Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2012, 01:33 PM   #1
Calot
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
MBA Update 2.0

It says that it improved graphics and performance.

Any measurable improvements?

I played The Witcher and Diablo 3 and could not feel any improvements at all. They still run great, but not noticeably better.

i7 8GB 256SSD Air here.
Calot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 01:36 PM   #2
GrandPhrase
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calot View Post
It says that it improved graphics and performance.

Any measurable improvements?

I played The Witcher and Diablo 3 and could not feel any improvements at all. They still run great, but not noticeably better.

i7 8GB 256SSD Air here.
Have you tried visiting a graphics heavy website and compared it? (Ex. The Verge)

The VRAM incrased from about 384MB TO 512MB.
GrandPhrase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 01:38 PM   #3
danistyping
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Actually, it appears that 4GB RAM models got the bump up to 512MB shared ram. But if you have an 8GB model, it stayed at 512MB. I think this is a shame since the HD4000 can handle 768MB. From what I understand, if you have 8GB RAM in your 2012 Air, you will not get a graphics performance boost. Correct?
danistyping is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 02:00 PM   #4
tredstone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrandPhrase View Post
Have you tried visiting a graphics heavy website and compared it? (Ex. The Verge)

The VRAM incrased from about 384MB TO 512MB.
Wow! Lol. It's like the new update brings an upgraded video card to your MBA.
tredstone is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 02:53 PM   #5
Lukewarmwinner
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by danistyping View Post
Actually, it appears that 4GB RAM models got the bump up to 512MB shared ram. But if you have an 8GB model, it stayed at 512MB. I think this is a shame since the HD4000 can handle 768MB. From what I understand, if you have 8GB RAM in your 2012 Air, you will not get a graphics performance boost. Correct?
For real? Can anyone confirm this disappointment?
Lukewarmwinner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 03:56 PM   #6
Skoopman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Romania
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrandPhrase View Post
Have you tried visiting a graphics heavy website and compared it? (Ex. The Verge)

The VRAM incrased from about 384MB TO 512MB.
Hm, The Verge seems to be the only site I saw since the update which has not improved at all, if not, it's even worse now. It lags a bit on the main page. Wired.com works great, even gandul.info, which is heavier than The Verge, scrolls super smooth. Also ebay.com/new scrolls smooth, but Facebook lags, weird.
__________________
Macbook Air 13" | 1.8GHz | 4GB RAM | 128GB SSD
Time Capsule 2TB
Apple TV 3

Last edited by Skoopman; Nov 9, 2012 at 04:09 PM.
Skoopman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 04:41 PM   #7
Calot
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skoopman View Post
Hm, The Verge seems to be the only site I saw since the update which has not improved at all, if not, it's even worse now. It lags a bit on the main page. Wired.com works great, even gandul.info, which is heavier than The Verge, scrolls super smooth. Also ebay.com/new scrolls smooth, but Facebook lags, weird.
To be fair, it's always lagged a little bit. A very little bit at that... but it's there.

This is extremely sad. Now the dudes with 4GB of RAM will get the same vRAM as me.

Maybe with the 3.0 update we will get 768 MB of vRAM?

A little bit more power would be awesome. But I have not found any improvements anywhere.

The shut down time still is around 20 seconds sometimes. While the fastest it can shut down is around 1-2 seconds.

I don't know why it varies.
Calot is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 05:28 PM   #8
iKnowMr.Jobs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
i've notice the battery draining quickly in sleep mode. Does anyone else?
__________________
13" Macbook Air 2012 1.8GHz i5, 8 gb ram, 128 ssd
iPhone 6 64gb Space Grey AT&T
iPad Air 32gb AT&T
Airport Extreme (5th gen)
iKnowMr.Jobs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 07:00 PM   #9
micrors4racer
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Is this only for the 2012 MBAs? I would love to have 512mb vram on my 2011.
micrors4racer is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 07:04 PM   #10
GrandPhrase
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calot View Post
To be fair, it's always lagged a little bit. A very little bit at that... but it's there.

This is extremely sad. Now the dudes with 4GB of RAM will get the same vRAM as me.

Maybe with the 3.0 update we will get 768 MB of vRAM?

A little bit more power would be awesome. But I have not found any improvements anywhere.

The shut down time still is around 20 seconds sometimes. While the fastest it can shut down is around 1-2 seconds.

I don't know why it varies.
They should increase the vRAM to 1 GB for those with 8 GB RAM lmaoo. All jokes aside, 8GB RAM people should really get that much vRAM as it would nearly eliminate the lag and create a much more smoother experience. Also, is there no way to manually increase vRAM, i always thought RAM could be allocated..
__________________
27" iMac, iPhone 6+, 13" Macbook Pro
GrandPhrase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 11:22 PM   #11
Calot
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrandPhrase View Post
They should increase the vRAM to 1 GB for those with 8 GB RAM lmaoo. All jokes aside, 8GB RAM people should really get that much vRAM as it would nearly eliminate the lag and create a much more smoother experience. Also, is there no way to manually increase vRAM, i always thought RAM could be allocated..

We could only dream.....
Calot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 03:12 AM   #12
Skoopman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Romania
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrandPhrase View Post
They should increase the vRAM to 1 GB for those with 8 GB RAM lmaoo. All jokes aside, 8GB RAM people should really get that much vRAM as it would nearly eliminate the lag and create a much more smoother experience. Also, is there no way to manually increase vRAM, i always thought RAM could be allocated..
I think the Intel HD4000 only supports up to 768MB VRAM.

Anyway, did anybody notice lagginess in Sparrow and Mail? I might have to restore a time machine backup, it's really annoying.
__________________
Macbook Air 13" | 1.8GHz | 4GB RAM | 128GB SSD
Time Capsule 2TB
Apple TV 3

Last edited by Skoopman; Nov 11, 2012 at 04:15 AM.
Skoopman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 12:03 PM   #13
filmbuff
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Is there a way to hack the 8gb MBA to get 768MB VRAM? If Apple can do it in an update it should be possible for anyone to do, right?
filmbuff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 12:45 PM   #14
Calot
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by filmbuff View Post
Is there a way to hack the 8gb MBA to get 768MB VRAM? If Apple can do it in an update it should be possible for anyone to do, right?
Not that I know of...

There is no software for Mac to control integrated graphics, I think.

If you find anything please let us know.
Calot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 05:14 PM   #15
PaulCostello
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lukewarmwinner View Post
For real? Can anyone confirm this disappointment?
just checked my macbook air 2012 11" 4gb ram, and to my surprise, lists the "intel HD graphics 4000" at 512 MB wow! thx apple
__________________
iMac 21.5" 2.5GHz i5, 12gb ram, 500gb HD
Macbook Air 11" (2013) 128gb HD, 4gb ram
iPad (3rd gen) 32gb
iPhone 5c 16gb
PaulCostello is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keep the MBA or wait for possible update? ilikewhey MacBook Air 15 May 16, 2014 10:05 AM
2012 MBA - anyway to update HD vjicecool MacBook Air 1 Feb 21, 2014 09:31 PM
MBA update question 1990eam MacBook Air 4 Oct 23, 2013 08:46 PM
Update.. retuned other MBA still probs with new one? macbrooke MacBook Air 0 Oct 3, 2013 12:50 AM
MBA Warranty Update Ifti MacBook Air 15 Jul 31, 2013 10:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC