Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2012, 05:45 AM   #126
kaplanreject
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: The Swamps of South Louisiana
Too little, Too late.

Ive already made up my mind, and the wife and I are switching from AT&T to Verizon this very afternoon. Sort of a shame too, been with them since '06.

Adieu AT&T, cannot really say I'm gonna miss ya.
__________________
I've got a few of them Apple thingys......


I meet on the level.
kaplanreject is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 05:59 AM   #127
wesk702
macrumors 65816
 
wesk702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The hood
iPhone 5
Hard reset
Current iOS
No dice
I keep getting the call AT&T alert
wesk702 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:05 AM   #128
penajmz
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New York City
Restarted my phone and now its on!

About time AT&T

iPhone 5 in NYC grandfathered unlimited.
__________________
rMBP, Space Gray iPhone 6 Plus,Gold iPhone 6, WiFi iPad Air 2, TV, Time Capsule
penajmz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:08 AM   #129
NachoGrande
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I got the call 611 message. I reset the phone and went back to settings and it was already set to use cellular.
__________________
27" iMac(2010) // 13" MBA (2011) // iPad // iPad 2 // iPad 3 // iPhone 5&6 // ATV2
NachoGrande is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:17 AM   #130
jmgregory1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chicago and Spooner (when it's not 20 below)
Not working in Chicago using hard reset method. Not a surprise given they haven't exactly got their system working properly here yet, adding more data streams wouldn't help.
jmgregory1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:22 AM   #131
eagleglen
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozy View Post
No go on my iPhone 5 in Phoenix, AZ area. Grandfathered Unlimited
Same here, no go in Phoenix, with an iPhone 5 and grandfathered unlimited. Hope it's just a matter of time.
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro 13" 2.6GHz 256GB Gold iPad Air 2 w/ Cellular 64GB Gold iPhone 6 AT&T 128GB
eagleglen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:27 AM   #132
MsQueen
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Baltimore, MD
Wow, AT&T has a heart.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus 15" MBP, late '11 iPod Touch, 5th gen Retina iPad
MsQueen is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:32 AM   #133
jvic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I have a 5 with unlimited data. It was switched on. Didn't work. Restart. Works. Placed call to wife's phone.
jvic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:39 AM   #134
NutFlush920
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Not working here in Green Bay, WI on iPhone 5 grandfathered unlimited data.

Tried both normal and hard restart.
NutFlush920 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:43 AM   #135
fhall1
macrumors 68020
 
fhall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NY State of mind
Not working in central NY on iPhone 4s with unlimited data....still says to call AT&T
__________________
2012 2.3GHz i7 Mini, 16GB RAM; 2009 2.93 GHz C2D iMac, 8GB RAM, GT120 GPU
1.83 GHz CD Mini, 2GB RAM, 200GB HD; 1.25 GHz 17" G4 iMac, 2GB RAM, 128GB SSD
64GB Silver iPhone 5s, 64GB White iPad Air
fhall1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 06:44 AM   #136
APlotdevice
macrumors 68020
 
APlotdevice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by shurcooL View Post
So, how long until we get a VoiceTime? As in FaceTime but without the video, meaning voice over data. Any predictions?
Around the same time we get built in call blocking. Carriers don't want to become "dumb pipes" for wireless data, and so they will use whatever leverage they have with handset manufacturers, like Apple, and consumers to avoid this fate for as long as possible.

But yeah, unoffically you can do voice only calls simply by exiting out of the FaceTime app.
__________________
There is something deeply wrong with a society more offended by breasts than by entrails.
Pebble SmartWatch | iPhone 5c | 11" Macbook Air '13 | HTPC | TV | Numerous Old Consoles

Last edited by APlotdevice; Nov 21, 2012 at 10:31 AM. Reason: Spelling
APlotdevice is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:03 AM   #137
man02195
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by fhall1 View Post
Not working in central NY on iPhone 4s with unlimited data....still says to call AT&T
Hard reset didn't work, 2nd hard reset didn't work, 3rd hard reset didn't worK
Turned off wifi, did hard reset, THEN got "Use Cellular Data ON"
But it turns OFF after a few minutes
Charlotte NC LTE, iPhone 5, Grandfathered unlimited
__________________
iPhone 5 (32GB). 2012 rmbp 15" i7 2.6, 16gb, 512gb
man02195 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:12 AM   #138
unplugme71
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2011
I had it the other day, this morning it's gone.

iPhone 5 unlimited user..
unplugme71 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:12 AM   #139
SPUY767
macrumors 68000
 
SPUY767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GA
Well, I'm still drunk from last night. Ignore me.
__________________
Yo' mama's so STUPID, she went to Bangkok to get a TIE Fighter.

Last edited by SPUY767; Nov 21, 2012 at 07:21 AM.
SPUY767 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:14 AM   #140
FrauHasSpoken
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
weird. I didn't do anything and it automatically was enabled.

Sacramento here.

Thanks at&t!

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by SPUY767 View Post
Did you guys read the article? If you're grandfathered in to the unlimited plan, AT&T won't let you use FaceTime. They're doing everything they can to make your unlimited data useless.
lol
FrauHasSpoken is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:25 AM   #141
besweeet2
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Send a message via Skype™ to besweeet2
Not working for me (reboot).

This still makes AT&T look like a dick of a company for not doing this from the beginning. Do something similar for tethering without overcharging, and that might change a little bit.
besweeet2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:30 AM   #142
TheKerryKid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: NY, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by saminator8 View Post
I have a 4S with unlimited data on ATT. I restarted the phone and it still says I need to call ATT.
Same for me. When I restarted and went to the settings it was set to "on" for a second or two, but then changed itself to "off". When I switched it to on I got the same message as you did again. Am on a 4S with unlimited data.
TheKerryKid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:39 AM   #143
sulpfiction
macrumors 68030
 
sulpfiction's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Philadelphia Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozy View Post
What's a hard reset? I don't want to erase all data. I did power off / power on and no go here in Phoenix on my iPhone 5
Hard resets don't erase anything.

----------

Nothing here in Philadelphia. Tried hard reset, etc. iPhone 5 / grandfathered unlimited.
sulpfiction is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:43 AM   #144
nitropowered
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Ohio
No go for me, iPhone 5, Unlimited, Columbus, OH. But we did just get LTE last week so I'm pretty happy.
nitropowered is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:44 AM   #145
jayducharme
macrumors 68020
 
jayducharme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The thick of it
I have a grandfathered unlimited plan in MA and currently FaceTime over cellular refuses to activate. There's the message telling me to contact AT&T, presumably to switch plans. A restart didn't do any good.
jayducharme is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 07:59 AM   #146
pavelbure
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
My wife's 4s worked after restart, my 5 didn't. Both on unlimited.
pavelbure is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 08:06 AM   #147
GenderFi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
didn't work for me on my i5. tried restarting a couple times, nothing.
GenderFi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 08:08 AM   #148
macguy1224
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Restarted my phone, and now I finally have FaceTime over LTE!

Last edited by macguy1224; Mar 24, 2014 at 09:10 AM.
macguy1224 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 08:10 AM   #149
Ted13
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NYC
4S, unlimited, didn't work. NYC

What about on iPads?
__________________
Macintosh owner since March 3rd 1984
Ted13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 08:13 AM   #150
Jleroy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Flagstaff
Had faith!

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacRumors View Post
Image


AT&T appears to be quietly extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular capabilities to all their iPhone customers. Earlier this month, AT&T announced that they would allow any customer "with an LTE device" on a "tiered data plan" to use iOS 6's FaceTime over Cellular feature.

This, however, excluded a number of customers, including those with grandfathered unlimited data plans as well as those with the iPhones 4S. (Note, iOS 6, itself, can only supports FaceTime-over-Cellular on the 4S, 5 and iPad 3rd Gen or higher)

Tonight, Forum user kre62 noticed that both his iPhone 4S and iPhone 5 with unlimited AT&T data plans now support FaceTime over cellular.This finding has been confirmed by a number of users in this discussion thread -- though some users have been unable to activate it so it may still be rolling out to some areas. AT&T had said the original rollout for tiered plans could take 8-10 weeks. Most of the positive responses have been those with the iPhone 5 and grandfathered unlimited data, but the original poster also had luck with an iPhone 4S.

Some users have had to completely restart their phones for the service to go into effect. There still remains a possibility that this is an oversight on AT&T's part. We are reaching out to AT&T for clarification on their policy.

Article Link: AT&T Seems to Be Extending FaceTime-Over-Cellular to All Customers

Yes, turned off and on iPhone 5's this morning, and now we both have cellular FaceTime on old unlimited plan. Yay for everyone that kept up the pressure and didn't capitulate to a shared pan.

*****UPDATE 1/2 hour later--Cancel that, now back to need to update plan screen. Someone at AT&T playing games?

Last edited by Jleroy; Nov 21, 2012 at 09:39 AM.
Jleroy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AT&T to Expand FaceTime Over Cellular to All Customers by Year End MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 94 Jan 29, 2014 10:00 PM
AT&T Expands FaceTime Over Cellular Access to More Customers MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 163 Nov 24, 2012 12:35 PM
If FaceTime is gone Cellular - is Skype Cellular too? dinapea iPhone 9 Sep 17, 2012 01:09 PM
Beta 4 locks AT&T customers out of FaceTime over cellular! Beezzy iOS 6 65 Aug 8, 2012 01:40 PM
Sprint Won't Charge Customers for FaceTime Over Cellular MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 57 Jul 26, 2012 12:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC