Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 21, 2012, 01:28 PM   #1
MacMonkey13
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Gurnee, Illinois
How to Activate New Verizon iPhone

In the past I have always bought my iPhones at the store and they were activated for me. This time I ordered a phone from online Apple Store. Also I am switching from ATT so I want to port my number.

So, how do I activate it? Call Verizon or can I do it through the web?
MacMonkey13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:05 PM   #2
boomhower
macrumors 65816
 
boomhower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
It should come ready to activate, just turn it on. At worst call *228. If that doesn't do the trick call in.
__________________
2011 Macbook Pro 15 iPad Mini iPhone 5 Airport Extreme Gen 5 Gen 3 Apple TV
boomhower is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:12 PM   #3
Dragoro
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Mine was fine soon as I synced it with my itunes account.
Dragoro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:19 PM   #4
kannesss
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Above.
Turn it on.
kannesss is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 21, 2012, 02:33 PM   #5
MacMonkey13
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Gurnee, Illinois
Will turning it on also "port" my number? If so, do I need to erase and back-up everything off my old phone first?

sorry for the seemingly simple questions.
MacMonkey13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:10 PM   #6
From A Buick 8
macrumors 68020
 
From A Buick 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ky Close to CinCinnati
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacMonkey13 View Post
Will turning it on also "port" my number? If so, do I need to erase and back-up everything off my old phone first?

sorry for the seemingly simple questions.
If the iPhone is like other phones then know that will not port your number. Yes back up everything from your old phone.
__________________
Homemade Interocitor, iPad 4iPhone 5 32GB Black & Slate, iPod Touch 4th and 5th Gen, iPad 1st gen, iPhone 4, Two Apple TV's, -- 21.5-inch: 3.2GHz Intel Core i3 iMac.
From A Buick 8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:13 PM   #7
sillywabbit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacMonkey13 View Post
In the past I have always bought my iPhones at the store and they were activated for me. This time I ordered a phone from online Apple Store. Also I am switching from ATT so I want to port my number.

So, how do I activate it? Call Verizon or can I do it through the web?
I thought you could not port your number from ATT to VZW. Only CDMA to CDMA, GSM to GSM.
sillywabbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 09:28 PM   #8
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillywabbit View Post
I thought you could not port your number from ATT to VZW. Only CDMA to CDMA, GSM to GSM.
You thought wrong.
You can port your number from cdma to gsm and even port landline numbers to cellphone now.
Applejuiced is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:01 PM   #9
elpmas
macrumors 68000
 
elpmas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Where the fresh snow don't go.
For Verizon, I had to call Verizon with the iPhone to get it activated. There should be instructions in the delivery box.
__________________
13" Macbook Pro '10
27" iMac i5
TV3
iPhone 5 32gb
elpmas is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 11:05 PM   #10
Jtludwig
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sillywabbit View Post
I thought you could not port your number from ATT to VZW. Only CDMA to CDMA, GSM to GSM.
This one takes the prize for the most wrong answer of the day.
Jtludwig is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 09:31 AM   #11
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacMonkey13 View Post
Will turning it on also "port" my number? If so, do I need to erase and back-up everything off my old phone first?

sorry for the seemingly simple questions.
It should but it really depends on how you've set up the porting. Call Verizon to verify.

Quote:
Originally Posted by boomhower View Post
It should come ready to activate, just turn it on. At worst call *228. If that doesn't do the trick call in.
IIRC *228 should not be used for the 5 (or any LTE device).

Quote:
Originally Posted by sillywabbit View Post
I thought you could not port your number from ATT to VZW. Only CDMA to CDMA, GSM to GSM.
You might want to keep "always consider the source" in mind.

Last edited by takeshi74; Nov 27, 2012 at 09:37 AM.
takeshi74 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Activate a Verizon iPhone 5 with a non-Verizon sim? pickaxe iPhone 17 Feb 5, 2013 08:33 AM
Cannot activate Verizon iPhone 5 SonRK iPhone 4 Oct 16, 2012 06:32 PM
Cannot activate iPhone 5 (Verizon): jread iPhone 13 Sep 30, 2012 06:36 PM
Resolved: Activate Verizon iPhone gsugolfer iPhone 0 Sep 21, 2012 04:42 PM
Cannot activate new iPhone on Verizon gradstudent88 iPhone 3 Aug 7, 2012 06:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC