Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:07 PM   #1
DAneil808
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Does at&t require a credit check when upgrading to the iphone 5?

I dont have much credit so im worried if im gonna have to pay a big deposit. I currently have a iphone 3gs and am eligibile to upgrade.
DAneil808 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:12 PM   #2
Afbar1114
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
no they shouldnt because your already on a plan...how are you planing on paying?
__________________
MBP 13", 256GB SSD, 8GB RAM, 500GB HDD in Optical bay|iPad mini| 2TB Time Capsule| iPhone 5s 32GB| AppleTV
Afbar1114 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:12 PM   #3
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
They shouldn't. Your contract expired so you're free to upgrade as long as you pay the bill. If you were joining another service they might require a credit check, someone on this site had to pay a $500 deposit.
tymaster50 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 08:26 PM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afbar1114 View Post
no they shouldnt because your already on a plan...how are you planing on paying?
Exactly.
Credit check is done when you open a new account.
Applejuiced is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2012, 09:09 PM   #5
xA4Hx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Or add a new line
xA4Hx is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 07:32 PM   #6
DAneil808
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Thanks guys! If anyone else who recently upgraded to the 5 and didnt do a credit check, it would appreciated if you posted thanks again.
DAneil808 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 07:37 PM   #7
tymaster50
macrumors 68030
 
tymaster50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by DAneil808 View Post
Thanks guys! If anyone else who recently upgraded to the 5 and didnt do a credit check, it would appreciated if you posted thanks again.
Got mine from radioshack, they asked for details, did the upgrade and got applecare no credit check required, they would lose so much business if they did anyway
tymaster50 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2012, 03:56 AM   #8
xA4Hx
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
I have iPhone 5 on AT&T upgrade and I work at a third party dealer, they won't do a credit check unless it is new account or you are adding a line to your account , those are what trigger credit Check. They do require ur bill to be up to date , meaning if its past due or due sometimes in couple days they want payment in full on bill first.
xA4Hx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC