Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Old Nov 23, 2012, 09:46 AM   #1
minttone
macrumors newbie

Choice of iPad for mum

Hi guys,
newbie here. macrumors seems to be a very nice community so i'll be grateful if you guys can offer me some advice.

I'm buying a iPad for my mum and these are what she would like to do with it:

1. E-Mails.
2. E-Books

and that's about it. She does not need to play games nor watch/stream videos. I've been looking at the refurbished iPad 3, and it seems to be a steal at $379. However, the mini seems to be a much more portable device and easier to hold. That being said, I doubt she would use her iPad much beyond the house.

Oh and she has trouble reading so maybe a bigger screen would allow her to view larger text and in an economical way?

looking forward to your inputs

EDIT: I've decided to go with the iPad, appreciate your inputs!

Last edited by minttone; Nov 24, 2012 at 05:57 AM.
minttone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:48 PM   #2
holycowe
macrumors member

Don't get the mini if she has trouble reading small text. Get the iPad 2 or 3 is just perfect.
But just a reminder, never go cheap on mom
holycowe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2012, 03:53 PM   #3
Night Spring
macrumors G3

If you can take your mom to an Apple store and have her handle both devices, that would be best. It's a very personal thing, how somebody reacts to the weight and screen size. For some, the mini screen would feel too small, and they'd think the additional weight of the full size iPad is a good trade-off for the extra screen space. Other people would feel that the regular iPad is too heavy and prefer the lighter mini, even if they get less screen space. Only your mom can tell what is right for her.