Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:21 PM   #1
nxb8373
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Just got my brand new 27.89GB Ipad, don't remember choosing that option

Just got my new Ipad 32GB (yeah right). It shows 27.89GB capacity. Anyone else have this problem?
nxb8373 is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:22 PM   #2
gforce216
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nxb8373 View Post
Just got my new Ipad 32GB (yeah right). It shows 27.89GB capacity. Anyone else have this problem?
It's iOS. This has been like this since the iPhone originally came out. Operating systems take up space.
gforce216 is offline   7
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:33 PM   #3
michelob tfs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
LOL. Formatted space is never 32GB either.

It's not a problem.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by gforce216 View Post
It's iOS. This has been like this since the iPhone originally came out. Operating systems take up space.

It's been like this since time immemorial.
michelob tfs is offline   4
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:34 PM   #4
BensonTT
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Am a noob and even I know this! LoL
BensonTT is offline   6
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:36 PM   #5
ucfgrad93
macrumors G5
 
ucfgrad93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Colorado
Be thankful you didn't buy a Microsoft Surface tablet. I hear the 32GB version comes with only 16GB available to the user.
ucfgrad93 is offline   6
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:37 PM   #6
ibarrett94
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
The thiefs at JFK only stole a small portion of your iPad.
__________________
base rMBP, 3.4 sandy bridge hack, iPad̶ 2̶ 3, iPhone ̶4̶ 4̶s̶ 5, VZW iPad mini.
ibarrett94 is offline   4
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:38 PM   #7
aziatiklover
macrumors 68020
 
aziatiklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
Try the surface with 32G version! You will get half of that!
__________________
ppleholic
aziatiklover is offline   1
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:41 PM   #8
DaReaper
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Lol n00b
DaReaper is offline   3
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:43 PM   #9
peeaanuut
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to peeaanuut
must be new to computers too.
peeaanuut is offline   4
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:47 PM   #10
adam044
macrumors 65816
 
adam044's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Boston
Quote:
Originally Posted by nxb8373 View Post
Just got my new Ipad 32GB (yeah right). It shows 27.89GB capacity. Anyone else have this problem?
ALL devices that contain a storage capitity are not exact to what they say

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by ibarrett94 View Post
The thiefs at JFK only stole a small portion of your iPad.
hahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahahahahahahha lololololollololol
adam044 is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2012, 09:58 PM   #11
MacinTosh.0
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Just when I thought I saw it all on this forum. I was proven wrong.
MacinTosh.0 is offline   6
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:07 PM   #12
Yr Blues
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by aziatiklover View Post
Try the surface with 32G version! You will get half of that!
15 gigs, advertised as 30 gigs

that's not the only failure of the surf-face
Yr Blues is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:18 PM   #13
LS1
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
One of the dumbest threads I've read on this site.
LS1 is offline   3
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:23 PM   #14
rockyroad55
macrumors 68040
 
rockyroad55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Phila, PA
Oh dear lord.
__________________
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything it's too late to stop reading it.
rockyroad55 is offline   2
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:29 PM   #15
iapplelove
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: East Coast USA
Lol looks like someone just bought their first idevice
iapplelove is offline   3
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:32 PM   #16
rockyroad55
macrumors 68040
 
rockyroad55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Phila, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by iapplelove View Post
Lol looks like someone just bought their first idevice
I'm going to go out on a limb here and say it's their first real device of storage. Just saying.
__________________
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything it's too late to stop reading it.
rockyroad55 is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:36 PM   #17
shootingrubber
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
This is the dumbest thread I have ever read in any forum ever. Have you never owned a phone, tablet, computer, or any sort of storage device in your life?
shootingrubber is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:40 PM   #18
MacinTosh.0
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
In for waiting for the OP to respond.
MacinTosh.0 is offline   1
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:48 PM   #19
RSC10
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
For all of you taking cheap shots at the OP, why don't you get a life? Seriously. What a bunch of adolescent, condescending tools. Grow up....
RSC10 is offline   8
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:51 PM   #20
aziatiklover
macrumors 68020
 
aziatiklover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacinTosh.0 View Post
In for waiting for the OP to respond.
He is never gonna come back ever! Lmao

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by RSC10 View Post
For all of you taking cheap shots at the OP, why don't you get a life? Seriously. What a bunch of adolescent, condescending tools. Grow up....
Y u mad?
__________________
ppleholic
aziatiklover is offline   0
Old Nov 15, 2012, 10:52 PM   #21
Appl3FTW
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
OH LAWDDDD
Appl3FTW is offline   0
Old Nov 16, 2012, 12:01 AM   #22
AdonisSMU
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nxb8373 View Post
Just got my new Ipad 32GB (yeah right). It shows 27.89GB capacity. Anyone else have this problem?
Surface gives you 16/32 gigs...
AdonisSMU is offline   0
Old Nov 16, 2012, 01:14 AM   #23
crazycanucks
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Not new OP. Check your 500GB drivbe in your MacBook, its not actually 500GB. Its really less than 500GB. Blame the marketing folks, they want a fuzzy round number like 500, but 1 byte= 1KB, 1024 KB=1MB and so on. 500GB would be

http://www.howtogeek.com/123268/wind...rong-capacity/
crazycanucks is offline   0
Old Nov 16, 2012, 01:27 AM   #24
DionysusTheVino
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
This topic again?
DionysusTheVino is offline   0
Old Nov 16, 2012, 01:58 AM   #25
zurichuk
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
What a nice welcoming bunch you all are
zurichuk is offline   2

Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC