Areca 1680x in MP 2012 - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 14, 2012, 03:11 AM   #1
slater-k
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Areca 1680x in MP 2012

Hi Everyone,

My 3,1 going on the blink has made me investigate whether i should switch to the newest MP.

My set up includes an Areca 1680x driving an 8 HDD box raid, but can someone tell me if the 1680 will work in the latest MP?

(I know that the 1680 is EOL and i can't find any info on it with the latest MP.)

Many thanks
slater-k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:08 AM   #2
Spacedust
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by slater-k View Post
Hi Everyone,

My 3,1 going on the blink has made me investigate whether i should switch to the newest MP.

My set up includes an Areca 1680x driving an 8 HDD box raid, but can someone tell me if the 1680 will work in the latest MP?

(I know that the 1680 is EOL and i can't find any info on it with the latest MP.)

Many thanks
Sure no problems. I got ARC-1231ML in MP 4,1 (flashed to 5,1) and it works without any problems. It's now even faster than on 3,1.
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+4x64 GB SSD RAID0/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/BD-RE/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:39 AM   #3
Bwa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston & San Jose
I have a 1680x in my 2012; I just upgraded from a 2008. Works great. 8 disk enclosure plugged into it.
__________________
office pictures - http://tinyurl.com/3sfpbd
Bwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 06:47 AM   #4
Spacedust
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwa View Post
I have a 1680x in my 2012; I just upgraded from a 2008. Works great. 8 disk enclosure plugged into it.
What is the max speed you've got ? Mine in almost 900 MB/s with 4x SSD drives.
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+4x64 GB SSD RAID0/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/BD-RE/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 07:52 AM   #5
slater-k
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwa View Post
I have a 1680x in my 2012; I just upgraded from a 2008. Works great. 8 disk enclosure plugged into it.
Thanks Bwa and Spacedust ... that's great to know! I'm not sure if i'm set on upgrading yet, the prospect of a new / replacement Mac Pro next year is keeping me dangling.

Bwa - what are your impressions of moving from the 2008 to 2012 ... i'm a photographer and the doubling in performance would be great, though perhaps only save me 10 mins a day, when i'm editing / processing in Lightroom, but reliability can cost me a whole day.

Anyway, thanks again guys,
Slaterk
slater-k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 08:19 AM   #6
Bwa
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boston & San Jose
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacedust View Post
What is the max speed you've got ? Mine in almost 900 MB/s with 4x SSD drives.
Something like that. 800-980 for most tests, off the top of my head.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slater-k View Post
Thanks Bwa and Spacedust ... that's great to know! I'm not sure if i'm set on upgrading yet, the prospect of a new / replacement Mac Pro next year is keeping me dangling.

Bwa - what are your impressions of moving from the 2008 to 2012 ... i'm a photographer and the doubling in performance would be great, though perhaps only save me 10 mins a day, when i'm editing / processing in Lightroom, but reliability can cost me a whole day.

Anyway, thanks again guys,
Slaterk
It is much smoother. Some minor things in my workflow were really irritating because they were slow; things are less so now. Some stuff I do used to bog down the 2008; the 2012 doesn't notice. It's fantastic.

I upgraded because
- the 32 GB RAM ceiling was killing me.
- above-mentioned annoyances
- raw speed for more intense things were significantly faster on my 2011 mbp than my old mac pro
- I don't want to buy whatever is next for the first few months it's on the market. I bought my 2008 on release day and it was 6 months before Apple had the software stable.
- I offset about 30% of the purchase price for the upgrade (~$5k) with the sale of the old Mac Pro
- Tax write off for this year
__________________
office pictures - http://tinyurl.com/3sfpbd
Bwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 09:49 AM   #7
Spacedust
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwa View Post
Something like that. 800-980 for most tests, off the top of my head.



It is much smoother. Some minor things in my workflow were really irritating because they were slow; things are less so now. Some stuff I do used to bog down the 2008; the 2012 doesn't notice. It's fantastic.

I upgraded because
- the 32 GB RAM ceiling was killing me.
- above-mentioned annoyances
- raw speed for more intense things were significantly faster on my 2011 mbp than my old mac pro
- I don't want to buy whatever is next for the first few months it's on the market. I bought my 2008 on release day and it was 6 months before Apple had the software stable.
- I offset about 30% of the purchase price for the upgrade (~$5k) with the sale of the old Mac Pro
- Tax write off for this year
Add failing and very hot FB-DIMM modules in MP 2008 to the list My old MP 2008 was taking 200W when idle, the current one just 130W.
__________________
MP2009, 2x2.93 GHz/64 GB RAM/GTX680/180 GB+4x64 GB SSD RAID0/ARC-1880IX-16-4G+BBU/RME HDSPe AIO/BD-RE/ACD 23"/TC 3TB
iPhone 5 16GB white
Spacedust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 09:49 AM   #8
slater-k
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bwa View Post
I bought my 2008 on release day and it was 6 months before Apple had the software stable.
Yeah, me too! I'm just feeling that it might be worth going for the new one, before the old one starts creaking ...
Cheers
slater-k is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts on Areca RAID... SnapperUK Mac Peripherals 29 May 28, 2014 12:44 PM
Faulty RAM in Areca ARC1880 Spacedust Mac Pro 1 May 10, 2014 11:26 AM
Areca 1882ix-24 alternative wa5655 Mac Pro 3 Sep 9, 2013 11:06 PM
Booting off of Areca RAID on Mid 2012 Mac Pro possible? Shadow Lord Mac Pro 14 Aug 15, 2013 01:08 PM
Questions about Installation of Areca 4i 1213 Xibao Mac Pro 0 Mar 1, 2013 01:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC