Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion > Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:09 AM   #1
johndoejohndoes
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2010
Did I Just Get Scammed?

I'm posting the four pictures in order...I applied for a job with Apple a while ago and they recently contacted me again about working there.

1) I get this email...I thought the email address looked weird.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-11-27 at 12.57.51 AM.png
Views:	210
Size:	82.3 KB
ID:	379915
2) It takes me to this link...I circled it in red...notice the "Lock" in the address bar for security.
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-11-27 at 12.58.06 AM.png
Views:	201
Size:	167.1 KB
ID:	379916
3) After I type my info in this "Error" page comes up (I fear that I just gave all my Apple login/info away)
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-11-27 at 12.58.29 AM.png
Views:	160
Size:	137.7 KB
ID:	379917
4) But when I go to log back in the same weird address comes up...
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2012-11-27 at 12.58.41 AM.png
Views:	154
Size:	156.6 KB
ID:	379918

Is IDMSA.apple.com real?
__________________
21.5" iMac (2011) | iPad (4th Generation) 32GB | iPhone 5 32GB | iPod Classic 120GB
johndoejohndoes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:21 AM   #2
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
It's a job application site for Apple. I think you're fine man. You seem a little jumpy to be trying to apply to work for a computer company.
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2012, 12:42 AM   #3
negativzero
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
That "lock" on the address bar shows that the connection is encrypted. You need to click on it to see who the certificate is issued by. If its from "verisign" or "Apple Inc." it checks out good and its a legit site.
__________________
2012 15" MacBook Pro 2.6GHz | 128GB Crucial M4 SSD | 8GB Crucial RAM | Hi-Res AntiGlare
64GB iPhone 4S | 6.1.2 | Jailbroken by @evad3rs
negativzero is online now   4 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 05:56 PM   #4
SirithX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Definitely fishy... in the first pic the Apple logo is squished and they misspelled "our" to "out." It's very possible they send you to their lookalike phishing page where you enter your info, and then when you press enter it redirects you to Apple's actual "unable to log in" page. But they would also have to have a spoofed certificate as well, either that or there's a security hole in your safari where they can spoof security codes as well. I don't mean to be a fear monger, but particularly that first screen and the fact that your info didn't go through are clear signs of a phishing scam.

EDIT: The idmsa.apple.com site is real, links directly from Apple's site here: http://www.apple.com/jobs/ so if that's the site that the original email directed you to, then perhaps we're jumping the gun a little bit. But make sure there's no extra addresses in the domain, it shouldn't have anything before the "https://idmsa.apple.com".
__________________
~ § ¡ ® Į ✝ ħ ✗ ~

Last edited by SirithX; Nov 28, 2012 at 06:03 PM.
SirithX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 06:00 PM   #5
Nermal
Demi-God (Moderator)
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by johndoejohndoes View Post
Is IDMSA.apple.com real?
Yes. Both whois and the EV SSL confirm that it's owned by Apple.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 06:03 PM   #6
AndroidBlows
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I will hire you for sure.
AndroidBlows is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 28, 2012, 06:35 PM   #7
Ccrew
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quick guys, let's charge all our stuff to his account when he's not looking!

Sure hope if he gets the job it includes training
Ccrew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 12:40 AM   #8
ctyrider
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by johndoejohndoes View Post
I get this email...I thought the email address looked weird.
[
4) But when I go to log back in the same weird address comes up...
Attachment 379918

Is IDMSA.apple.com real?
OMG.. Long URL.. They are out to get me! Someone who doesn't understand the basics of web browsers and site certificates. I think applying for Best Buy geek squad job might be more up your alley
__________________
Mac Mini mid-2011 i7 2.7GHz 16GB 180GB SSD | 2x 27" Thunderbolt Displays | iPad 3rd gen 64GB LTE
ctyrider is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 01:14 AM   #9
laudern
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I think I did see apple advertising for cleaners a while a go. Congrats on the maintenance job!!
laudern is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion > Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Privacy / DMCA contact / Affiliate and FTC Disclosure
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC