Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:00 AM   #1
Tony007
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Which ssd and hdd for Mac Pro 2009?

Hi there,
I would like to buy a new HDD and SSD for my Mac Pro 2009, I think about
Western Digital Caviar Green 500GB (WD5000AZRX)
and SSD
Intel SSD 330 120GB
Will these drives work fine with Mac Pro 2009?
Tony007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:42 AM   #2
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Hello,

All sata HD/SSD will work on your Mac Pro. The 2 brands you listed are good, but then again if you stick to recent SSDs and big names for your HD, you won't have any problem with any brand. Look for deals on WD and Seagate for your HD, and deals for OCZ, Samsung and Intel for your SSD.

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 06:51 AM   #3
BlueBubba
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
AFAIK, and someone feel free to correct me, older Macs may have problems with SSD's that use SandForce which I believe the 330 does. Most Mac users recommend the Samsung 830, I myself am currently waiting for the new 840 pro to be stocked, supposedly the fastest SSD ever.
BlueBubba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:12 AM   #4
Tony007
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Thanks for the answers.
Can anyone confirm that Samsung 830 works with Mac Pro 2009?
Tony007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:52 AM   #5
= bluntman =
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
I have a 4,1 MacPro with a Sandisk Extreme 480GB installed as the boot drive and I don't have any problems. Of course, this drive won't run at SATA III since speeds since the MP only has a SATA II connector, but it still boots and launches programs quite a bit faster than it did with an HDD. I also have a couple of first generation WD Green 1.5TB drives in a software RAID installed in the same machine, again, no problems.
__________________
flickr
= bluntman = is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 08:38 AM   #6
bax2003
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony007 View Post
Thanks for the answers.
Can anyone confirm that Samsung 830 works with Mac Pro 2009?
It works, I personally checked for my 2010.
__________________
Mac mini i7 2.3 Quad (Late 2012), MacBook Pro 13" R/2.6/8/256 (Mid 2014), iMac 20" (Early 2008)
Thunderbolt Display
iPhone 5 16GB
bax2003 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 10:53 AM   #7
hfg
macrumors 68020
 
hfg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA.
I have an older 2008 3,1 Mac Pro and am using OWC drives (Sandforce) without any problems. To overcome the SATA-II bus speed limitations, I am using a pair of OWC 240 GB SSDs in RAID-0 for OS X and apps, and a pair of 1TB hard disks also in RAID-0 for data libraries (photo, music, video, etc). I use a separate OWC SSD for bootable Windows.


-howard
hfg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 12:04 PM   #8
El Awesome
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Zurich
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony007 View Post
Thanks for the answers.
Can anyone confirm that Samsung 830 works with Mac Pro 2009?
I'm using two Samsung 830 128GB. They work perfectly fine, about 280MB read/write speed in the reular HDD bay without any RAID.
__________________
Hackintosh 3.5Ghz i7 3770k, 32 GB RAM, eVGA GTX 680 2048 MB SuperClocked, Samsung 830 128GB SSD
MacBook Pro Late '08 2.8 Ghz C2D, 4GB RAM, Nvidia 9400M & 9600M GT
El Awesome is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 12:07 PM   #9
tamvly
macrumors 6502a
 
tamvly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Huh? Most Mac users recommend the Samsung 830?

Probably not - just one alternative of many good alternatives. I am using three different Intel SSDs and they are all terrific and completely reliable.
tamvly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:32 PM   #10
Loa
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Québec
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBubba View Post
older Macs
As sad as it may sound, the 2009 Mac Pro is only one firmware update away from current. The hardware itself is current, not "older".

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBubba View Post
Most Mac users recommend the Samsung 830
Replace "most" by "some". As I said, current SSDs are all pretty good these days.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBubba View Post
the new 840 pro to be stocked, supposedly the fastest SSD ever.
Nope, there already are faster drives, especially if you want to use PCIe SSDs.

Loa
Loa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 07:41 PM   #11
Lord Blackadder
macrumors G4
 
Lord Blackadder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sod off
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueBubba View Post
Most Mac users recommend the Samsung 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loa View Post
Replace "most" by "some". As I said, current SSDs are all pretty good these days.
I just bought a 128GB Samsung 830 from Microcenter - they are running a sale to get rid of their stock of 830 Series drives before bringing in the 840 Series drives. As a result, the 128GB 830 was a great bargain at $70. It's not the fastest drive out there, but it is still very fast and is a bargain at the moment.
__________________
Oh, God, God, God! What on earth was I drinking last night? My head feels like there's a Frenchman living in it. - Edmund Blackadder
Lord Blackadder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2012, 08:15 PM   #12
adam9c1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chicagoland
In my early 2008 Mac book I had Sandusky SSD, now sand force v2.
My early 2008 Mac pro has a Samsung OEM hd. Don't I ow what chipset.
adam9c1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 01:50 AM   #13
Tony007
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Just one question. Western Digital Caviar Green has some energy saving features like IntelliPower, IntelliSeek and IntelliPark. Does it work well with the Mac Pro?
Tony007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 02:37 AM   #14
d-m-a-x
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I have the crucial m4 128gb. The price is good, but i had a problem 3 months in. Apparently, you cant sleep the computer or put the drive to sleep - cutting power kills the drive. You guys know if it is just the crucial, or are other ssd's like this too?
d-m-a-x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:38 PM   #15
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony007 View Post
Just one question. Western Digital Caviar Green has some energy saving features like IntelliPower, IntelliSeek and IntelliPark. Does it work well with the Mac Pro?
All HDD's and SSD's work well with any Mac computer. Reformat and use.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 06:14 PM   #16
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
mac pro 3.1 early 2008 here.

I put in a crucial m4 256 and installed trim enabler. Has worked flawlessly so far (though i have sata 2, so i can't get those truly maxed out speeds).

If you get a sandforce based ssd, don't install trimm enabler.

Quote:
Originally Posted by d-m-a-x View Post
I have the crucial m4 128gb. The price is good, but i had a problem 3 months in. Apparently, you cant sleep the computer or put the drive to sleep - cutting power kills the drive. You guys know if it is just the crucial, or are other ssd's like this too?
this happened to me only twice. Hasn't happened since the first week i have owned it. You can disable drive sleep if you want though, but its not very good if you have a HDD as well. Sadly i know of no way to set one sled to go to sleep, and the other sled not to.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:22 PM   #17
macmesser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony007 View Post
Thanks for the answers.
Can anyone confirm that Samsung 830 works with Mac Pro 2009?
I'm using one on an early '09. Works fine.
macmesser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 05:24 PM   #18
ActionableMango
macrumors 68040
 
ActionableMango's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony007 View Post
Just one question. Western Digital Caviar Green has some energy saving features like IntelliPower, IntelliSeek and IntelliPark. Does it work well with the Mac Pro?
Don't use them in a RAID. I've had nothing but problems using the Greens in that scenario.
ActionableMango is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 07:03 AM   #19
Canubis
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vienna, Austria
Quote:
Originally Posted by ActionableMango View Post
Don't use them in a RAID. I've had nothing but problems using the Greens in that scenario.
Could you go a bit more in detail about this, please? I am using one of them for backup in my Mac Pro, but also I am using several of them inside 3 WD MyBook Studio (which are used as RAIDs per definition). They are factory built-in there and also it's a hardware RAID system from WD. However, I planned to add 1-2 more of them to my Mac Pro for backup reasons and then use the OS X software RAID to be on the secure side. Not a good idea?
Canubis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 07:13 AM   #20
eawmp1
macrumors 601
 
eawmp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
I have a 2009 Mac Pro.

I have an 830 boot drive, and a mixture of Caviar Blacks and a Green. All work well together. As far as energy savings, you have a Mac Pro. Hoping for significant energy savings by changing brand of spinning HD is like trying to make a tank aerodynamic to save on fuel.



Duh...just posted to a 6 week old thread.
eawmp1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 07:49 AM   #21
nigelbb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrygian View Post
mac pro 3.1 early 2008 here.

I put in a crucial m4 256 and installed trim enabler. Has worked flawlessly so far (though i have sata 2, so i can't get those truly maxed out speeds).
I have the same except I don't use TRIM enabler as my understanding is the Crucial drives have active garbage collection already. This drive maxes out the SATA-II interface at about 250MB/sec read & write. There is really no way of achieving higher throughput than this except by installing a SAS card & using an external RAID array.
nigelbb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 09:24 AM   #22
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by nigelbb View Post
I have the same except I don't use TRIM enabler as my understanding is the Crucial drives have active garbage collection already. This drive maxes out the SATA-II interface at about 250MB/sec read & write. There is really no way of achieving higher throughput than this except by installing a SAS card & using an external RAID array.
From what i read, in was Sandforce architecture SSDs that did the garbage clean up. I didn't read anything about the crucial m4 doing the same.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 03:02 PM   #23
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
They have GC but it still likes some TRIM. Crucial has the least effective GC I have seen in practice. But the price makes up for it.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2012, 03:11 PM   #24
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
ALL SSDs do garbage collection, TRIM is just a part of that (tells the controller what LBAs are no longer in use so the controller can send those blocks for GC). Some rely heavily on idle GC (such as Crucial and Samsung) whereas others like to do it in real-time (like Intel and SandForce).
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2012, 09:17 AM   #25
nigelbb
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
So is the consensus that it is worthwhile enabling for TRIM the Crucial m4? I also have an older Crucial C300 SSD in my MBP that I have never TRIM enabled.
nigelbb is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Connector for SSD in 2009 Mac Pro Greenhoe Mac Pro 6 Dec 27, 2013 02:37 AM
Max speed on new SSD in Mac Pro 2009? malthe Mac Pro 32 Mar 15, 2013 08:07 AM
Macbook pro SSD HDD Mac and Windows sinterklaas1212 MacBook Pro 0 Jun 27, 2012 12:05 PM
Mac Mini 2009 - SSD Upgrade and 2nd HDD roboboy Mac mini 4 Jun 11, 2012 10:02 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:02 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC