Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 16, 2012, 12:46 AM   #1
unagimiyagi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
How to display 2560x1440 using MacBook Air (2011)

Hi,

I just bought this Auria 27" LED IPS monitor at: http://www.microcenter.com/product/3...PS_LED_Monitor

Background that you can skip:
I went for this over the $300 monitors on Ebay b/c
1) it's Local with a 100% refund within 30 days, very generous and no risk
2) it has a full complement of ports: dvi, dp, hdmi, vga.
3) this full set of ports would put the cost at at least $400 even on ebay.

It has the same panel as the $999 Thunderbolt monitor (that's the consensus).

Of course, now being the cheap little monitor that it is, it won't display anything past 1920x1080.

Macbook air 2011, running mountain lion.

I have tried connecting with DVI, HDMI, Displayport.

Any ideas?

I'm using a mini-displayport adapter from monoprice hooked up to my MBA.

This should work, but it doesn't. Can someone please tell me how to do this?

When I plug my mini displayport into the displayport input of the Auria, I get "NO Signal" on the monitor and that's it. It's not even detecting my displayport?

I should not need a dual link DVI to get this to work right?

I also have a 2009 17" macbook pro with an NVIDIA graphics card and that, too does not work over displayport.
Thanks
unagimiyagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 03:40 AM   #2
joewillmott
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: England
It could be that either the port on the back of the monitor, or the cable you're using, or the adapter you're using, is faulty. That's what happened to me about 2 months ago.

Take your MBA + adapter + cable to a store or somewhere with a proper thunderbolt display and check they all work, then you know it's the monitor. My faulty part was actually the cable in the end, despite me thinking it was the adapter for so long.
__________________
13" MBA i5/8GB/128GB || iPad rMini || iPhone 5 || iPod Touch 4G

I make apps and games and stuff: JoeWillmott.com
joewillmott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 07:05 PM   #3
unagimiyagi
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Well, does anyone have any mac, of any kind, working with this monitor?

I bought new cables (hdmi 1.3b), so I know that works.
I can not find a minidisplayport to displayport cable in a retail store.
I bought another minidisplayport to hdmi adapter, and it looks to be the exact same OEM as my previous one, which is from monoprice. These are the identical cables about 1-1.5 years apart.

I get no signal connecting from displayport at all.

If I need a $99 cable dual link dvi, then I should just return the monitor b/c a $100 cable is ridiculous. Then I will start to look at a Dell monitor, etc. Factoring in time cost of trying to figure this out, for what amounts to nonuseful knowledge gained for my life, is not going to be worth it. I will try to connect the same cables using windows bootcamp. If that works, that will clinch that it's os x mountain lion that is the problem. It will peeve me if I find that Apple has only supported their $999 monitor which is their prerogative, but they have really taken the control way way too far.
unagimiyagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 08:02 PM   #4
jmoore5196
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: London
Friend, let me share some sage wisdom to add to your "non-useful" store: you get what you pay for.

If you want a solution that "just works," then take your $300 panel back to MicroCenter and pony up another $700 for an ACD.

If your sole objective is to avoid spending money, I fear you'll only be frustrated in your attempt to derive an elegant solution from inelegant product choices.
jmoore5196 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 08:52 PM   #5
drambuie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
If you want 2560 x 1440, you need a Mini DisplayPort to dual link DVI adapter. Single link DVI will only go to 1920 x 1200. If it works at 1920 x 1080 with a single link DVI adapter, then the dual link DVI adapter should be a go for 2560 x 1440. If the DVI cable that comes with the monitor has a solid block of 24 pins rather than two blocks of 9 pins, it is a dual link cable.

Last edited by drambuie; Nov 16, 2012 at 08:57 PM. Reason: additional info
drambuie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 08:56 PM   #6
unagimiyagi
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
OK, here are the steps if you want to run your macbook air 2011 at 2560x1440 with the Auria monitor.

1. Order this from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-6-Fee...plyaport+cable

2. Plug it in.

For reference, I am using Mountain Lion, a macbook air 2011.

For other reference, I have a 2009 Macbook pro 17" with a mini displayport, but the most it will do is 2048x1120.

I did not know the difference b/w a passthrough adapter and an active adapter. I naively thought that I could just string the right parts together, as long as one end was a mini displayport and the other end was a displayport, then it should work at full resolution.
I was using mini displayport -> hdmi female adapter....then connecting an hdmi -hdmi cable to an hdmi to displayport adapter.

Yes, I actually had all of those parts lying around.

This might actually work if I could have found a minidisplayport to hdmi 1.3b adapter, used for sure hdmi 1.3 cables.

HDMI and displayport are not the same thing, even though they are close cousins.

In a nutshell, just buy the cable I listed above. It's completely and utterly not worth the effort to do anything else. It will work, and the audio also works. To use the audio, go into sound preferences and look under the output device. It is not the first tab that you see (that's for sound effects). Then it will work. I rate the built-in speakers. (yes the monitor has them) as good as the ones on my 17" macbook pro, and yes it has an analog headphone out jack in case you wish to connect to some speakers. You could in theory use this as an hdtv, or certainly with an apple tv if needed.

Problem solved for $10. Other solutions with this monitor will cost you upwards of $70 to $99, thereby completing negating the purpose of buying the monitor in the first place (the discount). I could not find a mini displayport to displayport cable at a retail store at all.

Now I do have an Apple Cinema-level quality display for $399. Microcenter sells both monitors so I had a look. The screen is beautiful and as far as I can tell is identical, and certainly, certainly, certainly worth the money.

Happy as a clam and I am thinking of buying another one, but the price can only go down, so I may wait.
unagimiyagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:53 PM   #7
twenty4play
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by unagimiyagi View Post
OK, here are the steps if you want to run your macbook air 2011 at 2560x1440 with the Auria monitor.

1. Order this from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-6-Fee...plyaport+cable

2. Plug it in.

For reference, I am using Mountain Lion, a macbook air 2011.

For other reference, I have a 2009 Macbook pro 17" with a mini displayport, but the most it will do is 2048x1120.

I did not know the difference b/w a passthrough adapter and an active adapter. I naively thought that I could just string the right parts together, as long as one end was a mini displayport and the other end was a displayport, then it should work at full resolution.
I was using mini displayport -> hdmi female adapter....then connecting an hdmi -hdmi cable to an hdmi to displayport adapter.

Yes, I actually had all of those parts lying around.

This might actually work if I could have found a minidisplayport to hdmi 1.3b adapter, used for sure hdmi 1.3 cables.

HDMI and displayport are not the same thing, even though they are close cousins.

In a nutshell, just buy the cable I listed above. It's completely and utterly not worth the effort to do anything else. It will work, and the audio also works. To use the audio, go into sound preferences and look under the output device. It is not the first tab that you see (that's for sound effects). Then it will work. I rate the built-in speakers. (yes the monitor has them) as good as the ones on my 17" macbook pro, and yes it has an analog headphone out jack in case you wish to connect to some speakers. You could in theory use this as an hdtv, or certainly with an apple tv if needed.

Problem solved for $10. Other solutions with this monitor will cost you upwards of $70 to $99, thereby completing negating the purpose of buying the monitor in the first place (the discount). I could not find a mini displayport to displayport cable at a retail store at all.

Now I do have an Apple Cinema-level quality display for $399. Microcenter sells both monitors so I had a look. The screen is beautiful and as far as I can tell is identical, and certainly, certainly, certainly worth the money.

Happy as a clam and I am thinking of buying another one, but the price can only go down, so I may wait.

This may be a tad premature... But you're a life saver! I just unboxed my Auria 27" 30 minutes ago and was banging my head trying to figure out why I couldn't get full resolution. I too had the HDMI to Mini-DP adapter... fail. Interestingly, when I went to Amazon, that cable was already in my shopping cart... lol I was eyeing it a few days ago when I started researching the Auria monitor, I should have just bought it then!

Thanks for posting your resolution (pun intended)!
twenty4play is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 01:43 PM   #8
unagimiyagi
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
No problem, I'm sure that going from minidisplayport to displayport directly, no hdmi interconversions, will work at full resolution.
It did on my macbook air 2011.
Definitely do not settle for 1920x1080 and keep at it; it does work with the Auria monitor.
If you can get an Auria without dead pixels and even backlighting, it's every bit as good as the Thunderbolt display. Same panel used.
unagimiyagi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 06:11 PM   #9
csixty4
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Somerville, MA
I have the same monitor and an 11" Air (previously a 2010, now a 2012). You cannot get the full resolution over HDMI. You need to use a direct DisplayPort cable. It might also work with a dual-link DVI, but I haven't tried that.
csixty4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 09:58 PM   #10
xxcysxx
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
hi, i just got the display cable from the amazon store that was provided by the link on this post and i cannot get 2560x1440 on my macbook air.

macbook air specs are:
mid 2012 11 inch macbook air
i7 2.0GHz
8GB ram
256GB ssd

monitor is the auria 27 inch 2560x1440 from micro center
interface cable is the amazon mini display male to display male.

i could not get the external monitor to display 2560x1440 at all. it shows it as available but when i selected the images is all garbled up and unusable. however, the highest i can get is 2048x1152, which is not what i intended to get this cable for.

is there any special setting you have to make to get native resolution with this cable?
could i have a bad cable? though i don't think it is since it work just fine up to 2048x1152.
furthermore, i've also tried to connect this cable to my mid 2011 mac mini, and i get the boot loop. yeah the mac mini was stuck in a boot loop, and when i reconnect it back with the hdmi cable it boot just fine. weird!

anyway, could i have a bad cable or just this auria just doesn't support 2560x1440 from a mac? because my gaming pc display runs just fine over the same hdmi cable at the monitor native resolution.
xxcysxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2013, 09:33 PM   #11
itnaanti
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by unagimiyagi View Post
OK, here are the steps if you want to run your macbook air 2011 at 2560x1440 with the Auria monitor.

1. Order this from Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/StarTech-6-Fee...plyaport+cable

2. Plug it in.
I know this thread is a little old, but I wanted to chime in and mention that I purchased the cable above (the 6' version) to connect my 2013 MBA 11" to the same Auria monitor mentioned above, and it does work perfectly for me. 2560x1440 @ 60Hz.

$8 cable saved me from having to pick up the $99 dual-link. Thanks!
itnaanti is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2013, 09:38 PM   #12
specialbuddy
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by itnaanti View Post
I know this thread is a little old, but I wanted to chime in and mention that I purchased the cable above (the 6' version) to connect my 2013 MBA 11" to the same Auria monitor mentioned above, and it does work perfectly for me. 2560x1440 @ 60Hz.

$8 cable saved me from having to pick up the $99 dual-link. Thanks!
I have an adapter that has HDMI, DVI and DP. I plugged in a display port cable and it shows that it is displaying at native resolution but I have about a 1/2 inch letter box around the outsides. It's not expanding all the way. Do you know of anything to fix this? This is the first time I have hooked up the MBA 2011 to this monitor and it looks amazing. I'm tempted to not hook it back up to my PC
specialbuddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2014, 11:00 AM   #13
oranges03
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by specialbuddy View Post
I have an adapter that has HDMI, DVI and DP. I plugged in a display port cable and it shows that it is displaying at native resolution but I have about a 1/2 inch letter box around the outsides. It's not expanding all the way. Do you know of anything to fix this? This is the first time I have hooked up the MBA 2011 to this monitor and it looks amazing. I'm tempted to not hook it back up to my PC
i have this exact same issue, except for a 2013 MBA. i get full resolution (2560x1440) through mini displayport to displayport, but have 1/2 inch letter box around what is displayed.

also, this is on an acer B276HUL, which provides no options to scale the screen.

the odd part is, when i reboot the computer, the grey screen with the apple logo is displayed 100% without the letter box.

i tried downsizing the resolution to 2048x1152, but the letterbox stays. anyone know of a fix?

i dont think its the cable, this is happening to my other macbook air also (have 2 acer monitors, both running off of MBAs)
oranges03 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2014, 02:26 PM   #14
thisma
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Overscan and Underscan

[QUOTE=specialbuddy;18238556]I plugged in a display port cable and it shows that it is displaying at native resolution but I have about a 1/2 inch letter box around the outsides. It's not expanding all the way. Do you know of anything to fix this?/QUOTE]

Often displays have a "overscan" or "underscan" mode. This is more often on TV type displays. OS X also sometimes had a "no-overscan" mode in the displays preference pane; it looks like they call it "overscan correction" now. Here's an article if found describing the issue: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT5841

It was always strange to me to see this sort of thing on a fully digital connection end to end. Anyway, on one display that I used intermittently it would go outside the edge or an inch or so inside the edge is switch the overscan setting in OS X and eventually the display would rebel and I'd have to toggle it again.
thisma is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone using those ~$350 27" 2560x1440 S-IPS screens with their Macbook Air? Philflow MacBook Air 35 Dec 19, 2013 02:04 AM
Can my Macbook Pro handle a 2560x1440 Display? jlabs Mac Peripherals 3 Sep 29, 2013 02:12 PM
Possibly to replace Macbook air 13 mid 2011 display? naamankaa MacBook Air 13 Jun 17, 2013 12:44 AM
Lag with ML MacBook Air (Late 2011) w/ Thunderbolt Display? Mykonos MacBook Air 5 Aug 6, 2012 12:37 PM
Macbook air 2011 AS external second display to my PC tpizzle MacBook Air 3 Jul 11, 2012 11:13 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC