has to offer...

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by nec207 View Post
Why does Apple not stream line it ? But make it so confusing?

Why do this its like oh that put this in or take this out.
It's not confusing if you look at it from the point of a normal buyer. It either has what you need or it doesn't. There's no use in trying to understand Apple's reasoning.
12dylan34 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 03:31 AM   #7
blanka
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by simsaladimbamba View Post
I think you got your MacBook Pros confused.
The MacBook Pros use a mobile i7, the iMac uses a desktop i7, the desktop i7 is faster.
All on-the-shelf iMacs are i5 based, and in that case the MBP is faster. Even the Mini is faster today. iMac stinks.
blanka is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2012, 03:59 AM   #8
LachlanH
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by blanka View Post
All on-the-shelf iMacs are i5 based, and in that case the MBP is faster. Even the Mini is faster today. iMac stinks.

Wrong.

All of those i5's are DESKTOP class i5's.
All Macbook pro's and Mac Mini's have MOBILE class CPU's.

A quad core i7 as found in the 15" rMBP is about on par, to slightly better, than the BASE 21.5" iMac.

Stop spouting nonsense.
LachlanH is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro USB Ports not working A4Silicon MacBook Pro 0 Sep 30, 2013 08:47 PM
Macbook pro 15" 2x Sata3 ports? shakakaw MacBook Pro 10 Apr 13, 2013 07:39 AM
Chrome is spiking 100% CPU on both iMac and Macbook Pro... annoying! Lit Up* Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Apr 12, 2013 01:32 PM
MacBook Pro CPU fan running no reason (hot), MassStorageCamera using all CPU Pollsy123 Mac Basics and Help 0 Feb 14, 2013 10:07 PM
Macbook Pro With 3 USB ports. kiantech MacBook Pro 7 Dec 1, 2012 11:49 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC