Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 22, 2012, 06:12 PM   #1
blackmoses
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Thanksgiving special: spilled turkey juice into Mac Pro

On his way into my apartment, my buddy tripped and almost spilled the turkey on the ground.

The turkey was saved. The juice was not.

Some of it splashed into the bottom of my Mac Pro (the exhaust fan - machine is an Early 2008 2.8 8-core). The machine immediately turned off, and I removed the power cord. Plugging the power cord in only results in the power supply clicking repeatedly.

The amount of liquid that got into the machine is small enough to where we can't even see any more liquid in the machine. What are my possible options for repair, in your guestimation (without seeing the machine, naturally)? How much would it cost to replace the power supply, and will that solve the issue?

Or should I be gathering my coins & dollars to run into some Black Friday sale looking for a used MP or a refurb (I _have_ to have Snow Leopard for FCP7)?
blackmoses is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 07:15 PM   #2
jbachandouris
macrumors 65816
 
jbachandouris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate NY
2008? I would use this as an excuse to buy a new one and sell the old one as is.
__________________
iPhone 5s 64GB
iPad Air 64GB
MacBook Pro 13", Mid 2012
jbachandouris is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 07:40 PM   #3
blackmoses
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
LOL, okay...

...I removed all my drives; they should be fine, right?

I have a MB Aluminum I can use as a holdover (with an enclosure) till I replace the Pro.
blackmoses is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 07:46 PM   #4
G51989
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: New York State
There was a short in the power supply, I don't know much about the PSU's in the Mac Pro, but you either blew a fuse, or popped a mini breaker.

New power supply,
G51989 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 10:29 PM   #5
lampliter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Two very exciting things have happened to the mac pro this year. A spilled glass of water and now turkey juice. This is about as good as it gets when there is absolutely nothing going on with the mac pro.
lampliter is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 22, 2012, 10:35 PM   #6
macguy93
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I'm sorry to hear what happened! But, I'm running fcp 7 on mountain lion, I haven't seen any incompality issues. However, I'm slowly translationing over to FCPX and premiere pro. So my use in fcp on ML has been pretty limited. Just thought I'd give my 2 cents. Hope you manage to get your machine up and running again!
macguy93 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 12:16 AM   #7
blackmoses
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I was told certain plug-ins, etc don't work in 10.7 and beyond for FCP 7.

That, and since the newest Mac Pro specs are still pretty far behind (I need it for the extra internal storage space and ability to add RAM), I really didn't feel compelled to be shopping for new.
blackmoses is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 12:23 PM   #8
rGiskard
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Before starting it up with a new PSU, it might be wise to disassemble everything down to the logic board so you can inspect for liquid/grease residue. Unless your absolutely certain the juice hit only the PSU, you could be in for more surprises.
__________________
Mac Pro 3.46 GHz Hexa-Core W3690, 24 GB RAM, GeForce GTX 680, 6G PCIe SSD RAID
rGiskard is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 12:08 PM   #9
Librarian580
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Agreed with rGiskard, check everything you can possibly check, whether it's video cards, hard drives, optical drives, RAM, etc. That will probably sound rather toilsome, and even though a new PSU probably will flip its breaker to defend itself if one of those is messed up, it's still not worth the risk, since one water damaged part CAN potentially take out a whole PSU. It's not likely, bt it's not worth the risk with how expensive the Pro's parts are.

If you're going to get a new(er) Mac Pro, get a used 2009, as low end as you can find one, and upgrade it on your own. You really don't have to worry about getting all the right parts for it, just the order you do certain things in, and 2009's are probably some of the least picky Macs when it comes to upgrades of any kind. You can upgrade a 2009 to 2012 spec for far, far less than what Apple charges for a new one.
Librarian580 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 05:10 PM   #10
blackmoses
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Librarian580 View Post
Agreed with rGiskard, check everything you can possibly check, whether it's video cards, hard drives, optical drives, RAM, etc. That will probably sound rather toilsome, and even though a new PSU probably will flip its breaker to defend itself if one of those is messed up, it's still not worth the risk, since one water damaged part CAN potentially take out a whole PSU. It's not likely, bt it's not worth the risk with how expensive the Pro's parts are.

If you're going to get a new(er) Mac Pro, get a used 2009, as low end as you can find one, and upgrade it on your own. You really don't have to worry about getting all the right parts for it, just the order you do certain things in, and 2009's are probably some of the least picky Macs when it comes to upgrades of any kind. You can upgrade a 2009 to 2012 spec for far, far less than what Apple charges for a new one.
A used 2009 is what I've had my eye on. I've seen some quad-cores (a lot of them actually) in a price range I can afford, but I was under the impression I should get another 8-core to keep performance the same.

I can follow online tutorials if, for example, I get a quad-core Nehalem and want to add a second processor? Do the single and dual processor models use the same motherboard? I've never done much more than change the RAM and video card in my Pro (I've built PCs before), and I'm slightly intimidated by the prospect.

I haven't heard back in full from Micro Center on the status of the machine (I took it in for a diagnostic) - just hoping they don't stuff cranberry sauce and dressing in it to make a full meal

(I'm trying to keep high spirits about this as you can see, lol)
blackmoses is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 11:55 PM   #11
ashman70
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
If you buy a used machine you'll have to either choose a single or dual processor model, you cannot upgrade a single processor model to a dual processor, you'd need to swap out the logic board and its far too expensive and impractical. What is more practical with a 2009 is to swap out the single quad core CPU for a hexcore, flash the firmware and turn it into a 2010 model, there are several threads on here about how to do that.
__________________
Iphone 5 64GB, iPad Mini 32GB wifi
2013 iMac 27" 16GB RAM, 1TB fusion drive, Nvidia 780M, 2xDell 23" monitors, 4x3TB external USB3 drive.
ashman70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 02:29 AM   #12
Librarian580
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
The way the 2009/2010 models work is that it's split in to a more modular sort of setup than the previous models and most PC's. You have the main motherboard with the PCIE slots and plugs, then you have a processor board where the processors and RAM plug in to, which in turn slides to plug in to the motherboard. It's a pretty cool system, at least I think.

Anyways, if you get a 2009 Quad Core, and want to change it to an 8-core, you'll only need to get a dual processor CPU-Board. You won't need to change the motherboard itself.

This is the one you will most likely want;
http://www.dvwarehouse.com/Apple-Pro...W-p-38517.html
It's expensive, but you can probably sell your Quad core board after you successfully get the multi-CPU board working to get a good amount of your money back.

Bare in mind that there are some other important steps you have to do for the dual-processor ones, since the heatsinks don't usually leave enough clearance for Xeons that have Integrated Heat Spreaders.

Along what Ashman70 said, though, upgrading from Quad core to Hex core is FAR easier, since the Quad core board is far more conventional, you can just put the processor right in without worrying about the integrated heat spreader clearance. Unlike the Dual-CPU board, it also has a more conventional latch for holding the CPU in, instead of relying on the heat sink.
Librarian580 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 03:19 PM   #13
blackmoses
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Update: I was able to get the machine repaired. Micro Center changed out my PSU and one of the RAM risers. Total cost - just under $400, including labor.

Relief.
blackmoses is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 03:27 PM   #14
All Taken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmoses View Post
Update: I was able to get the machine repaired. Micro Center changed out my PSU and one of the RAM risers. Total cost - just under $400, including labor.

Relief.
That's one expensive turkey dinner.
All Taken is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 03:39 PM   #15
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackmoses View Post
Update: I was able to get the machine repaired. Micro Center changed out my PSU and one of the RAM risers. Total cost - just under $400, including labor.

Relief.
Send an invoice to your friend!
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 07:55 PM   #16
blackmoses
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDAVE View Post
Send an invoice to your friend!
We agreed to split the cost 50/50. Neither of us are rich and accidents do happen.
blackmoses is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 09:23 PM   #17
GHouse
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
I can't possibly imagine how this is possible.
GHouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2012, 10:22 PM   #18
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbachandouris View Post
2008? I would use this as an excuse to buy a new one and sell the old one as is.
this post is so fail

@OP glad its working well for you now. Not sure why the riser need to be switched out, and 400 bucks seems way overpriced... but in the end i'm sure they looked over the affected parts.


also, i suggest you exact terrible yet glorious vengeance on your friend.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 06:09 AM   #19
Lesser Evets
macrumors 68030
 
Lesser Evets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
This horrible story was oddly entertaining.
__________________
2x1.86 BSEL Pro 1,1; 5770; 16GB RAM
Lesser Evets is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 07:02 AM   #20
SDAVE
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lesser Evets View Post
This horrible story was oddly entertaining.
Us humans are easily entertained by other people's misfortunes.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrygian View Post
also, i suggest you exact terrible yet glorious vengeance on your friend.
Yeah! Spill Turkey juice on HIS computer next year!!
__________________
iPhone 5, MacBook Pro (2011), Mac Pro 2008, Apple Cinema Display 30" Aluminium
SDAVE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 10:15 AM   #21
xav8tor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
This ranks up there with the legend of the woman who called tech support because her pop out cup holder (CD/DVD drive) wasn't working right anymore.
xav8tor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 01:09 PM   #22
blackmoses
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrygian View Post
this post is so fail

@OP glad its working well for you now. Not sure why the riser need to be switched out, and 400 bucks seems way overpriced... but in the end i'm sure they looked over the affected parts.
The MP had the cover off (I'd been hard drive swapping), so juice flew in from the back and a little on the side as well. That's how it hit the RAM riser (PSA - always close up your MP IMMEDIATELY after doing any internal upgrades/maintenance).

The parts were like $200 for the PSU, $89 for the RAM riser, and the rest was labor and tax. Considering I'd've been paying $99/hr at most places, it was a little less than I expected ($500).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phrygian View Post
also, i suggest you exact terrible yet glorious vengeance on your friend.
I will not! lol
blackmoses is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 01:10 PM   #23
tjlazer
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Send a message via ICQ to tjlazer Send a message via Yahoo to tjlazer
Glad you got it working, but for $400 I would of just bought a used 2009 Mac Pro and sold off your old one! Or you could of bought a used Power supply and swapped it out yourself, it's really easy.

I just bought a 2009 Quad Core off CL for $700. Plan on doing the Hex upgrade to it later on.

But i guess it only cost you $200 and it still works well so that is ok too. Either way I guess.
__________________
--
Mac Pro 4,1, Hex 3.20 GHz, 16GB, 2TB, ATI 5870 1GB, SL
iMac 24", 2.4GHz, 4GB, 500GB HD, ML
Powerbook G3 Bronze, 333MHz, 512MB, 40GB HD, OS 9.22
tjlazer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2012, 03:38 PM   #24
minifridge1138
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
First, I'm happy that the OP got his machine fixed.

I'm not ashamed to admit that the story was entertaining, but I was hoping for more based on the title. I was hoping it would involve small children playing hid 'n seek with a turkey, or a bizarre game of 'catch the turkey'. Your friend tripping isn't nearly as exciting as I had imagined.
minifridge1138 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2013, 03:03 PM   #25
Phrygian
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjlazer View Post
Glad you got it working, but for $400 I would of just bought a used 2009 Mac Pro and sold off your old one! Or you could of bought a used Power supply and swapped it out yourself, it's really easy.

I just bought a 2009 Quad Core off CL for $700. Plan on doing the Hex upgrade to it later on.

But i guess it only cost you $200 and it still works well so that is ok too. Either way I guess.
a 2009 used is worth more than 400... a lot more. You got a great deal on the 2009 you purchased, even if its only a single quad core.
Phrygian is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spilled juice on rMBP... roofz MacBook Pro 6 Dec 6, 2013 04:05 PM
Happy Thanksgiving Days! ScanCard Full Version is giving special offer... iKingsley86 iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Nov 27, 2013 08:22 PM
Spilled juice on rMBP Keyboard... TaylorClark MacBook Pro 10 Oct 9, 2013 06:26 AM
I spilled orange juice over my MacBook AnrBjotk MacBook Pro 59 Apr 7, 2013 10:11 PM
I spilled juice on my macbook pro and It turned on back after 10 hours but... psrikanthm MacBook Pro 3 Oct 13, 2012 05:13 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC