Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 6, 2007, 10:58 PM   #1
hagjohn
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
iTunes was not properly installed. If you wish to import or burn CDs....

iTunes 7.4.3 .. when I try to open it in Vista 64, I get.....

iTunes was not properly installed. If you wish to import or burn CDs, you need to reinstall iTunes.


any solutions...
__________________
MacBook (week 38): 2.0Mhz, 120GB HD, 2GB
Desktop: AMD FX-6300 w/ H60 Cooler, Extreme3 990FX, 16GB 1866, R6850, SH103S3 SSD, Windows 8 x64
iPhone 4S, iPad Mini, Shuffle2 1GB, TV3
hagjohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2007, 11:11 PM   #2
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Any 64-bit version of Windows is not supported so you should expect certain things not to work. From Apple's iTunes page the Windows requirements are:

32-bit editions of Windows XP or Vista
Windows XP Service Pack 2 or later required for Apple TV or iPhone
500 MHz Pentium class processor or better
QuickTime 7.1.6 or later (included)
256MB RAM
Supported CD-R or DVD-R drive to burn CDs
Broadband Internet connection (DSL/Cable/LAN) for buying and streaming music
robbieduncan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2007, 08:58 AM   #3
hagjohn
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
I didn't have an issue until the last 2 versions.
__________________
MacBook (week 38): 2.0Mhz, 120GB HD, 2GB
Desktop: AMD FX-6300 w/ H60 Cooler, Extreme3 990FX, 16GB 1866, R6850, SH103S3 SSD, Windows 8 x64
iPhone 4S, iPad Mini, Shuffle2 1GB, TV3
hagjohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2007, 01:34 PM   #4
deanis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Figures!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieduncan View Post
Any 64-bit version of Windows is not supported so you should expect certain things not to work. From Apple's iTunes page the Windows requirements are:

32-bit editions of Windows XP or Vista
Windows XP Service Pack 2 or later required for Apple TV or iPhone
500 MHz Pentium class processor or better
QuickTime 7.1.6 or later (included)
256MB RAM
Supported CD-R or DVD-R drive to burn CDs
Broadband Internet connection (DSL/Cable/LAN) for buying and streaming music
I was willing to accept that when I purchased my iPhone that it was not supported on Windows x64. I have had an iPod for a looooong time now, and was successfully using it with Windows Vista x64. The iphone came along, and now I couldn't sync it with the same computer I was using to manage my library. So, i thought, what the hell, alright no big deal, now I have to use my work laptop to manage my itunes library, no big deal, I have my music files stored on a Network Attached Storage device, I can deal with that. I could still use itunes on my Windows x64 machine, could still sync my 20gb video ipod, but had to use my work laptop to sync my iPhone.

Now there's features "magically" disappearing from the x64 version. Wouldn't you expect that since we will all eventually be on x64 that companies would plan ahead for supporting x64, rather than using the typical response "It's not supported", look at the system requirements on the box. That response infuriates me!
deanis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2007, 01:39 PM   #5
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
What were your results when you tried this workaround:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread....sageID=5375736

Which is also discussed here and here:

http://www.somelifeblog.com/2007/09/...right-for.html
http://www.somelifeblog.com/2007/09/...roblem-64.html
__________________
Mira C. Krishnan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2007, 01:42 PM   #6
deanis
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Found a solution

Quote:
Originally Posted by hagjohn View Post
iTunes 7.4.3 .. when I try to open it in Vista 64, I get.....

iTunes was not properly installed. If you wish to import or burn CDs, you need to reinstall iTunes.


any solutions...
Here's what to do:

1. iTunes is installed just fine, so don't worry.

2. go to http://www.gearsoftware.com/support/drivers.cfm and download the proper version for your setup (the top one for 32bit versions, the middle for 64bit ones).
Here's the direct link: ftp://downloads.gearsoftware.com/upd...MD64_EM64T.exe
3. that should do it, when you look in the preferences under itunes, go to the "advanced" tab and click the "burning" tab. you should see you're burner listed there and itunes will stop giving you that warning message.
deanis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2007, 05:26 PM   #7
hagjohn
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Thank you both for your constructive replies... Loaded the Gear driver and all's fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanis View Post
Here's what to do:

1. iTunes is installed just fine, so don't worry.

2. go to http://www.gearsoftware.com/support/drivers.cfm and download the proper version for your setup (the top one for 32bit versions, the middle for 64bit ones).
Here's the direct link: ftp://downloads.gearsoftware.com/upd...MD64_EM64T.exe
3. that should do it, when you look in the preferences under itunes, go to the "advanced" tab and click the "burning" tab. you should see you're burner listed there and itunes will stop giving you that warning message.
__________________
MacBook (week 38): 2.0Mhz, 120GB HD, 2GB
Desktop: AMD FX-6300 w/ H60 Cooler, Extreme3 990FX, 16GB 1866, R6850, SH103S3 SSD, Windows 8 x64
iPhone 4S, iPad Mini, Shuffle2 1GB, TV3
hagjohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2007, 05:43 PM   #8
CANEHDN
macrumors 6502a
 
CANEHDN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sandy, UT
I run Vista 64-bit at work and have the same problem. My boss also has the same problem.
__________________
:Macbook Pro 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 9600M GT 512MB VRAM
:Gaming- i7-2600K, GTX 570, Ripjaw 8GB RAM, SABERTOOTH P67, Thermaltake Element G
I support the MacRumors Blood Drive!
CANEHDN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2007, 09:37 PM   #9
phillipjfry
macrumors 6502a
 
phillipjfry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Peace in Plainfield
Quote:
Originally Posted by CANEHDN View Post
I run Vista 64-bit at work and have the same problem. My boss also has the same problem.
Apply the solution above and be a big hero at work!
__________________
Asus G73JW-A1, Think Different! Black iPhone 4 32GB; Black new iPad
phillipjfry is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2007, 11:13 AM   #10
vistachj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Hey when I try to download the fix from the link. It will not load. Is there something I am forgetting because its coming from a ftp://?
vistachj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2007, 02:23 PM   #11
aejyce
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
the solution is great!!!

thx, that bothered me for a long time
aejyce is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2007, 08:14 PM   #12
MrAndrew
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I Would have to agree

This bothered me for a long time too. I am not disappointed but surprised that apple doesn't throw a fix out there such as the one we downloaded!!! Thanks you computer genius cracker hackers!!!! Who do I owe $$$$ to? =)
MrAndrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2008, 12:03 PM   #13
whynotea
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Thank-you!!!

The GEAR fix worked perfectly for me - THANKS!!!

Happy New Year,

EA
whynotea is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2008, 02:35 PM   #14
cblackburn
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanis View Post
Now there's features "magically" disappearing from the x64 version. Wouldn't you expect that since we will all eventually be on x64 that companies would plan ahead for supporting x64, rather than using the typical response "It's not supported", look at the system requirements on the box. That response infuriates me!
"It's not supported" is a perfectly fair statement. It is not apples responsibility to code the Microsoft CD-ROM drivers, which I assume are the items at fault here. If you bought a petrol car, drove it to an Esso garage and put a tankful of Diesel in it, and then shouted at the Esso attendant that your car was not working he'd just look at you strangely and say something to the effect of "It's not supported". You could argue all day that Diesel is the fuel of the future because it gets you higher milage, the engines last longer and the fuel is easier to obtain from bio-alternatives. This does not change the fact that your car does *NOT* support diesel fuel.

As a software developer I'm so sick of people being so short sighted as to blame all faults in software immediately on the foreground app. I spend many an hour grappling with inherent bugs in both Microsoft Windows and Mac OS X which should never have existed. Just because they should not exist doesn't stop your app failing. In such situations it's perfectly acceptable to day "It's not supported" until the developer of the OS sorts itself out.

Chris
cblackburn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2010, 01:44 PM   #15
walras
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
i get the same error, but installing Gear drivers doesn't fix it.

I recently had IT come re-image my laptop. Now I have Win 7 (32 bit). I installed iTunes 9.1.1.12 and synced it with my iPhone. Sync appeared to work just fine. However, now I get this error each time I start: "iTunes was not installed properly. If you wish to burn or import CDs please reinstall iTunes." I reinstalled iTunes, but that doesn't fix it. I installed the Gear drivers, but that doesn't fix it. I imported a CD and had no trouble or indication of problems, so it seems like my drive is working fine. Not sure what to do, but the error is quite annoying.
walras is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 23, 2011, 02:28 PM   #16
Kenyonia
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Is this problem back with IE7, SP1?

So I'm also running a 32-bit version of Windows on a Sony Vaio, and now having this problem, as is another member of my family also running Windows on an Asus laptop. Here are things we've done recently in common:

(1) Installed the latest Windows 7 SP1 (and other random upgrades as part of the Windows updates)
(2) Run into a problem with accessing our CD drives, so ran the 'fix-it' code at http://support.microsoft.com/mats/cd...problems/en-us ("Your CD or DVD drive can't read or write media")
(3) Installed a new version of Norton Internet Security

Of these, I suspect (2) is the culprit, although I'm not sure why (or why our CDs both stopped working, unless it had something to do with removing an expired version of Norton).

We uninstalled iTunes and Quicktime, rebooted, ran Norton Utilities registry cleaner, reinstalled iTunes, and still get this same error.
Kenyonia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:55 PM   #17
ikeygrl14
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
wow !

omg i could kiss you ! i was so ready to toss this out the window i tried to sneak around itunes and rip my new stuff else where but nothing i clicked the fix it link and there was the issue... im still getting that message but still imported so well have to see what happens if i reinstall itunes tommorow thanks again was the simplest fastest way to help me out


Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenyonia View Post
So I'm also running a 32-bit version of Windows on a Sony Vaio, and now having this problem, as is another member of my family also running Windows on an Asus laptop. Here are things we've done recently in common:

(1) Installed the latest Windows 7 SP1 (and other random upgrades as part of the Windows updates)
(2) Run into a problem with accessing our CD drives, so ran the 'fix-it' code at http://support.microsoft.com/mats/cd...problems/en-us ("Your CD or DVD drive can't read or write media")
(3) Installed a new version of Norton Internet Security

Of these, I suspect (2) is the culprit, although I'm not sure why (or why our CDs both stopped working, unless it had something to do with removing an expired version of Norton).

We uninstalled iTunes and Quicktime, rebooted, ran Norton Utilities registry cleaner, reinstalled iTunes, and still get this same error.
ikeygrl14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't import CDs or downloads alexmac712 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jan 3, 2014 11:49 AM
Odd question of the day, how many CDs can I import before heat/wear set in? Shivetya iMac 11 Apr 12, 2013 06:23 AM
Cannot Import CDs into iTunes Jman14 MacBook Air 3 Feb 3, 2013 03:42 AM
Cannot Import CDs into iTunes Jman14 MacBook Pro 0 Feb 2, 2013 07:39 PM
Automatically play music CDs I import? macdaddy57 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Nov 12, 2012 04:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC