Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 26, 2012, 07:16 PM   #1
hoosier1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Is this true

Hi all,

I bought last week an ATT off-contract iPhone 5 to be used overseas in a few weeks. I started to use my phone with my current ATT account and checked it with a Tmobile sim to make sure it is unlocked.

However, a friend of mine says that the phone he bought last year from the Apple store was unlocked and worked fine with Tmobile in the US; BUT it would not work overseas after he left the US. He claims if the phone is activated/used (the first use) in the US, it is somehow locked to the US carriers. Can something like this be true? I am now a little bit worried. He said he had to return the phone to Apple ultimately.

Thank you for your comments.
hoosier1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 07:18 PM   #2
VandyChem2009
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Houston, Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosier1 View Post
Hi all,

I bought last week an ATT off-contract iPhone 5 to be used overseas in a few weeks. I started to use my phone with my current ATT account and checked it with a Tmobile sim to make sure it is unlocked.

However, a friend of mine says that the phone he bought last year from the Apple store was unlocked and worked fine with Tmobile in the US; BUT it would not work overseas after he left the US. He claims if the phone is activated/used (the first use) in the US, it is somehow locked to the US carriers. Can something like this be true? I am now a little bit worried. He said he had to return the phone to Apple ultimately.

Thank you for your comments.
I know the Verizon iPhone 5 is unlocked for use overseas by default. I do not know however about the ATT iPhone 5.
VandyChem2009 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 07:20 PM   #3
mohsy90
macrumors 65816
 
mohsy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosier1 View Post
Hi all,

I bought last week an ATT off-contract iPhone 5 to be used overseas in a few weeks. I started to use my phone with my current ATT account and checked it with a Tmobile sim to make sure it is unlocked.

However, a friend of mine says that the phone he bought last year from the Apple store was unlocked and worked fine with Tmobile in the US; BUT it would not work overseas after he left the US. He claims if the phone is activated/used (the first use) in the US, it is somehow locked to the US carriers. Can something like this be true? I am now a little bit worried. He said he had to return the phone to Apple ultimately.

Thank you for your comments.
Yes, this is true. Just insert a foreign sim and restore and the phone will become unlocked again. This is assuming you paid full price for the phone.
__________________
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything it's too late to stop reading it.
mohsy90 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 07:24 PM   #4
hoosier1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohsy90 View Post
Yes, this is true. Just insert a foreign sim and restore and the phone will become unlocked again. This is assuming you paid full price for the phone.
Thank you for your reply. Yes, I paid full price for the phone. So, I can keep the phone right (and it can be unlocked again with a computer)? I will restore (overseas) using iTunes with the foreign sim.

Thank you.

PS: Did anyone else on the forum experience something like this before?
hoosier1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 07:43 PM   #5
mohsy90
macrumors 65816
 
mohsy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosier1 View Post
Thank you for your reply. Yes, I paid full price for the phone. So, I can keep the phone right (and it can be unlocked again with a computer)? I will restore (overseas) using iTunes with the foreign sim.

Thank you.

PS: Did anyone else on the forum experience something like this before?
Just to be safe, i would try to do the restore now using a tmobile sim. Your friends phone should not have locked to tmobile. That lock usually happens when using an At&T sim in a AT&T iphone 5 thats been unlocked.
__________________
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything it's too late to stop reading it.
mohsy90 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 07:55 PM   #6
hoosier1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by mohsy90 View Post
Just to be safe, i would try to do the restore now using a tmobile sim. Your friends phone should not have locked to tmobile. That lock usually happens when using an At&T sim in a AT&T iphone 5 thats been unlocked.
Moshy thank you for your reply. What do you think: could it be more like a "country" lock? This is strange. The phone works fine in the US with Tmobile but won't work with an international sim card.

If I do restore now, can I put my data back from the backup? What will be the purpose of the restore in the US bc the phone works with Tmobile as well if you switch sim cards.
hoosier1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:03 PM   #7
mohsy90
macrumors 65816
 
mohsy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosier1 View Post
Moshy thank you for your reply. What do you think: could it be more like a "country" lock? This is strange. The phone works fine in the US with Tmobile but won't work with an international sim card.

If I do restore now, can I put my data back from the backup? What will be the purpose of the restore in the US bc the phone works with Tmobile as well if you switch sim cards.
If it works for tmobile then it means that the phone is already unlocked and should work with any other sim. No such thing as a "country" lock. Double check the network provider you're using overseas and make sure the basebands are compatible.
__________________
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything it's too late to stop reading it.
mohsy90 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:04 PM   #8
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
I think what your friend is telling you is full of bs.
You buy a full price unlocked iPhone it will work anywhere in the world with any gsm sim.
It will not lock in the US or anything like what he's telling you.
Applejuiced is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:08 PM   #9
marcelo4527
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
He probably got the sprint iPhone 4s that was unlocked for a while and then it sprint locked them?
marcelo4527 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:10 PM   #10
AlphaDogg
macrumors 68040
 
AlphaDogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boulder, CO
My AT&T iPhone 5 is unlocked. For the past month+, I've been using solely AT&T, and I used a combination of AT&T and T-Mobile yesterday (I get unlimited data on a prepaid T-Mobile SIM for $3/day). I just tested it and it also works with my Orange Israel SIM card. So according to my experience, everything mohsy90 is saying is false.
__________________
15" 2.66GHz C2D uMBP | 13" 2.4GHz i5 MBP 500GB | '07 MacBook
iPhone 5 32GB | iPhone 3GS 8GB | iPhone 8GB
אני רוצה לעשות עליה לישראל
AlphaDogg is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:14 PM   #11
hoosier1
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcelo4527 View Post
He probably got the sprint iPhone 4s that was unlocked for a while and then it sprint locked them?
I know it is not BS because he returned a perfectly fine working phone.

What I assume is, like moshy indicated, it is possible; but have no idea how and why this happens.
hoosier1 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:25 PM   #12
marcelo4527
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosier1 View Post
I know it is not BS because he returned a perfectly fine working phone.

What I assume is, like moshy indicated, it is possible; but have no idea how and why this happens.
If he got his last year then he pry got the 4S, and sprint launched them unlocked but after a month or so they locked the phones

Check this link about sprint 4s
http://www.macrumors.com/2011/11/11/...november-11th/
marcelo4527 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 26, 2012, 08:31 PM   #13
mohsy90
macrumors 65816
 
mohsy90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaDogg View Post
My AT&T iPhone 5 is unlocked. For the past month+, I've been using solely AT&T, and I used a combination of AT&T and T-Mobile yesterday (I get unlimited data on a prepaid T-Mobile SIM for $3/day). I just tested it and it also works with my Orange Israel SIM card. So according to my experience, everything mohsy90 is saying is false.
Maybe you should reread what I said. I have seen forums regarding unlocked At&t iPhone becoming relocked to AT&T after using AT&T sims. It happens, not often but it does. Thats what i assumed was the case with the OPs friend. Which is why I stated that if a tmobile sim is working then the phone is already unlocked.
__________________
The funniest thing about this particular signature is that by the time you realize it doesn't say anything it's too late to stop reading it.
mohsy90 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 04:41 PM   #14
Jtludwig
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosier1 View Post
Hi all,

I bought last week an ATT off-contract iPhone 5 to be used overseas in a few weeks. I started to use my phone with my current ATT account and checked it with a Tmobile sim to make sure it is unlocked.

However, a friend of mine says that the phone he bought last year from the Apple store was unlocked and worked fine with Tmobile in the US; BUT it would not work overseas after he left the US. He claims if the phone is activated/used (the first use) in the US, it is somehow locked to the US carriers. Can something like this be true? I am now a little bit worried. He said he had to return the phone to Apple ultimately.

Thank you for your comments.
I love it when someone's friend's cousin's brother has some problem and he gets posted on this board without any substantiation.
Jtludwig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 04:46 PM   #15
LapsangSouchong
macrumors 65816
 
LapsangSouchong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: the burrows
I bought an unlocked Iphone 4s. I activated it in the US on AT&T. I used it in Canada, Ireland, England, Portugal.... with no issues. Never had to restore it.
__________________
I wish my lawn was emo so it would cut itself.
Air, Imac, Black/Slate iPhone 5 (GSM)
LapsangSouchong is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2012, 04:48 PM   #16
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosier1 View Post
Is this true
It is not true.
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 12:41 PM   #17
takeshi74
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosier1 View Post
However, a friend of mine says that the phone he bought last year from the Apple store was unlocked and worked fine with Tmobile in the US; BUT it would not work overseas after he left the US. He claims if the phone is activated/used (the first use) in the US, it is somehow locked to the US carriers. Can something like this be true? I am now a little bit worried. He said he had to return the phone to Apple ultimately.
Nope. Your friend probably didn't fully understand causality and the situation he was in. The details on the situation matter but I doubt we'll be able to get the full picture.
takeshi74 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2012, 07:48 PM   #18
thewitt
macrumors 68000
 
thewitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
If you purchase a factory unlocked phone, it will remain factory unlocked forever.

If you purchased an AT&T phone that was unlocked because they had not yet locked it, you run the risk of it being locked automatically in the future.

Yes I've read the experts here state this will never happen, and I've seen it happen on our development phones several times after being used overseas, then having the phone restored with an AT&T SIM card.
thewitt is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
True 5.1 nismoasfuh iMac 3 Mar 30, 2013 01:21 PM
Is this true? Fanboi4life iPhone 18 Oct 15, 2012 08:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC