Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:15 PM   #51
Hakone
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Southern California
I rarely get a data connection even when it shows 3-4 bars, more or less get a stable facetime connection.
Hakone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:17 PM   #52
ort888
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
You know whatís funnyÖ

I have AT&T and a Mobile Sharing plan, and I canít get Factime over cellular to work at all. It never connects. Never.

Itís really frustrating and no one seems to have an answer.

I canít even find a person who successfully makes facetime cellular connectionsÖ so I have no idea if my problem is widespread or not.

I was actually looking forward to using the feature and Iíve sort of hit a wall. I donít know if itís Appleís fault or AT&Tís fault, but I feel like Iíve been lied to.

No one seems to know or care.
ort888 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:22 PM   #53
monkey28rb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotluck View Post
jailbreaking > att's data restriction policies

sucks that it's the only way, but at least there is a way...
Yea too bad there is not one currently out!
monkey28rb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:23 PM   #54
TomTomTuning
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central PA
I agree it sucks but at least they budged from only having FaceTime on shared plans, perhaps in the future they'll eventually release it to all FaceTime capable devices.


I have an LTE device on a teired data plan, so I'll be getting FaceTime over cellular. But my GF who has a 4S wont, she's the only person I FaceTime with, so she'll need to continue to be connected to Wifi in order for it to work. I'll keep my fingers crossed that AT&T unlocks it for everyone in the future.
__________________
2010 Mac Pro: Xeon W3690 3.46GHz Hex-Core, 3x8GB (24GB) 1333 RAM, 4GB GTX 680 FTW, 1TB SSD, AC & BT4
2010 15" MacBook Pro: 2.66GHz i7-620M Dual-Core, 4GB 1066 RAM, 1TB SSD
TomTomTuning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:26 PM   #55
monkey28rb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by canucksfan88 View Post
i am no expert at cellular networks and data, however this whole "it's my data, i should be able to do whatever I want with it" is a bit bs.

.
Its not about that.. It is about net neutrality. Lets say you had comcast for a few years, it works perfect, no issues. Now comcast releases a new plan. Costs the same but slower speeds. The newer plan will allow you to vist hulu, netflix/youtube. Old plan will not... Would this be acceptable to you?
monkey28rb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:26 PM   #56
TUD
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by WannaGoMac View Post
***** you very much AT&T for nothing. Love, 4S user...

+1 11 more months & I am GONE to Verizon!!
TUD is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:27 PM   #57
mikeyrogers
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Send a message via AIM to mikeyrogers
Didn't AT&T force Apple to change the network badging on iPhone 4S from 3G to 4G? Doesn't this technically qualify it as an LTE device as well?
mikeyrogers is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:30 PM   #58
monkey28rb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyrogers View Post
Didn't AT&T force Apple to change the network badging on iPhone 4S from 3G to 4G? Doesn't this technically qualify it as an LTE device as well?
No LTE is true 4g while the "4g" hspa is actually a 3g network with software and backend improvements. It can be labeled as 4g due to the theoretical speeds it can achieve.
monkey28rb is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:31 PM   #59
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyrogers View Post
Didn't AT&T force Apple to change the network badging on iPhone 4S from 3G to 4G? Doesn't this technically qualify it as an LTE device as well?
No, "4G" is just a marketing term. It's HSPA+, not LTE.
Cougarcat is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:31 PM   #60
jrswizzle
macrumors 603
 
jrswizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: McKinney, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyrogers View Post
Didn't AT&T force Apple to change the network badging on iPhone 4S from 3G to 4G? Doesn't this technically qualify it as an LTE device as well?
No - the "4G" in the iP4S is HSPA+.....

Technically, LTE isn't even true 4G. LTE-A is. This whole, 2G, 3G, 4G whatever has been corrupted by the marketing departments of each of these carriers. They need to just call it what it is or adhere to the correct generational numbers.

3G = HSPA, HSPA+

"3.9G" = LTE, WiMax (release 1) - these are transitional standards, though as they don't achieve the 1 GB/s download speeds associated with 4G, they aren't technically "true 4G"

4G = LTE-A, WiMax Release 2
__________________
Nexus 5 | iPhone 6+, 6, 5S, 2G | Lumia 635 | iPad Air | Kindle Fire 7" HDX
"Innovation, my ass!" -Phil Schiller
jrswizzle is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:32 PM   #61
tasset
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwilliams View Post
I don't even want to see the data usage for an LTE FaceTime call.
I've got to say, I have really warmed up to FaceTime with LTE (Verizon iPhone5). Thought it was gimmicky when it came out, but it has worked for me amaaaaazingly well even when driving 60mph. Yes... my eyes are on the road. Just another form of voip. Even with just the 1gb iPad data only sim, I'm not close to going over.

Anyway, I think it only uses a few mb of data per minute.
tasset is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:32 PM   #62
Dwalls90
macrumors 68040
 
Dwalls90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
8 to 10 weeks? How long does it take to remove a restriction? And why does the LTE device restriction exist? Still, glad to see AT&T showing some sense.
Sense? No. Not at all. Sorry, move along.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amory View Post
I might hate AT&T but this is a good call.
Again, no. Oh, how generous of them to offer these services ... still to only a limited pool of participants that have volunteered to be raped by higher prices per data usage. AT&T is so generous

Quote:
Originally Posted by bbeagle View Post
They get it. They're trying to save money.

Offer someone an all-you-can-eat buffet for $10. Or an ounce of food for $2 each.

Offer spaghetti, hot dogs, macaroni and cheese, steak and lobster.

Don't let the all-you-can-eaters choose steak or lobster.

That's what they're doing.
Save money? No. Sorry. Did they report losses when they were handing out unlimited data plans? NO. They are trying to MAKE more money. Big difference.
__________________
rMBP 4850HQ & iPhone 6
Dwalls90 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:33 PM   #63
iphoneclassic
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Looks like they had a chat with FCC. Where are all the pundits explaining AT&T can limit the feature. Next goes FaceTime on LTE device only limit.

Again AT&T thinks LTE devices consume more data so you will run out of your tier and they can collect overages. Prior devices even cannot burn through tiered data fast enough, no benefit to AT&T.
iphoneclassic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:37 PM   #64
BornAgainMac
macrumors 601
 
BornAgainMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Florida Resident
AT&T to iPhone 4S customers: "We don't like you."
BornAgainMac is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:37 PM   #65
extricated
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Maybe I'm just uneducated ...
I understand network strain and such, but wouldn't people use this wisely if it was simply included in their data plans? If you go over your allotment, you get charged for it and AT&T still makes money. If you have unlimited data, you still get throttled ... ?
extricated is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:38 PM   #66
Gorthaur
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Same here

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmwhitley View Post
Whatever, AT&T. Try as you may to force me out of my unlimited data plan; you can have it when you pry it from my cold, dead fingers.
... Still grandfathered and will never give it away.
Gorthaur is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:39 PM   #67
2IS
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Allenbf View Post
Makes me glad I'm with VZ, but they do charge more, so...

Still, never had issues with them. I feel for you folks on ATT, from what I read, it must be irritating.
I'm quite happy with ATT. I had the option to switch to VZ with my iPhone 5 but what I found is where I live, ATT has LTE coverage that's at least as good as Verizon, and faster on top of that. That combined with the fact that ATT's 3G is far superior to VZ, which is important if you don't have LTE coverage where you're at. Then there's the fact that iPhone 5 still doesn't do data+voice on VZ. All the above items are things I use far more than face time. And of course, with this announcement, whatever FaceTime limitation I had, will soon be gone as well. Not that it matters to me, I'll use it a grand total of twice. Once on LTE and once on Wifi just to compare, and then I'll be back to using Skype.

Last edited by 2IS; Nov 8, 2012 at 02:56 PM.
2IS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:50 PM   #68
WannaGoMac
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by TUD View Post
+1 11 more months & I am GONE to Verizon!!
Better yet, go pre-paid it's the same thing without contract, cheaper, and doesn't directly support either ATT or Verizon
__________________
Is your AT&T carrier reliability improved with the 4s on AT&T? Please respond here:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1258982
WannaGoMac is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:53 PM   #69
Codyak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by WannaGoMac View Post
Better yet, go pre-paid it's the same thing without contract, cheaper, and doesn't directly support either ATT or Verizon
If I didn't have and use my unlimited LTE from Verizon I would do this in a second.
Codyak is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 02:54 PM   #70
TheByrus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Arlington, TX
I'm switching from an ATT unlimited data plan to a tiered data plan ............. on Verizon.
TheByrus is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:10 PM   #71
Macsimus11
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by GQB View Post
Don't give me wireless FaceTime, give me G*d D*mn LTE coverage!!!

I agree! I can't believe that we (people in the San Fernando Valley) don't have LTE on our iphone 5's. This is just ridiculous, I really hope they add it soon! so sick of 4G (3g+) crippled speeds.
Macsimus11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:17 PM   #72
BrianMojo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
So wait, legitimate question: if I have a 3GS on the unlimited plan, can I roll over the unlimited plan to an iPhone 5? I thought you had to drop the unlimited because you're moving to 4G?
BrianMojo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:22 PM   #73
rjohnstone
macrumors 68030
 
rjohnstone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: PHX, AZ.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianMojo View Post
So wait, legitimate question: if I have a 3GS on the unlimited plan, can I roll over the unlimited plan to an iPhone 5? I thought you had to drop the unlimited because you're moving to 4G?
Only Verizon made you switch to a tiered plan if you upgraded your phone.
With AT&T, you can still keep your unlimited data plan even if you upgrade to an LTE device. They just start throttling you at 5GB instead of 3GB.
__________________
"You can't really dust for vomit" - Nigel Tuffnel
Some Apple *****, some Android ***** and some Windows based *****.
rjohnstone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:33 PM   #74
Codyak
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjohnstone View Post
Only Verizon made you switch to a tiered plan if you upgraded your phone.
With AT&T, you can still keep your unlimited data plan even if you upgrade to an LTE device. They just start throttling you at 5GB instead of 3GB.
This is mostly true, with Verizon you can keep your (unthrottled) unlimited but you just don't get the subsidized price for a new phone.
Codyak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 8, 2012, 03:34 PM   #75
Macboy Pro
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by doelcm82 View Post
Are you talking about the "no new taxes" crowd?
No, the folks that vote for a living. They won Tuesday.
Macboy Pro is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AT&T to Expand FaceTime Over Cellular to All Customers by Year End MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 94 Jan 29, 2014 09:00 PM
AT&T Expands FaceTime Over Cellular Support to All Tiered Data Plans MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 238 Jun 2, 2013 04:11 PM
AT&T Seems to Be Extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular to All Customers MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 467 Jan 14, 2013 08:18 AM
Beta 4 locks AT&T customers out of FaceTime over cellular! Beezzy iOS 6 65 Aug 8, 2012 12:40 PM
Sprint Won't Charge Customers for FaceTime Over Cellular MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 57 Jul 26, 2012 11:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC