Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:36 AM   #76
appleguy123
macrumors 603
 
appleguy123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: 15 minutes in the future
Quote:
Originally Posted by fraggot View Post
No dice, restarted my phone and nothing. The switch was actually enabled for like 2 seconds then it switched off.
Same.
__________________
[Steve Jobs was] brave enough to think differently, bold enough to believe he could change the world, and talented enough to do it. -Barack Obama
appleguy123 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:39 AM   #77
Tapdawg
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
No luck in Riverside, CA area even after soft and hard restarts on my grandfathered 4S.
Tapdawg is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:40 AM   #78
YodasMaster
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Works for me. Grandfathered Unlimited iPhone 5 in the Bay Area.
YodasMaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:46 AM   #79
ndpitch
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Not working for me. iPhone 5, grandfathered unlimited. Boston area.
ndpitch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:48 AM   #80
Natesac
macrumors 6502a
 
Natesac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas,Tx
Quote:
Originally Posted by aziatiklover View Post
Facetime over 3G and LTE only work for iphone 4S and 5! 4 is not supported it even tho steve jobs said it would later when it first release lol
He also said he was going to make it an open standard. Sigh.......
__________________
Dell Inspiron Q6600 Core 2 Quad Windows 7, 16GB Black iPad(3rdWfi), Apple TV 3, (AT&T)32Gb Black iPhone 5.............Im Bidigital
Natesac is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:49 AM   #81
gbnyc
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by theelysium View Post

I had to hard reset.. Home & lock.. Now it works! **** Yea!
Same here. On unlimited data plan, iPhone 5, in NYC. Worked after hard reset.
gbnyc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 12:57 AM   #82
Daremo
macrumors 68000
 
Daremo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Send a message via AIM to Daremo Send a message via Skype™ to Daremo
Reboot and hard reset, neither worked for me, here in Chicago.
__________________
Paul
Follow me on : TWITTER
Novembers Doom
Universal iOS app : Novembers Doom : The Wayfaring Chronicles
Daremo is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:01 AM   #83
carlos916
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sac Town
Woot just checked mines and I got it too..
I'm on the grandfather data plan .. iPhone 5
__________________
iPhone 5 blk 32gb
iPad 4 blk 32gb
MacBook Pro 13" (Late 2012) 10.8.4
2.5 ghz, 8gb Ram, 500gb SSD
carlos916 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:03 AM   #84
faroZ06
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Oh please no! Now it's going to be slower because of everyone using this. I usually don't mind it being slow, but if it gets much slower than it already is, then it's just annoying.
faroZ06 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:10 AM   #85
Ihatefall
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rico99 View Post
Facetime Faied "Connect to a Wi-Fi network to use FaceTime".
iPhone4 running 5.1.1. Palo Alto, CA
iOS 5 doesn't support that, you'd have to upgrade. But you're on 5.1.1 just jailbreak it and get facebreak or MIFi and then you can take the limiter off of everything wifi restricted
Ihatefall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:10 AM   #86
tracyj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
i don't have it either after hard and soft resets. iPhone 5 with unlimited. in Atlanta

tracyj is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:13 AM   #87
Ihatefall
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
[QUOTE=ndpitch;16338355]Not working for me. iPhone 5, http://www.macrumors.com/2012/11/21/att-seems-to-be-extending-facetime-over-cellular-to-all-customers/

Just worked for two iPhone 5 with unlimited plans for us Boston, area (south coast area on 4G) . Had to do a hard reset. iOS 6.0
Ihatefall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:15 AM   #88
HMI
macrumors 6502a
 
HMI's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
So, how long until we get a VoiceTime? As in FaceTime but without the video, meaning voice over data. Any predictions?
Probably a day after never.
HMI is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:21 AM   #89
FolVike
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Working here in Sacramento. IPhone 4S, iOS 6.0.1, ye olde AT&T 200mb $15 a month plan. Just turned phone off/on and Facetime switch was enabled.
FolVike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:24 AM   #90
T-Will
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Works for both mine and my wife's iPhone 5 near Sacramento, CA. Both on grandfathered unlimited plan. Nice job AT&T!

Could this just be a Thanksgiving weekend courtesy?
T-Will is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:24 AM   #91
iMikeT
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: California
Well looky here, seems like AT&T finally did something to the benefit of their customers for a change. Now if they can only give us truly unlimited data WITHOUT throttling.....
iMikeT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:27 AM   #92
deannnnn
macrumors 68000
 
deannnnn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New York City & South Florida
Not working for me even after a hard reset.

iPhone 5
Grandfathered Unlimited
South Florida (LTE Area)
__________________
MacBook Pro (Retina) / iPhone 5S
deannnnn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:28 AM   #93
Ihatefall
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by FolVike View Post
Working here in Sacramento. IPhone 4S, iOS 6.0.1, ye olde AT&T 200mb $15 a month plan. Just turned phone off/on and Facetime switch was enabled.
Becareful, one 2-3 minute FaceTime call is 30MB I believe. (Look up the original facebreak video)
Ihatefall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:29 AM   #94
Marcus PM
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Not here

Not working for me in Seattle on a grandfathered 4S OS 6.0.1
Tried a herd reset too. Gave me a message to Call.
Marcus PM is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:30 AM   #95
Ihatefall
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMikeT View Post
Well looky here, seems like AT&T finally did something to the benefit of their customers for a change. Now if they can only give us truly unlimited data WITHOUT throttling.....
Every time I get throttled I call and complain. Sometimes I get credited for the data $30! I suggest everyone call everytime they get throttled
Ihatefall is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:30 AM   #96
freedevil
macrumors 6502a
 
freedevil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
No go in San Diego with unlimited plan.
__________________
An  a day keeps the dark ☁ away!
freedevil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:33 AM   #97
joeshmo2010
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ihatefall View Post
Becareful, one 2-3 minute FaceTime call is 30MB I believe. (Look up the original facebreak video)
AT&T does not count facetime cellular use towards your data plan. Just like MMS. Currently, that is how it works with their mobile share plans and that is how it will work once it is rolled out to all users.

This however does not apply if you facetime over cellular using a jailbroken method. Then it WILL count towards data for those on tiered plans.
__________________
iPhone 5s Gold 32gb using AT&T on Vzn Factory Unlocked Model
iPad rMini 64gb WiFi+LTE Silver/White Vzn (AT&T Service)
15" Macbook Pro a/ Retina display (late 2013) high-end model
joeshmo2010 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:39 AM   #98
falconman515
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Works for me with my IP5 on Grandfathered unlimited plan from Fresno, CA.

I turned off my WiFi and at home and was able to facetime call the wife just fine)

Also my wifes IP5 on regular I think $20 data plan works as well.

Thanks AT&T for finally getting your head out your ass on not screwing the people who have been around forever!
__________________
iPhone 5 32gb Black / iPhone 4S 64gb Black / iPhone 4 32gb Black / iPhone 3G 8gb Black / iPhone 4gb
iPad Air 16gb / New iPad 32gb Black / iPad 16gb
falconman515 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:44 AM   #99
spoa94
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
No go for me. iPhone 4S, 3GB data, Plan billed in New Orleans yet currently in Milwaukee. Both have LTE. Tried hard reset, no luck.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by joeshmo2010 View Post
AT&T does not count facetime cellular use towards your data plan. Just like MMS. Currently, that is how it works with their mobile share plans and that is how it will work once it is rolled out to all users.

This however does not apply if you facetime over cellular using a jailbroken method. Then it WILL count towards data for those on tiered plans.
Confirm this?
spoa94 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:03 AM   #100
joeshmo2010
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoa94 View Post
No go for me. iPhone 4S, 3GB data, Plan billed in New Orleans yet currently in Milwaukee. Both have LTE. Tried hard reset, no luck.

----------



Confirm this?
Just ask anyone with a mobile share plan. My partner works for the company so he let me know. I had no idea it works just like mms.
__________________
iPhone 5s Gold 32gb using AT&T on Vzn Factory Unlocked Model
iPad rMini 64gb WiFi+LTE Silver/White Vzn (AT&T Service)
15" Macbook Pro a/ Retina display (late 2013) high-end model
joeshmo2010 is online now   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AT&T to Expand FaceTime Over Cellular to All Customers by Year End MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 94 Jan 29, 2014 09:00 PM
AT&T Expands FaceTime Over Cellular Access to More Customers MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 163 Nov 24, 2012 11:35 AM
If FaceTime is gone Cellular - is Skype Cellular too? dinapea iPhone 9 Sep 17, 2012 12:09 PM
Beta 4 locks AT&T customers out of FaceTime over cellular! Beezzy iOS 6 65 Aug 8, 2012 12:40 PM
Sprint Won't Charge Customers for FaceTime Over Cellular MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 57 Jul 26, 2012 11:26 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC