Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 20, 2012, 05:29 AM   #1
G0meZ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
carbon copy cloner: doing full instead of incr. bkup each time?

it seems to me that my ccc bkup is doing a full backup instead of incremental each time. eg. it copies all my apps every time.
i've tried with two ext fw800 hdd, bkup up my 500gb internal drive... it keeps taking some 1.5-2hrs each time, day... what could that be? log file says nothing...

(latest ccc version on osx.7.5 on mbp8.1)
G0meZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 05:50 AM   #2
Thessman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: GR
Quote:
Originally Posted by G0meZ View Post
it seems to me that my ccc bkup is doing a full backup instead of incremental each time. eg. it copies all my apps every time.
i've tried with two ext fw800 hdd, bkup up my 500gb internal drive... it keeps taking some 1.5-2hrs each time, day... what could that be? log file says nothing...

(latest ccc version on osx.7.5 on mbp8.1)
Just delete and rebuild the task...
Thessman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:28 AM   #3
G0meZ
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thessman View Post
Just delete and rebuild the task...
nah, done that
G0meZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:49 AM   #4
G0meZ
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
just checking the last log entry:
after all, it seems to not do a full bkup: 18.8gb took 02:41hrs...but that can't be right on fw800, no?
also, 18gb is way to much for an incremental bkup as far as i can tell...largest file copied is 17.2gb according to log...must be the frikking windows instance i suspect...maybe just exclude that volume then?
G0meZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 07:59 AM   #5
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
Quote:
Originally Posted by G0meZ View Post
just checking the last log entry:
after all, it seems to not do a full bkup: 18.8gb took 02:41hrs...but that can't be right on fw800, no?
also, 18gb is way to much for an incremental bkup as far as i can tell...largest file copied is 17.2gb according to log...must be the frikking windows instance i suspect...maybe just exclude that volume then?
Yeah it can't track individual files in the virtual machine. Instead all CCC knows is that the VM has changed and needs to be completely backed up. If your boot drive and VM are on the same drive and your VM is running this can make the backup very slow.

This is also a problem that occurs with large database files such as an Outlook PST.

I would also set up a backup to run from your VM to another drive for any files you want to protect in Windows.
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.
velocityg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 08:39 AM   #6
G0meZ
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by velocityg4 View Post
Yeah it can't track individual files in the virtual machine. Instead all CCC knows is that the VM has changed and needs to be completely backed up. If your boot drive and VM are on the same drive and your VM is running this can make the backup very slow.
i know, never have that monster running unless i absolutely have to.

Quote:
Originally Posted by velocityg4 View Post
I would also set up a backup to run from your VM to another drive for any files you want to protect in Windows.
no need for that. have taken the win-dir out of the ccc list...
but still, something's funny...ran a full ccc clone, took >2hrs (~350gb), rerunning same clone takes now already 1:44, comparing files forever and still copying ~600mb now
G0meZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 08:05 AM   #7
bombich
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Drop us a line over at help.bombich.com (use the "Ask a question" menu item from CCC's Help menu). It sounds like there could be either an issue with communication to the destination disk, or perhaps some sort of competition for bandwidth.

Mike
bombich is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 10:34 AM   #8
G0meZ
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bombich View Post
Drop us a line over at help.bombich.com (use the "Ask a question" menu item from CCC's Help menu). It sounds like there could be either an issue with communication to the destination disk, or perhaps some sort of competition for bandwidth.

Mike
thank you mike, i'll do that
G0meZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Time Machine vs Carbon Copy Cloner (or similar) bigpoppamac31 OS X 27 Apr 27, 2014 03:41 AM
Carbon Copy Cloner Vs. Time Machine ghsNick Mac Applications and Mac App Store 41 Nov 28, 2013 10:18 AM
rMBP Backup - Carbon Copy Cloner or Time Machine - please read all before posting gwelmarten OS X 14 May 13, 2013 11:44 AM
Need help with Carbon Copy Cloner kapalua12 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 12 May 7, 2013 10:33 AM
Time machine or Carbon Copy Cloner? bobright iMac 23 Dec 9, 2012 02:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:17 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC