Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 10, 2012, 05:54 PM   #1
whoknows87
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.Florida
Galaxy S3 Verizon unlocked ?

will an unlocked Galaxy S3 ( Verizon) work with any GSM network and still get LTE? or no such thing

I thought Verizon phones are all CDMA
__________________
Our knowledge has made us cynical,our cleverness hard and unkind.We think too much and feel too little:
More than machinery we need humanity;More than cleverness we need kindness and gentleness
whoknows87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 05:57 PM   #2
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoknows87 View Post
will an unlocked Galaxy S3 ( Verizon) work with any GSM network and still get LTE? or no such thing

I thought Verizon phones are all CDMA
GSM arena says it won't work on any GSM network worldwide.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-11-10 at 23.58.01.png
Views:	93
Size:	48.6 KB
ID:	376423

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_gala..._i535-4799.php
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 06:30 PM   #3
blackhand1001
macrumors 68030
 
blackhand1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by 3bs View Post
GSM arena says it won't work on any GSM network worldwide.

Attachment 376423

http://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_gala..._i535-4799.php

The galaxy s3 has a gsm radio in the verizon version.
blackhand1001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 06:32 PM   #4
whoknows87
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackhand1001 View Post
The galaxy s3 has a gsm radio in the verizon version.
so it will work?
__________________
Our knowledge has made us cynical,our cleverness hard and unkind.We think too much and feel too little:
More than machinery we need humanity;More than cleverness we need kindness and gentleness
whoknows87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 06:32 PM   #5
3bs
macrumors 603
 
3bs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackhand1001 View Post
The galaxy s3 has a gsm radio in the verizon version.
I'm sure you know more than me seeing as I'm not from/in the US
3bs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2012, 07:25 PM   #6
blackhand1001
macrumors 68030
 
blackhand1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoknows87 View Post
so it will work?
On LTE, I have no idea. If the sim is unlocked then it will atleast work on gsm. I have to look up if its unlocked. Almost every verizon lte phone has had an unlocked gsm sim.


Edit: Just checked, the sim is in fact unlocked. You can use gsm sims in it without issue. I am not sure what the deal with lte is though.
__________________
Macbook 2008
HP Dv7t - 2.53 ghz, 9600m GT, WSXGA+, 120gb ssd, 250 gb 7200rpm
Core i7 3770k, 8gb ram, 2x 120gb sdd raid0, 500gb hdd, GTX 460
Moto X Dev Edition (VZW) Nexus 7
blackhand1001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 12:57 AM   #7
whoknows87
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackhand1001 View Post
On LTE, I have no idea. If the sim is unlocked then it will atleast work on gsm. I have to look up if its unlocked. Almost every verizon lte phone has had an unlocked gsm sim.


Edit: Just checked, the sim is in fact unlocked. You can use gsm sims in it without issue. I am not sure what the deal with lte is though.
I just passed on a verizon LTE GS3 for 265 bucks MINT
I tried my sim and it didn't work, the owner said it was unlocked but the phone was reset so maybe the unlock was lost

I might be lucky if I can get it tomorrow
__________________
Our knowledge has made us cynical,our cleverness hard and unkind.We think too much and feel too little:
More than machinery we need humanity;More than cleverness we need kindness and gentleness
whoknows87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 08:25 AM   #8
Ericcc
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Montreal
Quote:
Originally Posted by whoknows87 View Post
I just passed on a verizon LTE GS3 for 265 bucks MINT
I tried my sim and it didn't work, the owner said it was unlocked but the phone was reset so maybe the unlock was lost

I might be lucky if I can get it tomorrow
I think you're better off asking Verizon directly and making sure.

I don't think phones "reset" by the owner (Android reset?) looses unlocking. It just sounds highly improbable. Also, look at this link:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_LTE_networks

Which "gsm" LTE network are you trying to access? Although AT&T has the same frequency as Verizon, it's in a different class (whatever that means). LTE has not been standardized anywhere in the world, and certainly not amongst US carriers. Each carrier has specific hardware associated to their LTE networks (or else the Nexus 4 would have LTE for sure).
Ericcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2012, 11:48 AM   #9
blackhand1001
macrumors 68030
 
blackhand1001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
The gsm functionality will be enabled in the jellybean update officially. I am pretty sure you can already do it unofficially with root but verizon has said they are officially adding it in the next update. They did the same thing with the razr and the rezound.
__________________
Macbook 2008
HP Dv7t - 2.53 ghz, 9600m GT, WSXGA+, 120gb ssd, 250 gb 7200rpm
Core i7 3770k, 8gb ram, 2x 120gb sdd raid0, 500gb hdd, GTX 460
Moto X Dev Edition (VZW) Nexus 7
blackhand1001 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > Alternatives to iOS and iOS Devices

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC