Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 7, 2012, 03:10 AM   #1
kocaelisporlu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Weird chessboard like screen problem on mac pro



Hi. Until now I've changed the rams and format ios but nothing changed so far.
Is there anyone faces with this problem before?

Thanks
kocaelisporlu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 03:55 AM   #2
roxxette
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Restart, if all fails screen got owned.
roxxette is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 04:03 AM   #3
kocaelisporlu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Here I guess you want a new screenshot.



----------

Changing the monitor doesn't effect anything.
kocaelisporlu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 04:09 AM   #4
roxxette
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
OS got owned.
roxxette is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 06:48 AM   #5
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
What mac Pro, what graphics card and version of OSX are you using? Are you still under AppleCare?

It could be the graphics card ram or it could be something that would be resolved by an OSX reinstall.

I assume you have performed an SMC and NVRAM reset? Try that before anything else.

SMC reset from Apple : http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3964?v...S&locale=en_US

NVRAM reset from Apple : http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1379

Try that before taking anything out of the machine.
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 06:48 AM   #6
netkas
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
video memory fails

and chess-like screen because of video memory tiling.
netkas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 09:05 AM   #7
kocaelisporlu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
mac pro 3.1 xeon processor

We've tried both graphic card (ati 5870 graphic card and ati 2600xt) But we got same problem as always.

And near time we did change the ram kit also.

----------

I'm thinking it could be the motherboard the guilty. because this is the second time we are changing the ram kit and third time changing the graphic card.
kocaelisporlu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 09:09 AM   #8
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Have already tried reinstalling the system?
If you hold CMD and R while booting, you should get into the recovery partition. Are you seeing the problem there as well?
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2012, 09:35 AM   #9
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by kocaelisporlu View Post
I'm thinking it could be the motherboard the guilty. because this is the second time we are changing the ram kit and third time changing the graphic card.
If so, try another PCIe slot.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 06:27 AM   #10
kocaelisporlu
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Yes. I tried another slot and also I see same errors while starting up the system.
kocaelisporlu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 06:55 AM   #11
960design
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Destin, FL
Without a picture I'm really guessing, but I'll try guessing something that hasn't already been mentioned.

Dirty keyboard? The keys pressing onto the screen while it is closed, leaving a faint 'chessboard' like pattern.

just guessing
__________________
TI-99/4A, tape cassette, 12" B&W Zenith
960design is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:19 AM   #12
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I thought for sure it would have been the graphics card, but as you say, you've replaced it twice now. I would try a different monitor, different video cord, and different PCIe slot.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 960design View Post
Dirty keyboard? The keys pressing onto the screen while it is closed, leaving a faint 'chessboard' like pattern.
Mac Pro, not MacBook Pro.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 12:10 PM   #13
DanielCoffey
macrumors 65816
 
DanielCoffey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by 960design View Post
Without a picture I'm really guessing, but I'll try guessing something that hasn't already been mentioned.

Dirty keyboard? The keys pressing onto the screen while it is closed, leaving a faint 'chessboard' like pattern.

just guessing
You are not serious of course.
DanielCoffey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 03:32 PM   #14
960design
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Destin, FL
<palmtoforehead>Shamed to admit, but I was serious. Please ignore the advice of this idiot. Move along, nothing to see.</palmtoforhead>
__________________
TI-99/4A, tape cassette, 12" B&W Zenith

Last edited by 960design; Nov 28, 2012 at 08:05 AM.
960design is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC