Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:29 AM   #1
speekez
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Can I return iPhone 5 and reactivate our iPhone 4?

Hi All

I bought 2 iphone 5s this past weekend as eligible upgrades to our 2 iphone4s. Both have issues with screen interlacing (giving you the impression you can see pixels). Rather than playing the phone lotto right now, I should be able to return these for a complete refun and reactivate our Iphone4s correct? I think I'd rather wait until after the holidays to try again. If I reactivate our iphone 4s I don't have to wait another 2 years to upgrade correct?

Lastly, do I have to make an appointment to do an exchange or return? Am I allowed to just show up at the store and if they have time they can help me?

thanks!
speekez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 10:33 AM   #2
braddick
macrumors 68030
 
braddick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Encinitas, CA
Unless someone more knowledgeable than me comes along, I'd answer, "yes" to each of the questions you pose.
braddick is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:18 AM   #3
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
Yes you should get a complete refund and the upgrades should go back onto your account.
Jordan921 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:24 AM   #4
Zman5225
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tacoma WA
Send a message via MSN to Zman5225 Send a message via Yahoo to Zman5225
I did this exact same thing.you can just show up and get a refund. You'll need to go to an AT&T store to get your old phones back online because they will need to add the imei back to your acct but it doesn't take long at all. Make sure you get your activation fees refunded by calling in and politely asking.
__________________
switcher since Jul 05
Zman5225 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:27 AM   #5
miragebg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
This was my nightmare since iP4 with screen interlacing and I am so happy I have perfectly stable image on my 4S now. Another reason to stay on it for another year and I am glad I bought AppleCare two days ago..
miragebg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:29 AM   #6
speekez
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zman5225 View Post
I did this exact same thing.you can just show up and get a refund. You'll need to go to an AT&T store to get your old phones back online because they will need to add the imei back to your acct but it doesn't take long at all. Make sure you get your activation fees refunded by calling in and politely asking.
Thanks. I know I was charged an activation fee on the new phones. My plan was to make sure the phones worked and then contact ATT as you described and get fees refunded. If I return iphone5 to go back to 4, will the $36 activation be refunded and then charged the $36 again to reactivate the 4?

With folks that have exchanged their phone 3 -4 times, are they charged an activation fee each time or is that different because it is an exchange?

thanks
speekez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 11:31 AM   #7
Jordan921
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by speekez View Post
Thanks. I know I was charged an activation fee on the new phones. My plan was to make sure the phones worked and then contact ATT as you described and get fees refunded. If I return iphone5 to go back to 4, will the $36 activation be refunded and then charged the $36 again to reactivate the 4?

With folks that have exchanged their phone 3 -4 times, are they charged an activation fee each time or is that different because it is an exchange?

thanks
You won't get charged to activate your 4 back on the account. Just need to ask them for a micro sim and you can use the phone again on your account.

You only get charged the fee once when you upgrade or activate a new phone.
Jordan921 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 12:28 PM   #8
Zman5225
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tacoma WA
Send a message via MSN to Zman5225 Send a message via Yahoo to Zman5225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jordan921 View Post
You won't get charged to activate your 4 back on the account. Just need to ask them for a micro sim and you can use the phone again on your account.

You only get charged the fee once when you upgrade or activate a new phone.
Sorry, I should have specified that, I was referring to the new iphone 5 activation, not the reactivation of his old phone.
__________________
switcher since Jul 05
Zman5225 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 01:05 PM   #9
speekez
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Thanks. I'm going to visit another local store to check out their display units. If I can find a floor sample that doesn't exhibit the problem, I can show a genius for comparison. Interlacing is a faint but present effect and I hear some Geniuses don't see it (or are told to ignore it).

Then again we are going to New Hampshire for Christmas. No tax there and could save $100 on both phones combined since tax is charged on full price of phone. Maybe by then, more of the units with Sharp manufactured displays will be available. I heard interlacing isn't a problem with them
speekez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 01:10 PM   #10
1080p
macrumors 68000
 
1080p's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Planet Earth
I am glad I don't suffer from the same amount of OCD the OP has to deal with.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini Quad Core i7 | 10.10 Yosemite Public Beta| iPhone 6 | Synology NAS
1080p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 02:14 PM   #11
speekez
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1080p View Post
I am glad I don't suffer from the same amount of OCD the OP has to deal with.
Lol. Yah. Be thankful you have mediocre eyes or got a decent display, bud.
speekez is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 04:58 PM   #12
miragebg
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Like it^
miragebg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2012, 05:47 PM   #13
F123D
macrumors 68040
 
F123D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zman5225 View Post
I did this exact same thing.you can just show up and get a refund. You'll need to go to an AT&T store to get your old phones back online because they will need to add the imei back to your acct but it doesn't take long at all. Make sure you get your activation fees refunded by calling in and politely asking.
I did the exact same thing. Each store took 5 minutes. In and out, no questions asked.
__________________
Jailbroken iPhone 3G -> Jailbroken iPhone 4 -> iPhone 5 -> Galaxy Note II -> Nexus 5
F123D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 01:40 AM   #14
speekez
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Went to a different Apple store tonight. Located a display model that did not have the problem of interlacing our phones did. Store employee could see the problem. Both new phones no longer have the interlacing. New phones have a different serial prefix than the one that had issue. Problem solved.
speekez is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 02:20 AM   #15
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
That screen issue sounds like the thing they fixed with the release of iOS 6.0.1; I had that issue and it was fixed with an update.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 02:42 AM   #16
speekez
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by alphaod View Post
That screen issue sounds like the thing they fixed with the release of iOS 6.0.1; I had that issue and it was fixed with an update.
Actually, I had 6.0.1 on both phones and the issue was there. It's actually a known hardware issue on certain brands of display Apple uses in the Iphone5.

More can be read here

http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1471037

It's a subtle, but noticeable effect if your eye is keen to that sort of stuff.

New phones are great, no problem
speekez is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reactivate Verizon iPhone 5 with used sim card Bugeyeblue iPhone 3 May 28, 2013 10:37 AM
Possible to Reactivate Orange France SIM for iPhone 5? ECJ iPhone 3 Apr 30, 2013 06:15 PM
Can turning on an old iphone reactivate it on carrier? olly666 iPhone 3 Mar 12, 2013 11:15 AM
So say I were to return my iPhone 5... tymaster50 iPhone 4 Oct 17, 2012 02:48 PM
iPhone: iPhone 4s wont reactivate after restoring to stock ChrisFitz9 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 15 Sep 24, 2012 03:51 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC