Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 26, 2013, 08:21 PM   #1
LOLZpersonok
macrumors 6502a
 
LOLZpersonok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Calgary, Canada
SimCity 3000 not installing on Mac OS 9.2

I'm trying to install SimCity 3000 on my iMac G3 which is now running Mac OS 9.2. But I can't. The instructions say this:

Quote:
PLEASE NOTE:

1) Just open this folder and keep it in your hard disk or burn it on a CD.

2) Click on "SimCity3000 Installer" and it should do the rest.

3) Enjoy!

P.S. This game was initially designed to run on Mac OS 9 (classic) and it works only with that version. In order to run the game you need to install OS 9 in your current OSX (can be Panther or Tiger) and once installed, it will open as a simulator.

If you don't know where to find it, try to check on your Mac OSX installation CD that came with your computer and it should be there.
I try to run the installer but Mac OS 9 will tell me that it cannot find the application program "PC" to open it, and then gives me a list of programs. I can choose Stuffit Expander but when I do, nothing happens. I even took the RAM out of another computer to bump up my iMac to 512MB. It still didn't help.

I don't know what's going on. Can someone help me?
__________________
Black 16GB iPhone 5 | 2.1GHz 20" iMac | Dual 1.2GHz Power Mac G4 | 867MHz 12" PowerBook G4 | 500MHz 14.1" PowerBook G3 | 350MHz iMac G3
LOLZpersonok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2013, 03:02 AM   #2
LOLZpersonok
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
LOLZpersonok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Calgary, Canada
Um...Can someone please help me?
__________________
Black 16GB iPhone 5 | 2.1GHz 20" iMac | Dual 1.2GHz Power Mac G4 | 867MHz 12" PowerBook G4 | 500MHz 14.1" PowerBook G3 | 350MHz iMac G3
LOLZpersonok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2013, 05:07 AM   #3
q64ceo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
SimCity 3000 is a pretty old game.

I wouldnt keep your hopes up on finding help on this
__________________
iMac i7 27inch mid 2010 | iPod Touch 4th Generation | iPad 2 | eMac 1.25 PPC mid-2004 | So I sold out and got an iPhone. Using all this Apple stuff is making me rusty on my real computer skillz
q64ceo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 27, 2013, 05:27 AM   #4
T'hain Esh Kelch
macrumors 68000
 
T'hain Esh Kelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denmark
Send a message via ICQ to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via AIM to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via MSN to T'hain Esh Kelch
I bet someone could answer your question on Insidemacgames.com.
__________________
"There's no bigot like a religious bigot and there's no religion more fanatical than that espoused by Macintosh zealots." ~Martin Veitch, IT Week [31-01-2003]
T'hain Esh Kelch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2013, 01:37 AM   #5
n8mac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by LOLZpersonok View Post
I'm trying to install SimCity 3000 on my iMac G3 which is now running Mac OS 9.2. But I can't.... I don't know what's going on. Can someone help me?
I just installed SC3000 under classic and it worked fine, never asked me to open it with another program. Are you using the Mac CD? When you open it does it look like this?...



n8mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2013, 02:38 AM   #6
LOLZpersonok
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
LOLZpersonok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Calgary, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by n8mac View Post
I just installed SC3000 under classic and it worked fine, never asked me to open it with another program. Are you using the Mac CD? When you open it does it look like this?...

Image

Image
Um...That's the thing. It doesn't open. It just complains about not being able to find the program that created the file. I don't know about using the Mac CD.
__________________
Black 16GB iPhone 5 | 2.1GHz 20" iMac | Dual 1.2GHz Power Mac G4 | 867MHz 12" PowerBook G4 | 500MHz 14.1" PowerBook G3 | 350MHz iMac G3
LOLZpersonok is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2013, 06:57 PM   #7
n8mac
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Ohio
I am guessing that you don't have the original SC3000 but a copy. The original looks like this...


If you do have the original CD than all I can suggest is try loading it on another Mac with system 9/classic and see if it opens okay there.
n8mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unknown Error 3000 installing Beta 4 Jdem2 iOS 7 19 Sep 7, 2013 11:38 AM
SimCity for Mac Delayed Until August MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 101 Jun 19, 2013 06:32 AM
New SimCity Coming to Mac in February 2013 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 157 Mar 14, 2013 07:20 AM
OS-neutral: SimCity 2000: get Mac or DOS version? kylera Mac and PC Games 6 Mar 11, 2013 05:09 AM
Will simcity 5 becoming to the mac? smoge Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Nov 25, 2012 07:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC