Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bmunge

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 7, 2012
I'm looking at getting the rMBP and I'm debating the processor upgrade. On one hand it seems like a decent upgrade in clock speed for a decent price, but I'm unsure what the real world applications are. I'm an app developer and game a bit, would I even notice the difference?

zackkmac

macrumors 6502a
Jul 7, 2008
Denver
I went from the 2.3 to the 2.7 model (both 16GB RAM) and never noticed the difference. I don't really think it's worth it unless you know you'll need it and have the extra money for it. If price isn't a concern for you then get it, you'll have better resell value when you sell it later.

pasadena

macrumors 6502a
Sep 12, 2012
Seattle, WA
My take is that if you really needed it, you'd know it. It takes a lot to go to the limit of a 2.3GHz quad-cores... So unless you know you use CPU-heavy appications, like heavy video editing, keep the money. You'll notice the difference in your wallet much more than the difference in your laptop ;-)

ssn637

macrumors 6502
Feb 12, 2009
Switzerland
I went for the 2.3 GHz because battery life was more important than power. But anandTech claims that scrolling issues can be improved by opting for the 2.7 GHz system, since single-threaded frequencies are higher.

do1984

macrumors member
Sep 7, 2012
I've noticed no difference from my 2.3 model to a 2.7 model from a friend in the applications I usually use (Autocad 2013, regular browsing/e-mail). Maybe it makes some difference in gaming. But I guess the upgrade price doesn't worth it.

ssn637

macrumors 6502
Feb 12, 2009
Switzerland
So how do you feel about your battery life now?