Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 2, 2012, 12:33 AM   #1
johnificent
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Will iOS 6.0.1 update lock my Verizon iPhone 5?

Hi! I'm using my iphone 5 that I got from verizon on tmobile because its "factory unlocked from the box" well, if I update to ios 6.0.1 would it lock to verizon? Thanks!
johnificent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 12:33 AM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
No, it will NEVER lock.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 12:34 AM   #3
johnificent
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Ok I wasn't sure because I put my imei in a website where you can check your unlock status and it told me it was locked, not sure if it was accurate though!
johnificent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 12:37 AM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnificent View Post
Ok I wasn't sure because I put my imei in a website where you can check your unlock status and it told me it was locked, not sure if it was accurate though!
Those are usually for GSM iphones.
The verizon iphone 5 is forever unlocked and sold unlocked and will never lock.
I dont know why people bother checking the imei sites. All you have to do is stick your sim and you will know in seconds.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 12:38 AM   #5
aziatiklover
macrumors 68020
 
aziatiklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
Can the iphone 5 OTA update from 6.0 to 6.0.1? I heard that the OTA system on 6.0 for iphone 5 has a bug and cannot do it!
__________________
ppleholic
aziatiklover is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 12:42 AM   #6
outphase
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Parts Unknown
Quote:
Originally Posted by aziatiklover View Post
Can the iphone 5 OTA update from 6.0 to 6.0.1? I heard that the OTA system on 6.0 for iphone 5 has a bug and cannot do it!
There is a bug but it's handled during the update process.
outphase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 12:59 AM   #7
jester0723
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Virginia
Quote:
Originally Posted by aziatiklover View Post
Can the iphone 5 OTA update from 6.0 to 6.0.1? I heard that the OTA system on 6.0 for iphone 5 has a bug and cannot do it!
Go to the OTA update page and hit learn more. It installs a tiny app that you run. It disappears and then you can go into settings and install OTA.

OTA means wifi, unfortunately.
__________________
Macbook Pro Summer '11 :: iPad Mini 64gb - black :: iPhone 5 32gb - black/slate
jester0723 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 01:22 AM   #8
macman312
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnificent View Post
Hi! I'm using my iphone 5 that I got from verizon on tmobile because its "factory unlocked from the box" well, if I update to ios 6.0.1 would it lock to verizon? Thanks!
Hi
Just out of interest where did you buy your iPhone? as I want to do the same thing
macman312 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 01:28 AM   #9
johnificent
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
My aunt actually had a verizon contract and her 2 year contract ended and she could upgrade, but she didn't want to give up her current phone, but she got an iPhone 5 anyways. She DIDE activate the sim it came with and verizon was fine with us keeping the iPhone and she could keep her phone and her current contract, so, the iPhone was given to me and it was unlocked
johnificent is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 01:30 AM   #10
WooYing
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnificent View Post
Ok I wasn't sure because I put my imei in a website where you can check your unlock status and it told me it was locked, not sure if it was accurate though!
What website would that be, mind sharing? TIA
WooYing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 01:32 AM   #11
macman312
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnificent View Post
My aunt actually had a verizon contract and her 2 year contract ended and she could upgrade, but she didn't want to give up her current phone, but she got an iPhone 5 anyways. She DIDE activate the sim it came with and verizon was fine with us keeping the iPhone and she could keep her phone and her current contract, so, the iPhone was given to me and it was unlocked
Thanks for that
macman312 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 01:38 AM   #12
johnificent
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Www.imei.info
johnificent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 05:27 AM   #13
luckyarcher
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Once the phone is activated, would it need to be reactivated each time the firmware is updated? I've got an iphone from Verizon but im not in the US. Not exactly factory unlocked, some ebay seller who sold his iphone without terminating his contract.
luckyarcher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 05:34 AM   #14
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
You have to admit it was humorous though... fixing a ota update bug with.... an ota update lmfao

I did that imei site and it said my verizon phone was locked too. So it's something with the site. It got my contract end date right though
tymaster50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2012, 02:47 PM   #15
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by luckyarcher View Post
Once the phone is activated, would it need to be reactivated each time the firmware is updated?
Only when the device is restored.

It used to be that moving between major versions of iOS (e.g. iOS 4 to 5) required a restore, but since iOS 5 added OTA updates, that seems to have changed.
__________________
Nexus 6 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 06:59 AM   #16
luckyarcher
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daveoc64 View Post
Only when the device is restored.

It used to be that moving between major versions of iOS (e.g. iOS 4 to 5) required a restore, but since iOS 5 added OTA updates, that seems to have changed.
Somethings not right, why is a Verizon phone then called factory unlocked? Someone who is overseas would not be able to activate with another sim?
On checking with IMEI sites mention activation status as confirmed or not. Restoring my phone would not change activation status in Apple's server, I believe?
luckyarcher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 10:43 AM   #17
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by luckyarcher View Post
Somethings not right, why is a Verizon phone then called factory unlocked? Someone who is overseas would not be able to activate with another sim?
On checking with IMEI sites mention activation status as confirmed or not. Restoring my phone would not change activation status in Apple's server, I believe?
You're making false assumptions.
You can activate a verizon iphone 5 with any GSM sim.
Stop checking imei sites, the verizon i5 is unlocked for GSM use on any carrier.
This is madness...
Applejuiced is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 11:41 AM   #18
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by luckyarcher View Post
Restoring my phone would not change activation status in Apple's server, I believe?
The source of data used by these sites isn't actually the Apple Unlock Database.

These IMEI checkers get their data from Apple's warranty systems, which are sometimes a bit out of date.

My post was actually referring to the process of activating an iOS device.

When you restore an iOS device to the default settings, it is put into an unactivated state. To reactivate it, you must go through the wizard that appears when the restore is complete. The activation process checks which carrier (if any) the device should be locked to and sets the SIM lock status of the device accordingly.

If you have an unlocked phone, the activation process will accept ANY SIM inserted into the phone as being valid.

If you have a locked phone, the activation process will only complete if you put a SIM into the phone from the carrier it's locked to.
__________________
Nexus 6 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium

Last edited by Daveoc64; Nov 3, 2012 at 11:52 AM.
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2012, 11:51 AM   #19
Beeplance
macrumors 65816
 
Beeplance's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Singapore
Have never heard of a bug-fix update locking up a phone.
Beeplance is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 11:33 PM   #20
fospino
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
My iPhone 4 was lock after the update. Bought it in Europe, it was unlock by apple after 6 months period which it is the law in France. I was using it with a simple mobile sim and now it does not work!!
fospino is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 12:57 AM   #21
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fospino View Post
My iPhone 4 was lock after the update. Bought it in Europe, it was unlock by apple after 6 months period which it is the law in France. I was using it with a simple mobile sim and now it does not work!!
That doesn't make much sense.
Maybe your i4 was unlocked with ultrasnow or a gevey.
Once a phone is factory unlocked its forever unlocked and it won't lock to any carrier no matter if you update or restore period.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: iOS 7 GM iPhone 4S no sound on lock and notifications Konner iOS 7 12 Sep 27, 2014 10:42 AM
Just got a gold Verizon iPhone 5S 64GB and the lock button seems recessed Nerdface Killah iPhone 17 Mar 5, 2014 01:42 PM
Verizon iPhone/iOS 7 data issue update redhawk87 iPhone 20 Mar 1, 2014 01:41 PM
iPhone: FREE Verizon iPhone 4: iOS 7 --> iOS 6? profinite Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Nov 14, 2013 05:18 PM
By-pass lock screen of iPhone 5s and iOS 7 sodaftl iOS 7 9 Oct 18, 2013 10:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC