Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:04 PM   #1
Celery11
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Help - Bricked iPhone

Hi All,

A guy from work lent me his iphone to borrow for a few weeks whilst my phone is being repaired. I am guessing his phone was jailbroken but I went to settings and reset all data so I could use from scratch. This caused the phone to freeze on the black screen with the white apple logo. I have since tried all methods on the internet I can possibly find which just results in all different types of errors on itunes - which include 16OO, 16O1, 13O5 etc etc. I have tried the restore, DFU mode and everything

Please could someone help? Should I just take the old phone into an apple shop and ask for help?

I can't face telling my friend that I have broke his phone he kindly lent me.

Thanks.
Celery11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:27 PM   #2
aDRock1154
macrumors 65816
 
aDRock1154's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Celery11 View Post
Hi All,

A guy from work lent me his iphone to borrow for a few weeks whilst my phone is being repaired. I am guessing his phone was jailbroken but I went to settings and reset all data so I could use from scratch. This caused the phone to freeze on the black screen with the white apple logo. I have since tried all methods on the internet I can possibly find which just results in all different types of errors on itunes - which include 16OO, 16O1, 13O5 etc etc. I have tried the restore, DFU mode and everything

Please could someone help? Should I just take the old phone into an apple shop and ask for help?

I can't face telling my friend that I have broke his phone he kindly lent me.

Thanks.
I'm sure it's nothing a DFU Restore can't fix.

Unfortunately he might lose his jailbreak out of all of this lol
__________________
Mid 2012 MacBook Air 13.3", 1.8GHz, 256GB | iPhone 5S 64GB | iPhone 5 64GB | iPhone 4S 64GB | Apple TV | Airport Extreme
aDRock1154 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:29 PM   #3
Celery11
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Yeah I don't mind as long as I can get the actual phone working.

So how do you go about a full DFU restore?
Celery11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:34 PM   #4
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
is it a 3g/3gs? what carrier was it on prior?did it happen to be unlocked?
BFizzzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:35 PM   #5
Celery11
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFizzzle View Post
is it a 3g/3gs? what carrier was it on prior?did it happen to be unlocked?
I'm pretty sure it is a 3g (but cannot be certain). My sim card is on o2. Not sure if it was unlocked.

Sorry can't be much help.
Celery11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:45 PM   #6
Celery11
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Yeah I've tried that. Then I click on restore and it restores but return with an error. I think its error 1015.
Celery11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:51 PM   #7
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Celery11 View Post
I'm pretty sure it is a 3g (but cannot be certain). My sim card is on o2. Not sure if it was unlocked.

Sorry can't be much help.
not a problem.

first and furthermost make sure you are in DFU mode.
http://osxdaily.com/2010/06/24/iphon...n-your-iphone/

then try to restore.

1601 typically means you arent in DFU mode, bad usb port/cable/ or not using the current itunes..

so try the above then let us know[COLOR="#808080"]

----------
BFizzzle is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:54 PM   #8
aDRock1154
macrumors 65816
 
aDRock1154's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFizzzle View Post
not a problem.

first and furthermost make sure you are in DFU mode.
http://osxdaily.com/2010/06/24/iphon...n-your-iphone/

then try to restore.

1601 typically means you arent in DFU mode, bad usb port/cable/ or not using the current itunes..

so try the above then let us know[COLOR="#808080"]

----------
This. An actual DFU Restore should get you going in the right direction...
__________________
Mid 2012 MacBook Air 13.3", 1.8GHz, 256GB | iPhone 5S 64GB | iPhone 5 64GB | iPhone 4S 64GB | Apple TV | Airport Extreme
aDRock1154 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 12:55 PM   #9
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Celery11 View Post
Yeah I've tried that. Then I click on restore and it restores but return with an error. I think its error 1015.
usually 1015 is from them downgrading the baseband.. or using it with an ipad baseband.

Make a custom IPSW (using pwnagetool or sn0wbreeze) with baseband update disabled - restore with this. This may fix the 1015 error.
If you are restoring to iOS 4.2.1 - try using FixRecovery (downloadable from thefirmwareumbrella.blogspot.com)
Restore to an older iOS version and use recboot to exit past the 1015 error

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by aDRock1154 View Post
This. An actual DFU Restore should get you going in the right direction...
well the 1015 error he just mentioned... dfu prolly wont fix it. means he has a downgraded baseband/ipad baseband and is trying to restore it.. he needs to restore with a custome fw and skip updating the baseband
BFizzzle is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 01:03 PM   #10
aDRock1154
macrumors 65816
 
aDRock1154's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by BFizzzle View Post
well the 1015 error he just mentioned... dfu prolly wont fix it. means he has a downgraded baseband/ipad baseband and is trying to restore it.. he needs to restore with a custome fw and skip updating the baseband
Oh alright, a little more complex than I originally thought.

I don't envy him lol
__________________
Mid 2012 MacBook Air 13.3", 1.8GHz, 256GB | iPhone 5S 64GB | iPhone 5 64GB | iPhone 4S 64GB | Apple TV | Airport Extreme
aDRock1154 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 01:05 PM   #11
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by aDRock1154 View Post
Oh alright, a little more complex than I originally thought.

I don't envy him lol
me either! thank god its easy to "factory" unlock phones now so these problems dont exist on new phones.
BFizzzle is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 01:21 PM   #12
Celery11
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Great so sounds like I'm screwed.

I have tried the DFU mode restore and just get error 1015 again. I have tried Snowbreeze to make a custom restore file but this didn't work. I also tried fiddling around with TinyUmbrella and this didn't work.

Anything else?
Celery11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:03 AM   #13
Celery11
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Just want to say a massive thanks to BFizzzle!

I restored my (friends) phone using sn0wbreeze with baseband update disabled and it worked straight away.

The advice in this thread was a massive life saver so huge thanks to all.
Celery11 is offline   2 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC