Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 11, 2012, 10:07 PM   #1
theuserjohnny
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Question WTH is "DTS-HD" passthru on Handbreak?



I understand that ATV dose not support HD audio but I couldn't help but find this setting. Dose this allow us for HD audio so when future technology comes out and supports it I won't have to re-handbreak my VLC rips?
__________________
2013 13' Macbook Air, 1.3GHz, 4GBRAM, 256GBSSD
2012 15" rMBP, 2.7GHz, 16GBRAM, 768GBSSD
2006 13" Macbook (white), 2.16GHz, 3GBRAM, 120GBHD
Google Nexus 4 16GB
theuserjohnny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 12:12 AM   #2
orestes1984
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia
Handbrake is not just for users of Apple TVs, other players can play HD Audio.
orestes1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 02:21 PM   #3
theuserjohnny
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by orestes1984 View Post
Handbrake is not just for users of Apple TVs, other players can play HD Audio.
So DTSHD is indeed the HD audio for those who can support it... but of course ATV can't because it dosen't support it. So if say the ATV4 comes out and supports HD audio I can play then play the DTSHD track?
__________________
2013 13' Macbook Air, 1.3GHz, 4GBRAM, 256GBSSD
2012 15" rMBP, 2.7GHz, 16GBRAM, 768GBSSD
2006 13" Macbook (white), 2.16GHz, 3GBRAM, 120GBHD
Google Nexus 4 16GB
theuserjohnny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:35 AM   #4
orestes1984
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by theuserjohnny View Post
So DTSHD is indeed the HD audio for those who can support it... but of course ATV can't because it dosen't support it. So if say the ATV4 comes out and supports HD audio I can play then play the DTSHD track?
In a word yes, you can leave the DTSHD audio track in there and down convert it on another audio track to something that the Apple TV can play such Dolby Pro Logic II, Dolby Digital 5.1 or etc... Your Apple TV will simply ignore the DTS track and play the Dolby one instead.

Last edited by orestes1984; Nov 13, 2012 at 11:50 AM.
orestes1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:45 AM   #5
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Just to be clear, HB will convert the DTS to Dolby Digital 5.1 surround using the 6-channel discrete selection.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:50 AM   #6
orestes1984
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic j View Post
Just to be clear, HB will convert the DTS to Dolby Digital 5.1 surround using the 6-channel discrete selection.
Yes it will
orestes1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:59 PM   #7
GarrettL1979
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
hmm... so would it make sense to include a 3rd DTS HD pass thru track for potential future use even though it won't work now?

If so, I wish I would have been doing this all along...
GarrettL1979 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 03:25 PM   #8
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarrettL1979 View Post
hmm... so would it make sense to include a 3rd DTS HD pass thru track for potential future use even though it won't work now?
Probably not. The current ATV doesn't even support lossy DTS and last time I checked, the only true 5.1 that comes with iTunes purchased content is 384kbps AC3. Sound "quality" does not appear to be a concern of Apple's.
__________________
Desktop: i3 4130 - OS X 10.9 & Windows 8
Notebook: i5 3317U - Xubuntu 14.04
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 03:59 PM   #9
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by AdrianK View Post
Probably not. The current ATV doesn't even support lossy DTS and last time I checked, the only true 5.1 that comes with iTunes purchased content is 384kbps AC3. Sound "quality" does not appear to be a concern of Apple's.
well, to be specific, the atv's of all gen's support up to 448 kbps Dolby Digital 5.1
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:04 PM   #10
theuserjohnny
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by GarrettL1979 View Post
hmm... so would it make sense to include a 3rd DTS HD pass thru track for potential future use even though it won't work now?

If so, I wish I would have been doing this all along...
I'm going to be doing it to future proof myself. I guess it's just up for debate... that and it gives me the opportunity to throw away the MKV files. However, I think it will take awhile for Apple to include it... but you can jailbrake the ATV to support it.
__________________
2013 13' Macbook Air, 1.3GHz, 4GBRAM, 256GBSSD
2012 15" rMBP, 2.7GHz, 16GBRAM, 768GBSSD
2006 13" Macbook (white), 2.16GHz, 3GBRAM, 120GBHD
Google Nexus 4 16GB
theuserjohnny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:22 PM   #11
orestes1984
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by theuserjohnny View Post
I'm going to be doing it to future proof myself. I guess it's just up for debate... that and it gives me the opportunity to throw away the MKV files. However, I think it will take awhile for Apple to include it... but you can jailbrake the ATV to support it.
There's not enough data throughput in an optical cable to support HD Audio, in theory it's just passthrough though and the same applies from HDMI which can also pass through an audio signal. In theory the Apple TV could support HD audio over HDMI, but it doesn't support the right codecs out of the box.

The reality is that the difference between 6 channel discreet, Dolby Digital, which the Apple TV supports, and higher standards is marginal at best in terms of effect for the home theatre experience. You're better off buying fewer speakers of better quality in 5.1 then spending the extra on 7.1. Furthermore, without a large room for a dedicated theatre setup most people won't notice the difference between 5.1, and 7.1 and you can actually over speaker a room.

Quality over quantity, the biggest bonus of HD formats is losless audio so with decent enough speakers you can here it as it was recorded rather than through a lossy audio formats.

Last edited by orestes1984; Nov 13, 2012 at 05:02 PM.
orestes1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 04:31 PM   #12
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by orestes1984 View Post
There's not enough data throughput in an optical cable to support it, in theory it's just passthrough though and the same applies from HDMI. In theory the Apple TV could support HD audio over HDMI, but it doesn't support the right codecs out of the box.

The reality is that the difference between 6.1 the Apple TV supports and higher standards is marginal at best as is the difference in audio quality you're better off buying fewer speakers of better quality.
I had a Popbox and it supported HD audio over optical. But I agree with you that telling the difference in HD vs normal audio is marginal at best.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 05:06 PM   #13
orestes1984
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Australia
Hmm... seems like it may actually a HDCP thing, but theres as many as confused as I am thinking its a bandwidth thing

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1084645/no...lu-ray-players

Last edited by orestes1984; Nov 13, 2012 at 05:12 PM.
orestes1984 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 05:16 PM   #14
mic j
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by orestes1984 View Post
Hmm... seems like it may actually a HDCP thing, but theres as many as confused as I am thinking its a bandwidth thing

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1084645/no...lu-ray-players
Not to say I can't trust everything you say...but I had to do a little research on this. You are right. The Popbox I had, while able to passthrough HD audio, could only do so through HDMI.
__________________
17" MBP '09, 2.66 GHz, 8GB RAM; 13" MBP (Retina) '12, 2.5GHz, 8GB RAM; iPad 2, 32GB; AE; TV 3; AEBS w 1TB Seagate HDD; 65" Mits DLP, Sony STR-DB1070 AVR
mic j is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Save "gray scale" and "max contrast" via Universal Access in screen captures NeonKingKong OS X 2 Jun 2, 2013 09:09 PM
2010 27" iMac screen issue..."dirty", "cloudy", image retention issues MMcCraryNJ iMac 1 May 18, 2013 04:02 PM
Start a new tab similar to "iOS blog" and "Mac blog" but make it "IPhone Leaks?" Dewroo Site and Forum Feedback 2 Aug 23, 2012 09:47 AM
DTS HD 5.1 vs DTS 5.1 on Blu-ray? applefan289 Community Discussion 5 Jun 25, 2012 11:39 AM
2011 15" MacBook Pro running at 1/4 speed! WTH?? adr1974 MacBook Pro 5 Jun 1, 2012 08:55 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC