Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old May 27, 2014, 06:10 AM   #1
Acorn
macrumors 68020
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fangorn Forest
Rift running ok in Parallels

Not sure if anyone else has tried but my imac with 675mx ran Rift ok in parallels. I leveled up a character to level 10 or so. The gameplay was smooth enough with no lag.

The only issue I had was right mouse is used to look around and right mouse click is used to loot and some other actions. basically it has 2 things for the right mouse button which makes things very frustrating. Half the time I try and loot the camera is locking and unlocking. The behavior of the entire right mouse action is really bizarre and frustrating. I experienced one event so far and it was pretty cool. I still need to read up on the game because its a little complex with the soul trees but it has been guiding me along ok.

Chances are I will not continue though unless I can get the mouse actions squared away.

Again just a heads up that its playable to some in parallels without a need to reboot.
__________________
o/
Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 27, 2014, 01:37 PM   #2
Washac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
OK, just had a go at Rift in Parallels and I have sussed your problem.

To loot put mouse pointer over what you want to loot and do a quick click, do not linger on the click otherwise it goes into that movement option.

Must admit it does run nice under Parallels
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8

Last edited by Washac; May 27, 2014 at 01:42 PM.
Washac is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2014, 10:34 PM   #3
Acorn
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fangorn Forest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
OK, just had a go at Rift in Parallels and I have sussed your problem.

To loot put mouse pointer over what you want to loot and do a quick click, do not linger on the click otherwise it goes into that movement option.

Must admit it does run nice under Parallels
yes I read that on the tutorial. Im not sure if its my mouse or what but rapid clicks dont always register for me.
__________________
o/
Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2014, 06:48 AM   #4
Washac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
yes I read that on the tutorial. Im not sure if its my mouse or what but rapid clicks dont always register for me.
It is not so much a rapid click, it just click and let go, if this is not working then I would say it is your mouse, which is what make and model by the way ?
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2014, 07:04 PM   #5
Acorn
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
Acorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Fangorn Forest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Washac View Post
It is not so much a rapid click, it just click and let go, if this is not working then I would say it is your mouse, which is what make and model by the way ?
My mouse? Its a logitech m325 notebook mouse. Just a cheap 13 dollar mouse. I like it because its small.
__________________
o/
Acorn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2014, 03:41 AM   #6
Washac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acorn View Post
My mouse? Its a logitech m325 notebook mouse. Just a cheap 13 dollar mouse. I like it because its small.
Hmm, maybe not the best mouse for gaming, I have two Razer Deathadder respawns and I have used them for over two years with no problems. They work right out of the box, you do not need to install the software unless you want to use the extra buttons. If you buy this mouse make sure you get the Respawn version, otherwise you will get the Deathadder that uses the Synapse software which for me was a complete nightmare and very hard to remove from your machine. Also the Deathadder none respawn version would not even work on my Mac nor under Windows.

This is the one if you are interested, sorry it is a US link, do not know where you are, I just picked the first link I found.

http://www.amazon.com/Razer-Deathadd.../dp/B002RL9A2O
__________________
Mac Pro 2.66 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon 6 GB RAM 24inch ACD Mavericks 10.9.5/XFX Radeon HD 6870, HD-687A-ZDFC-20inch Alu iMac Snow Leopard 10.6.8
Washac is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: iFaith running in Parallels dan92w Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Nov 1, 2013 09:40 AM
Running 2 Windows OS' with Parallels 8 iAll OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Mar 29, 2013 09:50 AM
Running W7 on MBA with Parallels Birone MacBook Air 6 Aug 18, 2012 09:11 PM
Running Parallels cmcintos Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 5 Aug 4, 2012 09:36 AM
Running Parallels on 13 MBA millertim3 MacBook Air 6 Jun 17, 2012 09:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC