Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 16, 2012, 10:32 PM   #1
handyn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
wondering the phone lock status

hey guys
today i recevied verizon a1429 cdma model iphone 5.
currently using it with at&t prepaid sim card.

i heard all the verizon iphone 5s are unlocked and compatible with any other carriers sim.
at the first time i put my att sim card in it, i was not allowed to access internet, it said i do not subscribe data features even I do. so I googled and change my apn settings through unlockit.co.nz and it's working now.

i'm so confused that my phone is unlocked or not.
i also did imei check and it says it's sim-locked but i was able to make a phone call&text before change the apn settings with att sim card.

anyone have an idea?
handyn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 10:33 PM   #2
albertxp06
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: California
You're able to use it on AT&T. It's unlocked.
albertxp06 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 11:07 PM   #3
handyn
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
well, but without apn settings, i cannot access at&t's 3g network.
handyn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 11:44 PM   #4
Daveoc64
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by handyn View Post
well, but without apn settings, i cannot access at&t's 3g network.
and?

If your phone is locked, you won't get ANYTHING when you put an unsupported SIM into the phone.

The fact that you have been able to get it working shows that your phone is unlocked.
__________________
Nexus 5 32GB Black (Three UK) | Nexus 7 (2012) | Kindle Paperwhite (2013)
iPhone 4 32GB
White MacBook (Late 2007)
Windows 8.1 | iCloud, Dropbox, Spotify Premium
Daveoc64 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2012, 11:52 PM   #5
handyn
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
yea but the weird thing is i cannot access 3g....without apn change
i saw some youtube video that they just switch sim card and access call, text, and 3g
how can i do that?
handyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: Making status bar dark on lock screen ddublu Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Mar 31, 2014 03:21 PM
Lock screen status bar glitch? Scott M iOS 7 5 Jan 24, 2014 12:38 PM
Wondering about this whole able to use Sprint phone on Virgin Mobile dealů cattc iPhone 1 Jul 25, 2013 01:07 PM
iPhone lock/unlock status musicloverdenon iPhone 0 Aug 20, 2012 02:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC