Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Web Design and Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 14, 2013, 04:31 AM   #1
silversealilies
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
HELP - so frustrating, one site won't work on my Macs????

Hello all,

I have a MacBook Pro and an iMac, and there's one Wordpress site that just won't work on my computers! It's my business site, so it's kind of important that I can get on to view and edit it.

I cannot for the life of me figure this out. When I type in the URL, the site flashes up for a split second, then disappears. This happens on Chrome, Safari, Firefox and Opera on both my computers.

I'm running OSX 10.6.8 on both my Macs.

I thought maybe it was a network issue, but it happens at both my home and my office, and no one else has this problem - that's why I think it's a Mac problem (I'm the only one with Macs).

Anyone have any ideas??
silversealilies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2013, 04:36 AM   #2
costabunny
macrumors 68000
 
costabunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ~/
Send a message via Skype™ to costabunny
perhaps if you gives us the link? maybe we can come up with some ideas?

if its just a standard wordpress site then it should not be an issue.

you can always try an online checker such as http://try.powermapper.com/Demo/SortSite and see what that says.

Other things to try - open a terminal window and try

Code:
ping www.yoursite.com
that should tell you if your mac can reach it.
__________________
Bunny has an iPhone 5C, a PC, and a MacBook Pro retina

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”
costabunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2013, 04:40 AM   #3
silversealilies
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Thanks for the quick reply. The site is www.insidekentmagazine.co.uk

I scanned the site as suggested with Powermapper - nothing major comes up apart from Accessibility (which is like another language to me!).
silversealilies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2013, 05:38 AM   #4
dan1eln1el5en
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
the OS is not to blame, for sure.

I see 10 errors one of which is:
Port: Could not establish connection. Receiving end does not exist.

on Chrome
dan1eln1el5en is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2013, 09:44 AM   #5
960design
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Destin, FL
I gave you a hit, popped right up on my mac with no issues.
__________________
TI-99/4A, tape cassette, 12" B&W Zenith
960design is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2013, 09:57 AM   #6
costabunny
macrumors 68000
 
costabunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ~/
Send a message via Skype™ to costabunny
same here - no issues Mavericks with Safari and chrome.

routing issue? DNS? ISP?
__________________
Bunny has an iPhone 5C, a PC, and a MacBook Pro retina

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”
costabunny is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2013, 07:20 PM   #7
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Works fine on my OSX 10.6.8 partition. It's a magazine site with infinite scroll.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2013, 07:08 AM   #8
macman312
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: melbourne
No issues here. Safari on Mavericks
macman312 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2013, 11:19 AM   #9
r.harris1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Denver, CO
To echo other threads, works perfectly well on Mavericks, Safari. Looks like a lot of happy Kentish-folk on that site .
r.harris1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2013, 01:51 PM   #10
firedept
macrumors Demi-God
 
firedept's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Somewhere!
Firefox, Chrome and Safari are all working fine here with your site.
__________________
Success only comes before work in the dictionary!
firedept is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2013, 05:23 AM   #11
silversealilies
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Thanks for checking everyone, but it still doesn't work for me!!! Anyone have any ideas?
silversealilies is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2013, 05:41 AM   #12
smirking
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Campbell, CA
Send a message via Yahoo to smirking
You can get a blank screen if your hosting runs out of memory, but usually you wouldn't get even the initial flash of content.

Are you logged in when you view your site? If you are try visiting in Safari with private browsing turned on or Chrome Incognito mode so you'll be anonymous and (probably) get served mostly cached content that won't require much processing.
smirking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2013, 08:00 AM   #13
960design
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Destin, FL
Maybe its a cache thing? Try Safari-> Click on the Safari word-> Reset Safari.

This will clear out all the old stuff, then try navigating to the page with the full url, actually type it, don't click a link. Oops... already mentioned above!

Are using an external host? Or self hosted? Could be a lan redirect issue ( .htaccess or php.ini configured not 100% correct ). I've spent many hours of my life, fighting with this. Take your computer to another network and see if you can see it.
__________________
TI-99/4A, tape cassette, 12" B&W Zenith
960design is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2013, 02:06 PM   #14
Consultant
macrumors G5
 
Consultant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by silversealilies View Post
Thanks for checking everyone, but it still doesn't work for me!!! Anyone have any ideas?
Ask your host for help. It works on 10.6.8 and other Mac OS for people here so problem is on your end.
Consultant is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Web Design and Development

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do New Macbook chargers work on old Macs? vadamo MacBook 4 Nov 30, 2013 09:11 AM
Do old Macs work well with Mountain Lion Server? bavbavis PowerPC Macs 3 Oct 12, 2013 11:46 AM
Off site backup 2 Macs NutFlush920 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 10 Feb 24, 2013 04:23 PM
Do emulators work best on PPC Macs? faroZ06 PowerPC Macs 4 Oct 20, 2012 08:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC