Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 24, 2012, 02:40 PM   #1
hackerwayne
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
New Late iMac 2012 has 2 Drives?

So, recently i read a post somewhere online saying that the Fusion drive in Mac Mini consist of 2 drives, 1 HDD and 1 SSD, does that mean the iMac too? I know the 2011 model can easily be upgraded, how about the upcoming super slim iMac? Its a good news to me if it comes with 2 drives or probably 1 HDD and 1 SSD sticks (similar to those on MacBook Airs). What do you guys think? Will it come with 2 different drives?
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 02:44 PM   #2
ipodmac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
So, recently i read a post somewhere online saying that the Fusion drive in Mac Mini consist of 2 drives, 1 HDD and 1 SSD, does that mean the iMac too? I know the 2011 model can easily be upgraded, how about the upcoming super slim iMac? Its a good news to me if it comes with 2 drives or probably 1 HDD and 1 SSD sticks (similar to those on MacBook Airs). What do you guys think? Will it come with 2 different drives?
Yeah it will. It is a 128gb ssd and a 1tb hdd with the os on the ssd so you get fast boot times.
ipodmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 02:47 PM   #3
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipodmac View Post
Yeah it will. It is a 128gb ssd and a 1tb hdd with the os on the ssd so you get fast boot times.
So does that mean that i can get a stock 1TB iMac and toss in a 256GB SSD separately? Its much cheaper that way
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:10 PM   #4
imacanon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipodmac View Post
Yeah it will. It is a 128gb ssd and a 1tb hdd with the os on the ssd so you get fast boot times.
the ssd will not be specifically contain the os, but apps and files you use most.

The Fusion Drive is as said one enclosure with a 128gb ssd and a 1 tb 7200 rpm hdd inside.

It is not possible to interchange the ssd with a larger one, say a 256 gb one. if you want more ssd space, the 768gb ssd is the only other option if you dont wanna try your luck with replacing it yourself. iFixit will do a guide if its at all possible.

I myself wish that it was possible to BTO a 27 imac with 256gb sdd. the gap from Fusion Drive to the 768gb is to large, and the added cost is too high

hope this answers your question
imacanon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:33 PM   #5
bbapps
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Here is a good article on a Fusion drive tear down. http://arstechnica.com/apple/2012/11...-fusion-drive/

Quote:
In particular, it notes late 2012 21" and 27.5" iMacs come with flash "storage modules," similar to the ones already seen on MacBook Airs and Retina MacBook Pros. Late 2012 Mac Minis use a 2.5" SSD instead of a storage module.
__________________
Apple - late-2013 MacBook Pro; mid-2007 iMac; AirPort Extreme & Express; IPhone 5; iPad; ATV
Other - Synology 213+; AE-5+ Speakers; LG BE14NU40 Bluray; HP OfficeJet 6700
bbapps is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:48 PM   #6
seanm9
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by imacanon View Post
The Fusion Drive is as said one enclosure with a 128gb ssd and a 1 tb 7200 rpm hdd inside.
I think everything I have read says it is 2 enclosures joined in software... I think some one even got Fusion Drive mode on an older mac enabled with some hacks and was able to fuse his own SSD and HDD into 1 Fusion Drive...
seanm9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 05:40 PM   #7
tann
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nottingham, England
I was under the impression a fusion drive was simply a 1/3tb regular hard drive alongside 128gb of flash storage (like the kind they have in the rMBPs).

There is only room for 1 regular hard drive in the iMacs now.
__________________
2013 13" MacBook Air i5/8GB/256GB || Silver 64GB iPhone 6 || 32GB Cellular Silver iPad rMini!
Follow me on Twitter!
tann is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 06:46 PM   #8
laserbeam273
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by tann View Post
I was under the impression a fusion drive was simply a 1/3tb regular hard drive alongside 128gb of flash storage (like the kind they have in the rMBPs).

There is only room for 1 regular hard drive in the iMacs now.
I think that's the case.
__________________
2012 15" MBPr 2.6 GHz i7, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD - OS X Mavericks
iPhone 4S 64 GB
laserbeam273 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 07:01 PM   #9
Designer Dale
macrumors 68040
 
Designer Dale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Folding space
Don't confuse the Fusion drive with the hybrid drives on the market like the Seagate Momentus XT. These hybrids have flash ram built into them to work like extended cache and can't be used for user decided storage. Fusion is two separate drives. One is a standard platter hd and the other is a " blade" style ssd like the ones OWC sell to upgrade the 2011/12 Retnia MacBook Pros. Go back through the keynote posted on the Apple website and freeze the screen when it shows a cutaway view of the 2012 iMac. The ssd is in the lower left center of the screen. There's a screenshot of it somewhere in the forums, but I lost track of it.

Dale

Found it...

Link to photo of 2012 iMac mother board
__________________
How to Post, Quote and Multi-Quote Photos - My Google Docs Folder 12/2011
I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message.

Last edited by Designer Dale; Nov 24, 2012 at 07:13 PM.
Designer Dale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 24, 2012, 08:47 PM   #10
DIMEZ
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MD
Send a message via AIM to DIMEZ
the funny thing i you look on the back of the imac 2012 they had a place where the hard is located and another where the ssd. If it is easy to open and user accessible I believe you can install sad and have a hard drive for both. That would be awesome

----------

I just read the post above. exactly
__________________
27in" Imac , 3.4GHz I7 680MX
15" Macbook Pro retina, 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Iphone 6 128GB
DIMEZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 05:52 PM   #11
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIMEZ View Post
the funny thing i you look on the back of the imac 2012 they had a place where the hard is located and another where the ssd. If it is easy to open and user accessible I believe you can install sad and have a hard drive for both. That would be awesome

----------

I just read the post above. exactly
Its confirmed a good news for us DIYers xD, it uses same type of SSD as what the 13" rMBP uses along side with a 2.5" 1TB drive. RAM and processor too is still upgradable provided you gotta remove the screen first.
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 05:59 PM   #12
DIMEZ
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: MD
Send a message via AIM to DIMEZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
Its confirmed a good news for us DIYers xD, it uses same type of SSD as what the 13" rMBP uses along side with a 2.5" 1TB drive. RAM and processor too is still upgradable provided you gotta remove the screen first.
looks like you will have to order the fusion drive though...
__________________
27in" Imac , 3.4GHz I7 680MX
15" Macbook Pro retina, 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 512 SSD
Iphone 6 128GB
DIMEZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 06:12 PM   #13
hackerwayne
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
hackerwayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Send a message via MSN to hackerwayne Send a message via Skype™ to hackerwayne
Quote:
Originally Posted by ipodmac View Post
Yeah it will. It is a 128gb ssd and a 1tb hdd with the os on the ssd so you get fast boot times.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DIMEZ View Post
looks like you will have to order the fusion drive though...
I can order a 1TB standard iMac and add a SSD stick on it. Some might not have the connector soldered, but i have no problem soldering that in. Buying a cheapest 21.5" with i5 3330 and upgrade it to i7 3770 + 256GB SSD stick seems like a good deal
__________________
Octo MP, MacMini 06, 13" MBA, iMac 06, rMBP13, iP4S
Hobby: Hacker, Creator of MLPostFactor
Life: Repair & Salvage Macs
Quote: Nothing is impossible. Twitter: @Wayne_819
hackerwayne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 06:15 PM   #14
Stetrain
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hackerwayne View Post
Its confirmed a good news for us DIYers xD, it uses same type of SSD as what the 13" rMBP uses along side with a 2.5" 1TB drive. RAM and processor too is still upgradable provided you gotta remove the screen first.
Apparently not all of the iMacs have the actual connector for the SSD. The one iFixit tore down (base model 2.7Ghz 21.5") did not have the connector soldered onto the logic board, although there was a place for it.

The high end (2.9Ghz) 21.5" model apparently does have the connector (link). This makes sense because that's the only 21.5" you can order with the Fusion option.

I'm not sure how easy it will be to solder that connector on, or even to find one of those connectors since it's proprietary. The contact points look really tiny: http://guide-images.ifixit.net/igi/Z...2BumalDcI.huge
Stetrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a MacBook Late 2006 as a second monitor for iMac 27" Late 2012? sultanoflondon iMac 5 Jan 19, 2014 02:25 PM
Advice Needed: Repair Late 2009 iMac vs. Buy Late 2012 MacMini AhmedFaisal Buying Tips and Advice 1 Nov 21, 2013 03:39 PM
Late 2012 27 Inch iMac ejecting external hard drives when waking from sleep BrooklynAl iMac 0 Aug 18, 2013 03:56 PM
Late 2012 mac mini or late 2012 imac? Pianoman0018 iMac 2 Jan 7, 2013 06:01 AM
What model of disk drives in late 2012 iMacs? iLondoner iMac 9 Dec 18, 2012 05:20 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC