Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:43 PM   #26
Mazda 3s
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Success in Raleigh, NC with iPhone 5/unlimited
Mazda 3s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:44 PM   #27
dacreativeguy
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Works in SF!
dacreativeguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:45 PM   #28
krravi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Only for unlimited plans?
__________________
Lots of Apple,Sony and other gadgets.
krravi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:46 PM   #29
raam89
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Golden state
I just checked mine. It's turned on as well! about time AT&T

iPhone 5 with 2gb tiered plan; Location SF bay area..

Last edited by raam89; Nov 20, 2012 at 11:48 PM. Reason: updated with phone and plan info
raam89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:47 PM   #30
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
one person was able to get it on their 4S with a tiered plan

https://twitter.com/DJPipperz/status/271127012490493952
arn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:47 PM   #31
dylanlive
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Grand Forks, N.D.
No go for me - Grand Forks, ND.

iPhone 5, Unlimited Data.
dylanlive is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:48 PM   #32
Mr. Gates
macrumors 68020
 
Mr. Gates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: --Redmond --------- ----------------Washington---
Why not ? You pay for data now.

I got grandfathered in early with the first iPhone, but it doesn't matter. Now they throttle your speed down to nothing if you go over 3 gigs .

Be careful people.

AT&T is NOT to be trusted in ANY fashion
__________________
This is a RUMOR site For speculation and discussion.Not a Fan-Club. Just because we are interested in Apple rumors it doesn't mean we should be frothing at the mouth with Apple rabid comments.
Mr. Gates is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:49 PM   #33
Max Book
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Tried restarting the phone, it still doesn't work. I get the message telling me to upgrade my data plan....

iPhone 5, 5GB plan with tethering
Max Book is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:49 PM   #34
rtdunham
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: St. Petersburg, FL, Northern KY
I'm not sure this is the right way to test, but I turned my iPhone5 off, then on again, checked prefs, and the use cellular-for-Facetime toggle was turned ON. This in greater cincinnati on a Verizon account with a shared data plan.
rtdunham is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:50 PM   #35
MadSkillzPhan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
works

works for me in stockton,CA although no LTE. Just att 4G
MadSkillzPhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:51 PM   #36
iBreatheApple
macrumors 68020
 
iBreatheApple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Florida
Funny this is posted today because coincidentally I called today asking if there was anything I needed to do or if it required an iOS update. They told me that I had to be on a shared data plan so clearly they are still unaware.
__________________
Steven Jobs was nothing less than brilliant. His vision to change the world was genuinely inspiring.
iBreatheApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:52 PM   #37
StealthMonkey
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
No go for iPhone 5 on tiered data plan in Austin, TX.

Tried hard reset, and the switch was actually enabled for a few seconds immediately after restart, then it turned off. Trying to turn if back on gives me the big blue message box.
StealthMonkey is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:53 PM   #38
BrianMojo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
I must be missing something here, as I don't even HAVE a toggle to turn off or on at the bottom of my FaceTime settings screen. Advice, anyone?

(I have an iPhone 4 btw)
BrianMojo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:53 PM   #39
Natesac
macrumors 6502a
 
Natesac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas,Tx
Rebooted still get the prompt to call AT&T. Dallas area iPhone 5 w/5GB tierd plan.
__________________
Dell Inspiron Q6600 Core 2 Quad Windows 7, 16GB Black iPad(3rdWfi), Apple TV 3, (AT&T)32Gb Black iPhone 5.............Im Bidigital
Natesac is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:53 PM   #40
arn
macrumors god
 
arn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Send a message via AIM to arn
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrianMojo View Post
I must be missing something here, as I don't even HAVE a toggle to turn off or on at the bottom of my FaceTime settings screen. Advice, anyone?
Setttings -> General -> Cellular -> Scroll down

arn
arn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:54 PM   #41
II BISTRO II
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Had to hard reset to get it to work

Unlimited in philadelphia
II BISTRO II is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:55 PM   #42
Goaliegeek
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Colorado
Send a message via AIM to Goaliegeek
Working for me! iPhone 5, LTE, and unlimited data. I just restarted my phone. Littleton/Denver, CO
__________________
Late 08 MBP 2.53GHz, 8GB RAM, 512mb 9400m&9600mGT; 16GB iPhone 5; 16GB White iPad 2
Goaliegeek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:56 PM   #43
Justinb51
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Regular restart, hard restart. No dice here.
Unlimited, iphone 5, AT&T
Justinb51 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:57 PM   #44
BrianMojo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by arn View Post
Setttings -> General -> Cellular -> Scroll down

arn
Nothing there either! This is very odd, especially because I remember there being an option at some point. Perhaps iPhone 4 has had this hard-coded out somehow?

I've got:

Cellular Data
Enable 3G
Data Roaming
Set Up Personal Hotspot

Use Cellular Data for:
iCloud Documents
iTunes
Passbook Updates
Reading List
BrianMojo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:58 PM   #45
StarDal
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by fraggot View Post
No dice, restarted my phone and nothing. The switch was actually enabled for like 2 seconds then it switched off.
Same here... Dallas grandfathered unlimited on the 5.
__________________
iPhone 5 (1 White and 1 Black); iPad 3 WiFi+LTE; 27" Intel i7 Quad Core iMac; Apple TV2; Apple TV3
StarDal is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:58 PM   #46
FtrV8
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Works for me as well. Unlimited AT&T data plan from the first iPhone. BayArea, CA.

iPhone 5.
FtrV8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2012, 11:59 PM   #47
friedmud
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Not working in medium sized town in Idaho with two 4S's on grandfathered unlimited. Just get normal message to call ATT...
friedmud is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:00 AM   #48
SplitIt!
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by saminator8 View Post
Colorado
+1 for no luck in CO :-(
__________________
My App: SplitIt! w/ Cloud Sync
SplitIt! is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:01 AM   #49
Pakaku
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
So, how long until we get a VoiceTime? As in FaceTime but without the video, meaning voice over data. Any predictions?
?????

What, like a phone?
Pakaku is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:03 AM   #50
Xytal
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Spokane, WA, nothing here yet.

4S, unlimited data (grandfathered), iOS 6.
Xytal is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC