Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2012, 11:04 AM   #1
rrk100
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Handbrake: iPad vs AppleTV vs AppleTV 2 vs AppleTV 3 presettings

I have an AppleTV, an iPad 2, and the new iPad ("4") with Retina Display.

Using Handbrake, I have been creating 4 different versions of the DVD movie I am ripping via the presets:

iPad
AppleTV
AppleTV 2
AppleTV 3

Is there any advantage to having all 4 versions of a movie? Or do you think I should stop creating every AppleTV version? Since I have the original AppleTV, will I run into any backwards compatibility issues if I discontinue ripping from one of the AppleTV presets mentioned above?

I figure that the iPad version at least saves me some space on my iPads...

Thank you in advance.
rrk100 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 12:08 PM   #2
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rrk100 View Post
I have an AppleTV, an iPad 2, and the new iPad ("4") with Retina Display.

Using Handbrake, I have been creating 4 different versions of the DVD movie I am ripping via the presets:

iPad
AppleTV
AppleTV 2
AppleTV 3

Is there any advantage to having all 4 versions of a movie? Or do you think I should stop creating every AppleTV version? Since I have the original AppleTV, will I run into any backwards compatibility issues if I discontinue ripping from one of the AppleTV presets mentioned above?

I figure that the iPad version at least saves me some space on my iPads...

Thank you in advance.
The only aTV preset you need to use is AppleTV 3. And that can even be used for the iPad. Like you said, it just means few movies able to be physically loaded onto the iPad.

Now that I think about it, I am not sure about the original aTV compatibility. Anyone else know?
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR

Last edited by mic j; Nov 10, 2012 at 12:09 PM. Reason: afterthought
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 05:12 PM   #3
The Mad Hatter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
Now that I think about it, I am not sure about the original aTV compatibility. Anyone else know?
When I was running an ATV1, I had to use the ATV preset for compatibility across all my iDevices (as the the ATV2 preset would render the files unplayable). I can't see the ATV3 preset changing that.
__________________
I'd rather stay here with all the madmen, than perish with the sadmen roaming free.
The Mad Hatter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 05:15 PM   #4
SandboxGeneral
Moderator
 
SandboxGeneral's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Great Lakes State
I'm not sure if this makes a difference or not, but yesterday and today I've been ripping some of my DVD's with the ATV3 settings and they play just fine on the iMac, ATV3 and ATV2.
__________________
...the tiger striping is so beautiful it makes me want to cry.
SandboxGeneral is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 06:04 AM   #5
WebHead
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
I encode all HD content with the ATV3 preset (most 720p iDevices will downscale) and all SD with Universal. Some would argue for doing SD with ATV2, but I value device compatibility over the barely perceivable quality difference.
WebHead is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Handbrake now has an AppleTV 3 preset jayhawk11 Apple TV and Home Theater 234 May 17, 2014 11:07 AM
AppleTV & iPhone file using handbrake bwfc0907 Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Dec 24, 2013 10:24 AM
AppleTV 3 Preset Handbrake 0.9.9 aj350z Apple TV and Home Theater 3 May 30, 2013 04:54 PM
Looking for advice - have AppleTV, iPad and iPhone but no Mac mark-vdw Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Jan 20, 2013 02:12 PM
Can't get audio mirroring from iPad 2 to AppleTV 2 primedime Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Nov 15, 2012 02:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC