Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Old Nov 17, 2012, 12:31 PM   #1
Ademordna
macrumors regular

Which iMac?

I am about to upgrade, and after reading up on opinions concerning the new imac, I'm somewhat uncertain about what to opt for.

Have worked with macs for years, but never owned a desktop, so kinda new to this. Previously worked (for 8 yrs) on a custom built Windows machine, which served me well enough, but I am not prepared to work with Windows any longer (I am a freelance illustrator, also own macbook air and pro).

I basically only need a desktop for running Photoshop CS6 and Illustrator. I work with a lot of layers, etc, but very rarely use video. The work I do is intensive, but not extreme. I don't game or require anything too fancy, but reliability and performance still a big issue.

Apple rep on telephone advises entry level imac at 21.5". Said the 8Gb ram will suit me just fine. Do you guys agree? Wondering if 8Gb will be plenty to run my software efficiently over time.

Any advice would be appreciated. Reading the threads which express concern/displeasure about the new imac specs has certainly made me pause before I leap.

Thanks.
Ademordna is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 17, 2012, 01:54 PM   #2
Dr FranknFurter
macrumors member

Since the 21" is not user upgradable for memory you may want to think about 16GB for use with PS and for future proofing. In addition it seems the Fusion Drive is well worth the extra as well. If your budget allows for both that's what I would go for.