Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 14, 2005, 10:54 PM   #1
chaos86
macrumors 65816
 
chaos86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Send a message via AIM to chaos86
the upgrade to PBs ive been waiting for for years

this is what i want to see:

note that the buttons would glow like the brightness ones on the *old* apple cinema displays. for those of you who dont know, they light up bright then fade down when pressed, like the power buttons on some macs. i guess maybe mute and num lock would stay glowing at a low level while activated.

chaos86 is offline   0
Old Sep 14, 2005, 10:56 PM   #2
macbaseball
macrumors 6502a
 
macbaseball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern California
That's cool, but it wouldn't make or break whether I bought a Powerbook.
macbaseball is offline   0
Old Sep 14, 2005, 11:01 PM   #3
chaos86
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
chaos86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Send a message via AIM to chaos86
i forgot the reason... half of you know it already.

if youve ever used a powerbook and reached for the f10 key to activate exposť, but instead turned up the brightness of the keyboard backlight, if youve ever reached for the publish shortcut key in flash, shift+f12, and activated dashboard... in... slow... motion... mode, then you understand why this would be a lot of peoples favorite powerbook change. i know it would be mine.
i want my function keys back ive (as in jonathon)!



new powerbook keyboard layout this tuesday!!!

Last edited by chaos86; Sep 14, 2005 at 11:07 PM.
chaos86 is offline   0
Old Sep 14, 2005, 11:45 PM   #4
tdhurst
macrumors 68040
 
tdhurst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to tdhurst Send a message via Yahoo to tdhurst Send a message via Skype™ to tdhurst
Uh...

Seriously? What a waste of space....why not just switch the functions keys?
__________________
Twitter - tdhurst
I blog here.
2012 11.6" 2.0ghz i7 MacBook Air, 2.26 C2D Mac Mini, iPhone 5, Apple TV 3.
tdhurst is offline   0
Old Sep 15, 2005, 12:16 AM   #5
.:*Robot Boy*:.
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by appleretailguy
...why not just switch the functions keys?
Because I use the Brightness/Volume keys as regularly as I use the Function Keys (Exposť and Dashboard, as well as a whole lot of Pro Tools hotkeys). chaos86 has the right idea, but I'm sure Apple could find a less obtrusive way of implementing it
__________________
The Past: Macintosh LCIII / Power Macintosh 7200/75 / iMac (350MHz Blueberry) / PowerMac G3 (400MHz B&W) / 15" PowerBook G4 1.67GHz/2GB STOLEN
The Present: 15" PowerBook G4 HD 1.67GHz/2GB/120GB
The Purpose: Pro Tools TDM/LE
.:*Robot Boy*:. is offline   0
Old Sep 15, 2005, 12:18 AM   #6
kb9wte
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Yeah, that's kinda what I was thinking. One of the first things I did with my PowerBook was switch it so you press the Fn key to change brightness, volume, etc.

System Prefrences > Keyboard & Mouse > Keyboard > Use F1-F12 keys to control software features
kb9wte is offline   0
Old Sep 15, 2005, 12:24 AM   #7
warcraftmaster
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: here
Send a message via AIM to warcraftmaster Send a message via Yahoo to warcraftmaster
sweet

sweet you make that put a patent on it or should i ? with that you can get rid of the fn butten and you could put the eject there too
warcraftmaster is offline   0
Old Sep 15, 2005, 12:37 AM   #8
iEdd
macrumors 68000
 
iEdd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australia
Send a message via AIM to iEdd
Looks good. A little dodge though. Maybe at the top or bottom of the screen would be good too (instead that is.. we don't need 3 of each button )
iEdd is offline   0
Old Sep 15, 2005, 07:51 AM   #9
chaos86
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
chaos86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Send a message via AIM to chaos86
wel of course its an idea in progress. and i did just copy the symbols off of the function keys. and no, there would not need to be a function key any more but i dont feel like fixing it right now.

out of interest, does anyone ever use the display switch button (function of F7)?
chaos86 is offline   0
Old Sep 15, 2005, 09:09 AM   #10
Erendiox
macrumors 6502a
 
Erendiox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Brooklyn NY
Send a message via AIM to Erendiox
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos86
out of interest, does anyone ever use the display switch button (function of F7)?
... F7 does something?
__________________
Eighthinch Pictures
Erendiox is offline   0
Old Sep 15, 2005, 09:40 AM   #11
Demon Hunter
macrumors 68020
 
Demon Hunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Sorry but gross. Reminds me of all of the laptop PCs with too many damn buttons/indicators.
Demon Hunter is offline   0
Old Sep 15, 2005, 09:47 AM   #12
chaos86
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
chaos86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: 127.0.0.1
Send a message via AIM to chaos86
Quote:
Originally Posted by Erendiox
... F7 does something?
with 2 screens plugged in it switches between screen 1, dual display, screen 2, and video mirroring, in no apparent logical order.

but noone i know ever uses it; the 'detect displays' option in the displays menu bar menu finds any displays and goes to dual display mode with them. and those i know who use mirroring just go into the display pref pane.

Last edited by chaos86; Sep 15, 2005 at 09:49 AM.
chaos86 is offline   0
Old Sep 15, 2005, 10:46 AM   #13
crazydreaming
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, UT -Westminster College
Send a message via AIM to crazydreaming Send a message via MSN to crazydreaming
Quote:
Originally Posted by dferrara
Sorry but gross. Reminds me of all of the laptop PCs with too many damn buttons/indicators.
I agree. It's window's laptops that have way too many glowing lights all over the place. But I can kinda see the general idea of freeing up the function keys.
__________________
17" Powerbook G4 Rev E, iCurve, Apple Keyboard + Mouse, WD external, JBL Creatures, Airport Express, Nikon D200, no iPod
crazydreaming is offline   0
Old Sep 15, 2005, 10:59 AM   #14
ericssonboi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by chaos86
wel of course its an idea in progress. and i did just copy the symbols off of the function keys. and no, there would not need to be a function key any more but i dont feel like fixing it right now.

out of interest, does anyone ever use the display switch button (function of F7)?
Mirror image on the PB screen is wrong
Shows what the PB should look like..
ericssonboi is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Macintosh Computers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this the Bluetooth Apple fix we've been waiting for ? nobblynoel Mac Pro 8 Jul 18, 2010 05:54 PM
It's here! The RSS reader we've all been waiting for! imacdaddy iPad Apps 41 Jun 13, 2010 10:15 AM
upgrade to 3gs now? or wait for iphone '4g'? ashjamben iPhone 11 Jan 10, 2010 11:35 PM
Upgrade to 10.6 or wait for 10.6.1? badlydrawnboy OS X 29 Aug 26, 2009 09:59 AM
Is the Apple Tablet the new Macbook touch we been waiting for? leomac08 MacBook 9 Aug 11, 2009 11:53 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC